SSD Clone

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by luisxd, Jan 14, 2020.

  1. luisxd

    luisxd n00b

    Messages:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Is it recommended to clone an SSD?, I just got a new laptop and a bigger SSD with it and was wondering if it's safe to just clone my old SSD (240gb) into the new SSD (500gb)?
     
  2. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    12,563
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    You're going to hear from all the old school people here telling you not to do it. The reality is, its perfectly safe and can be completely seamless.
     
    daglesj likes this.
  3. Chuklr

    Chuklr Gawd

    Messages:
    743
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    The one thing you may have to do is expand the cloned partition on the 500GB SSD to encompass more than the 240 GB.
     
  4. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,148
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Yeah go for it. Partition Wizard is a great free tool. I love it so much I paid for it. Use it all the time to migrate customers old HDDs to SSDs.

    One thing is its quite handy to edit down the main partition to 1-2GB larger than it is so the tool doesnt spend time cloning empty space. Not so important on SSDs but a real time saver not having to transfer 300GB of empty space from a HDD.

    Resize as you wish after.
     
  5. Shikami

    Shikami Gawd

    Messages:
    670
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    True, but you should still check alignment after a duplication. Modern OS's should align, duplicator (dont know), software should now these days, or a setting.


    The truth of the matter with us old folks is that the SSD will likely not be aligned from HDD to SSD, and you will need to do so. If that is the case [not aligned] then performance will not be par. This is as to the reason why you hear that.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=per....69i57j33l7.6993j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

    https://www.google.com/search?q=ssd...0l3j69i60l3.2045j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2020
  6. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,148
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    The cloning software takes care of alignment. Partition Wizard does anyway. Thing of the past mostly.
     
  7. Barometer

    Barometer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    150
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    True....
    I just cloned my WD 1TB HDD to my new Crucial MX500 1TB SSD and it needed alignment after cloning. But SSD to SSD....I dunno. Wouldn't hurt to check it afterwards would it?