Radiator combination question

Discussion in 'Water Cooling' started by Smoked Brisket, Jun 16, 2017.

  1. Smoked Brisket

    Smoked Brisket n00bie

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    I currently have a mountain mods case with a hardware labs nemesis gtx 360 and gtx 240 installed on a single loop. I bought a Lian Li pc-08 white case to try my first hard line build. I planned on using the 2 Hardware Labs radiators in the new build, the are both white and look great imo. After looking at some builds on the internet I see that everyone is using low profile rads for the 240's in the pc-08. It looks like my 240 gtx will not fit in the allocated space above the motherboard with fans installed. Can I combine a 240gts with a 360 gtx without significant impact on the loop or pump?
     
  2. VanGoghComplex

    VanGoghComplex Gawd

    Messages:
    633
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    It's my understanding that radiators, in general, are very low-restriction by design. Even if your new rads are more restrictive than your old ones, you'd have to already be sitting on the cusp of the minimum effective flow rate in your system for it to make a drastic impact on your temperatures.

    Good luck on your first hardline build! A tip: Legos make excellent mock-up tools. XD
     
    Smoked Brisket likes this.
  3. Smoked Brisket

    Smoked Brisket n00bie

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Thx for the quick response. I think I get what you are saying with the legos. Will try that.
     
  4. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Fundamentally you do want similar rads with similar performance to reduce differences in flow speed thru the loop. The GTS rad has quite a bit more restriction per GPM. At 1 GPM it drops almost 1psi where the GTX drops only 1/3 psi. In most cases there's nothing to do, but avoid plumbing a block right after the GTS rad if you can. All things equal just apply more pump power to it.
     
    Smoked Brisket likes this.
  5. Pabaisa

    Pabaisa n00bie

    Messages:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    As I found out last weekend – even a weak pump is more than enough for even the most restrictive loops. I'm running D5 and phobya dc12-220 in series (for safety) and as I found out even phobya dc12-220 was enough for my pretty big loop. I always test my loop with D5 connected to separate power supply and I forgot to turn it on after I was done testing for leaks so only dc12-220 (very weak pump) was working but even with 3x360mm, 200mm, 2x420mm + cpu block+ full cover gpu block the temperature was very much in normal range for both cpu and gpu (as in what I would expect when both pumps are working).
     
  6. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    That's just not true at all. There's a history of testing that shows pump power affects flow rate. There is a minimum flow rate to achieve maximal cooling and that is around 1.5gpm. Your loop is ridiculously over spec'd on rads that's why you hardly see a change even when your flow rate is but a trickle. Lmao, you have 2120mm of rad surface area for two blocks.