Ryzen 7 3700X!

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by JCNiest5, Apr 10, 2019.

  1. JCNiest5

    JCNiest5 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,708
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
  2. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,875
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I'm hoping for a great chip too, but when the performance says, "Raw single-thread performance estimation" it's hard to take it seriously.

    If the 4.2Ghz base/5Ghz turbo plays out, it sounds like it would be a great chip regardless (dependent upon price of course).
     
  3. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,142
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Those sites are garbage, they got the GPU equivalent of them as well. Not sure who runs them but they always show up on the first page of a google search.
     
    Nightfire likes this.
  4. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    That site has so much wrong with it. All AMD processors support AES ni as well as many things it said it wont support etc...
     
  5. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,602
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    If those are the specifications, then I'd say that it's already a great chip. Twelve cores at 4.2GHz+? Cool.

    The balance depends on what the all-core boost is with overclocking. A 9900K is 5.0GHz, all-core; and then there's IPC, which will likely be close enough, but a difference of 500MHz would still be enough to differentiate the two on less parallizable loads.

    A lot of that may be different names/branding for certain features. Usually wind up with a generic name for the capability and a different name used by one or both manufacturers.
     
  6. MacLeod

    MacLeod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,563
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    I'll be in the market for one since it'll be a drop in replacement for my 1600x which has been a great performer for my needs.
     
    LightsOut41 likes this.
  7. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,197
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    I've been out of the loop on the new Ryzens... will 3700x use the AM4 socket? I'm running an OC'ed 2600 now in an Asus x370 Pro and hate the thought of having to change my mobo.
     
  8. MacLeod

    MacLeod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,563
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Yes. You'll need a BIOS update but it should be a drop in fit.
     
  9. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,440
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    No you should not have to change a thing (beside bios). Supposedly the new feature which allows latency to stay the same for cross core communication might be tied towards the new motherboards but at this point in time we don't the difference in offset for it to be something worthwhile (except when you do run it for software that does use this a lot ).
    Since we don't know how much of this will effect things beside 1080p gaming.
     
  10. Skott

    Skott 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,926
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    I got my eye on the 3700x myself. Just patiently waiting for June/July when we get actual benchmarks. It just may be the replacement for my 4790k rig that gets upgraded around November.
     
  11. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I'm all about that 5 ghz boost version. 3780x I think it's called. Dont feel like looking it up right now.

    But I feel like it will render my thread ripper 2950x obsolete on a core performance level.
     
  12. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,440
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Not so much if you use all the pci-e lanes :)
     
  13. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    This is true. I might raid another nvme but I am coming no where close to even half the lanes right now. I think I have the following:

    16 for 2080ti
    4 for 1tb nvme
    8 for my 10gig Intel Nic (Fiber Optic - XFSR model)

    Thats only 30 lanes and I still have another 34 to go ha ha

    So many damn lanes.
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  14. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,602
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Unless you need >2 NVMe, you could get an AM4 board with an Aquantia NIC built in- would likely require a 10Gbase-T transceiver for the opposite end of the uplink, but relative to the price delta to a Threadripper build, that's nothing.
     
  15. JCNiest5

    JCNiest5 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,708
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    I think it's: Ryzen 9 3850X. 3900X and 3950X might be following up soon afterward.
     
  16. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,440
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    I'm not too sure about soon , it might take AMD a good while before those 16 core AM4 are ready(binning).
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2019
  17. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Usually AMD releases their halo chip first.
     
  18. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,440
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Well it is the same binning strategy they had before :
    Server>Threadripper>Ryzen

    So for the 2 needed 8 core chiplets that makes a Ryzen 9 3xxx desktop part the binning will require the best to land on 2 other platforms if yields are close to what they were before this might take a while.
     
  19. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,677
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Their Halo chip on am4 may not have 16 cores (which is not to say they won't have a 16c chip, but that it may not be the best and most expensive chip they have)