Removed the IHS from an Ivy Bridge i5 3570k

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Moogoos, May 15, 2012.

  1. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    I decided to mess around with the newly discovered TIM bound IHS on the Ivy Bridge CPUs. First step is removing it:

    This tool works VERY well. Others that are thicker don't. Get it if you can at Home Depot:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Place the blade on each corner and firmly press into the corner. Don't saw! It should just slip in with nice even pressure.
    Be sure to have the CPU on a matted surface to handle any top pressure you may apply:


    [​IMG]

    Get each corner to this depth and then you'll feel the IHS get loose:

    [​IMG]

    And it's ready to clean:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. belmicah

    belmicah Gawd

    Messages:
    856
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Nice work. Make sure to give us before/after temps, and which TIM used. Also, I wonder if one can actually mount a HSF without the IHS like the old days?
     
  3. senakun

    senakun Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    305
    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    nice man. what are u gonna clean it with? and what are u gonna put in place of the TIM?
     
  4. ShuttleLuv

    ShuttleLuv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,023
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    We were doing this 10 years ago guy but good job and post results. :)
     
  5. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    I am going to try rubbing alcohol to clean it.

    I am first going to try shin-etsu TIM, then I have a couple other TIMs coming in to test out as well.

    This chip looks like the old P3 flip chips when the IHS is removed. I wish I could do away with the IHS and go direct contact. Maybe there's a way.

    Yeah I was there with ya 10 years ago. :p
     
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,407
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
  7. M249SAW

    M249SAW [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    What kind of cooling do you have? I hope it isn't a HDT.....
     
  8. maboblivion

    maboblivion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,587
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Snap!! i mean coooolll... :cool:

    I've read ppl mounting the heatsink straight on it but they gotta remove lid from the mobo ...
    and without a shim gotta be careful how much pressure you apply on there....

    Intel's bringing back the old school!
     
  9. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    I think I can go direct. I found that an allen wrench can remove the motherboard top plate.

    [​IMG]

    Removed:

    [​IMG]


    I also use an H80 cooler which comes with 4 mounts at height depending on which CPU one has. The AMD mounts are lower so if I can remove the plate I should be in pretty good shape for more direct contact. The capacitors might be a problem though. We'll find out in about an hour.

    Crap, I'm gonna be up all night. But tomorrow is Diablo III release and I've been waiting 10 years so this better work. :p
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2012
  10. maboblivion

    maboblivion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,587
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Just make sure theres enough pressure for it to keep the cpu pin in place (thats what the top plate did) and not too much as to cruch it.
    Also the first ppl that tried the heatsink straight on the die reported higher temps but that was because they didn't have the proper mount and most likely it wasn t making proper contact, but from what you've just wrote you seem to know more than them!

    God speed , we're behind you....
     
  11. EngrChris

    EngrChris Gawd

    Messages:
    831
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Thank you for posting pictures.
     
  12. jaredpace

    jaredpace Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    304
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Lap it up good after you clean it
     
  13. Fixall

    Fixall [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,388
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Nice! I was waiting someone with the balls to rip open their Ivy here on [H] and give us some testing results! I'll be sticking around to see how this turns out, thanks Moogoos!
     
  14. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,254
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Surely you aren't suggesting he lap the die, are you?
     
  15. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Got it all nice and shiny! I may have scored the layer a little when removing the IHS. We'll see.

    [​IMG]

    Thumbs up! so far.....

    [​IMG]
     
  16. belmicah

    belmicah Gawd

    Messages:
    856
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    looks like my old 2500 Barton
     
  17. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,436
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Nice, can't wait to see the results!

    So are you essentially going to rely on the tention from the water block to keep the CPU in place?
     
  18. HeavensCloud

    HeavensCloud Oswego, not shitty as Buffalo

    Messages:
    7,485
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    I don't see a problem with it as long as it's tight and secure. Lok-Tite it on there :D
     
  19. colinstu

    colinstu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,567
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Has over 25x the transistor count though :D
     
  20. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,436
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    That's actually what I'd be most concerned with... How much tension can the naked die handle?
     
  21. belmicah

    belmicah Gawd

    Messages:
    856
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Yeah, after having posted that, I went back and looked at images and.....not so much alike.
     
  22. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,407
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    I'd be worried about crushing it with direct contact without the socket bracket. Any way to make a metal shim that goes around the edges but leave the die surface area open?

    Using the socket bracket helps ensure proper pin contact without over doing it.


    I am interested in seeing how direct contact with die works out but at the same time I don't want to see you destroy your cpu.

