(SOLVED) - EVGA 1080 Stuck at MAX GPU CLOCK when Idle on Windows 10

Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
4
Hey Guys,

The problem appeared after the latest WIN 10 update, After booting my computer my MAX GPU Clock will reach 1999MHZ under idle and will never drop back.... I've deleted the drivers and EVGA Precision and I've done I clean install of the driver with no luck. In the NVIDIA Control Panel, I've also selected 'ADAPTIVE' power management mode under 3D settings with no help.

Anyone here had the same problem ?

Thanks in advance, this is driving me crazy.

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    322 KB · Views: 294

Hellstoaster

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
148
Do you have an addin sound card by any chance OP? This happens to my 1080 as well whenever the SBZ Control Center is running. When I turn the SBZ control center off the card drops back down to where it used to sit at idle. I thought it was something stupid Creative did in their updated software but it might be windows causing my issues as well since I just noticed them after the update.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
4
Do you have an addin sound card by any chance OP? This happens to my 1080 as well whenever the SBZ Control Center is running. When I turn the SBZ control center off the card drops back down to where it used to sit at idle. I thought it was something stupid Creative did in their updated software but it might be windows causing my issues as well since I just noticed them after the update.

No addin sound card in my PC
 

NKD

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
8,902
nvidia drivers indeed seem to have a bug. Yesterday in dx11 I couldn't get tomb raider to clock above 1080mhz, then it was stuck at 950mhz when I retried. it was just stuck there. Came back to dx12 and all was fine. It was the first time it happened to me. I think nvidia has something jacked up in the drivers.
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
nvidia drivers indeed seem to have a bug. Yesterday in dx11 I couldn't get tomb raider to clock above 1080mhz, then it was stuck at 950mhz when I retried. it was just stuck there. Came back to dx12 and all was fine. It was the first time it happened to me. I think nvidia has something jacked up in the drivers.
Were you using Afterburner as that can randomly cause an issue with clockspeeds and gpu usage if you start up the game with the on screen display running.
 

Armenius

Extremely [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
33,183
The Anniversary Update installs a beta NVIDIA driver that was never released on their website (369.09). There was a new driver released yesterday, you should try that one. Remember to close or disable your overclocking programs before updating drivers.

Drivers | GeForce (372.54 WHQL, W10 AU 64-bit)
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
Do you have an addin sound card by any chance OP? This happens to my 1080 as well whenever the SBZ Control Center is running. When I turn the SBZ control center off the card drops back down to where it used to sit at idle. I thought it was something stupid Creative did in their updated software but it might be windows causing my issues as well since I just noticed them after the update.

That reads like 3D hw acceleration. The SBZ is hitting the card for accel and RTSS is applying 3D clocks since Afterburner detected it. You'd be surprised how often this happens on the desktop. Read the thread below under RTSS Profiles. This probably applies to the OP as well since he/she has 3D clocks on the desktop. Anytime you see max clocks on the desktop it's a telltale sign that something is hitting the accell me button.

The AMD How To Thread
 

Hellstoaster

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
148
That reads like 3D hw acceleration. The SBZ is hitting the card for accel and RTSS is applying 3D clocks since Afterburner detected it. You'd be surprised how often this happens on the desktop. Read the thread below under RTSS Profiles. This probably applies to the OP as well since he/she has 3D clocks on the desktop. Anytime you see max clocks on the desktop it's a telltale sign that something is hitting the accell me button.

The AMD How To Thread

Awesome, thanks for the link. :D
 
Top