Samsung 960 EVO m.2 500GB NVMe Configuring Question

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by ptr1959w, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. ptr1959w

    ptr1959w n00bie

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Hi there,
    I heard it was very difficult to config a NVMe SSD drive ? Is that So?
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  2. ptr1959w

    ptr1959w n00bie

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    I have updated my post
     
  3. darrpara

    darrpara Gawd

    Messages:
    615
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    In what way? I just plugged mine in and used the Samsung Drivers and data migration tool just like shown in this video:




    It was super easy. If installing from a totally new drive on a new build you should know that original windows 7 installers do not have the NVME drivers so you'd have to install on another drive and then clone over.
     
  4. ptr1959w

    ptr1959w n00bie

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Hi there,
    Someone said that there were a lot to config in the Bios
     
  5. PliotronX

    PliotronX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,956
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    If you are installing windows to it, the BIOS just needs to be set to UEFI mode. Windows 8.1 and 10 will install normally as to any hard disk (just a lot faster) while 7 requires injection of a couple of hotfixes to be integrated to the install disc. Only then will it install like 8.1 or 10.
     
  6. ptr1959w

    ptr1959w n00bie

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Hi there,
    Can I use Macruim Reflect to make a clone of the old SSD or use a migration software? What would be the best one to use?
     
  7. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    7,438
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    I used Macrium when I got my 960 EVO and it worked perfectly. As a matter of fact I've used it many times in the past and it's the perfect free cloning software as far as I'm concerned.
     
  8. ptr1959w

    ptr1959w n00bie

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Hi there,
    Thanks for the reply and help.I use Macrium Reflect allt the time but never used the cloning part of the program.
     
  9. dvsman

    dvsman [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,663
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Use the Samsung specific software. It's free (DL from their website) and works great.