    Good luck.
     
  23. illli

    illli [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,198
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    brings back memories. I remember getting a mobile amd64 processor and rigging it to work in my desktop. Took some trial and error since desktop heatsinks were made a little higher due to the ihs.
     
  24. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,407
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Another thing that would come in handy would be a perfectly sized spacer to keep the block from squeezing up too much when you tighten it. Basicly just screwdown till it hits the spacer and done.
     
  25. vsboxerboy

    vsboxerboy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,671
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
  26. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,254
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Like those little rubber bumpers the Athlons used to have. Maybe just cut a small piece of rubber or foam to put on the corners - help keep the heatsink flat also. Most people that cracked the dies before cracked corners off when the heatsink was crooked - as long as it is flat it should take quite a bit of pressure.
     
  27. youghmama

    youghmama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    I would use a small torque wrench unless you have good "feel" for tightening the screws down evenly. Possibly torque it down minimally, just to contact, and turn on the computer to run tests to see what kind of temps you get. Then if the temps are bad, try a little bit more torque evenly on all four screws. Repeat as needed.
     
  28. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Well after a couple setbacks I was able to get the H80 block on the CPU. It was supported by the AMD screws that come with the H80 but I had to elevate them slightly with a nut as they were too low. I also had to widen the support bracket holes to take the AMD screw heads.

    I was able to then torque the screws down and mount it for what felt to me firmly. So far temperatures are about the same. 30° idle and 57 under prime95 stock. I'm going to load an overclocking profile and see if it's any better. I might adjust the TIM too as I think I may have put too much on. Hard to tell right now. The good news is it still works. :)
     
  29. belmicah

    belmicah Gawd

    Messages:
    856
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    You won't need much TIM AT ALL. The core should have a very smooth surface without defects. The surface of your H80 will be the only surface that would need TIM to fill in the "cracks."
    edit: I might actually consider lapping the surface of that H80 to a mirror finish and running it TIMless!
     
  30. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    I loaded my 4.5 profile that I ran stable before at 69º and it doesn't seem much better. In fact I think it's worse currently. Core 1 and Core 4 run at 70º while Core 2 and Core 3 run at 80º. I think I'll have to reapply the TIM again tomorrow and check how well this first round seated on the die.
     
  31. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,254
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    One of the other guys (maybe the first) that tried running it lidless also got temps that were about the same. Might need to increase the pressure a little - but that die is so small it might not matter much.
     
  32. Crazy Chuckster

    Crazy Chuckster 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,113
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
  33. Fixall

    Fixall [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,388
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    I second this. Having the lid on greatly reduces the chance that you're going to torque the cooler down too much (while still allowing you to apply enough pressure to ensure good contact with cooler and good pin contact). Something about having the cooler directly on the die just makes me nervous. And then there are the few forum posts that have already been mentioned that talk about people getting higher temps when they direct mount.

    I also found an article talking about someone testing the thermal paste and not getting any better temps when he replaced it, which leads me to wonder if possibly just certain batches of Ivy Bridge got the shoddy paste job...

    http://www.decryptedtech.com/index....used-by-thermal-interface-material&Itemid=138

    Anyways... Good luck and I still look forward to seeing some more results from your testing!
     
  34. mothman

    mothman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,687
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    How did you clean off the old epoxy. ?
     
  35. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,398
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    I think you will get it cooler...good job and thanks for posting
     
  36. Ticker305

    Ticker305 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,078
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    you my man have balls that clank! I salute you, great thread :)
     
  37. bAMtan2

    bAMtan2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    good work. but everyone should have realistic expections.

    no one can beat intel at intel's game.
     
  38. bAMtan2

    bAMtan2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    since you might not be getting even pressure with your water cooler, building a shim is the obvious next step. you could also rig up a smaller heatsink that is of more manageable size, to test and compare. if it worked better you might guess the contact was off on the other one. example: Dynatron R15: 435g copper vapor chamber, 90.0 x 90.0 x 27.0 mm, rated 150W for socket 2011. vapor chambers are very effective at spreading heat out.
     
  39. vict0r

    vict0r Gawd

    Messages:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    if it takes away 10C then its worth it... but if it takes away 3C or less, then it is not worth it to void your warrenty for 3C less ..
     
  40. Zangmonkey

    Zangmonkey I Realize My Disabilities - You Do Too

    Messages:
    3,535
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    That's a very clean looking chip surface.... The die that size looks like people might even have simpler opportunity to do direct-die water cooling....