Razerblade 2018 base model.. no way around 32gb limit?

Discussion in 'Mobile Computing' started by Dracarys, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. Dracarys

    Dracarys n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Hey,

    I would love to get 64gb ram on this thing. Is there a custom bios floating around, or is that even possible? Technically the 8750h supports it, is it a hardware mobo bottleneck?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2019
  2. Dracarys

    Dracarys n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
  3. Absalom

    Absalom Gawd

    Messages:
    517
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    You'll have to ask Razer about that. They designed the custom board and provide a custom BIOS to go along with it. They officially support up to a max of 32 GB for the Blade 15 2018 model.

    Hey, at least Razer allows the end user to swap out the OEM RAM with this model. The Stealth model, on the other hand, has its RAM soldered to the board.

    My guess is that around the time Razer developed the 2018 Blade 15, 32 GB SODIMMs were not a thing. So while it might be physically possible to support the proposed 2x32GB SODIMMs, Razer, in typical fashion, has moved on to its next revision.

    While it's a long shot, a custom BIOS might be the trick. The Blade has always had a notoriously barebones BIOS, so it will most definitely be some kind of hack attempt.
     
  4. Dracarys

    Dracarys n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Im sure razer will just make something up like apple would, so you buy someting more expensive, even if it does work. I'm wondering what the actual limitation is, like what is the science behind it and can it technically be modified.
     
  5. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,925
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Buy the memory from a place with a good return policy and try it.
     
  6. Dracarys

    Dracarys n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    isn't there a thirdparty website that can tell you how much it actually takes? I know theres one for macs, then I put 16gb in my 2010 MBP when apple stated it would only take 8gb
     
  7. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,925
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    It takes people trying it out and reporting if it works for those sheets.
     
    TrailRunner likes this.
  8. jmilcher

    jmilcher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,066
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Often times this limit isn’t the case. Especially as newer more dense modules become available.

    For instance I was able to run 36gb (32+4 onboard) of ram in a Lenovo laptop that said it wasn’t capable of more than 20gb. So sometimes it works.

    The specs for the laptop and chipset were released before 32 gb modules were available.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2019
    Dracarys likes this.
  9. Dracarys

    Dracarys n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    I hope it's the case here. The reason I feel Razer intentionally limits it is because there's an "advanced" model, their advanced model for 2019 takes 64gb of ram, while their base takes 32gb ram. 32gb sticks have been introduced well before the 2019 models. I have the 2018 base so we'll see, unfortunately there's no vendors in my city and ordering might be annoying. May not be able to return for such a reason also.
     
  10. jmilcher

    jmilcher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,066
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    If just order the ram from somewhere you can return and try it out.

    If it doesn’t work you know it’s likited
     
  11. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai Death Incarnate

    Messages:
    13,334
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    a what is the CPU in that laptop? CPU is most likely going to determine addressable limit as it contains the memory controller.