Ryzen 3600 high temp on Water loop

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by amittalkin, Nov 4, 2019.

  1. amittalkin

    amittalkin [H]Lite

    Messages:
    106
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Hey guys, I have full custom loop with 1x360mm and 1x120mm rad with MCP655 pump + reservoir combo along with Barrow waterblock for Ryzen 3600. My room ambient is 30c . I have applied Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut on CPU. I am getting following reading on hwinfo. Also, I get only 3950mhz boost on all cores at this temp.

    It also runs at 74c when running cinebench R20.
    Here it is at default settings.
    249899_aida64.jpg

    So, to get proper boost, I used Ryzen master and lowered vcore to 1.35 and manual boost to 4.2 Ghz. Here is the result.
    249903_aida64-135v.jpg

    You can see temp. raising over 80c just under 1 minute of AIDA64 test. I am running it at default settings in bios except for XMP. I thought this could be because of bad connection with waterblock with CPU, but for last 3 days I was doing experiments with dismantling whole system. Checked waterblock connection and found that liquid metal has properly applied and found on both CPU surface and waterblock as well. So far on connection side, all is good.

    I also tried running CPU alone with 120mm rad and 360mm rad. Results were almost same with 360mm rad. While 120mm ran 2-3c hotter compared to it.

    I am clueless here what to do, is it normal for 3600 to run this hot?
    Here is my loop. ( it doesnt matter much, as I have also ran CPU only loop with 360mm for testing, results are same ).

    249905_IMG_20191104_203622.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  2. VanGoghComplex

    VanGoghComplex [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,791
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    How are the idle temps? How's your flow rate? You shouldn't be running that hot, you've got plenty of rad. My 3900x tops out at 63c or so on a custom loop.
     
  3. amittalkin

    amittalkin [H]Lite

    Messages:
    106
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    idle stays at 40-50c. I dont have flow meter, but its pretty good. Running my MCP655 at full speed ( position 5 ).
     
  4. Forsaken1

    Forsaken1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Purge air from loop.Remount and paste water block.
     
  5. sabrewolf732

    sabrewolf732 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,014
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Sounds like a bad mount, my 3600 pretty much stays at 4200mhz boost all core all the time and I load at 65ish c during prime 95 on a cheap Chinese water pump, raystorm pro, and 3x140 rad with a 5700xt in the loop. The mount is important, I remounted once and my temps were trash.