Problem Overclocking Threadripper 1950X

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,713
I dont think freezing up is gonna hurt it. try it and see but in small bumps.
Na, that won't hurt that CPU, however you might want to set a Restore Point for your OS. AMD lockups, can bork your OS. It is not a common thing, but it can still happen. Intel lockups can too, but those seem less common to me than AMD's.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,713
I think I found stability. The only thing new I changed was CPU LLC from 2 to 1. Ran 3 instances of Handbrake simultaneously with very high quality encoding settings, taxing the processor to 100% for 3 1/2 hours. My system did not freeze up and the max. CPU frequency hit 4.5Ghz. Does this mean that I can consider it stable? As I mentioned before, normally when I encode video, I only use a single instance of Handbrake which results in all threads fluctuating percentages but all threads do not sit at 100%. I would assume there would not be any encode errors with only one Handbrake running?

Not sure what I should be looking for with voltages. In HWMonitor, the CPU VID for all 16 cores were constantly fluctuating with min. values. I'm not sure what VID is. What are your thoughts based on the screenshot picture below?

Summarizing my OC settings:

Overclock Mode: Manual
APU/PCIE Frequency: 100
CPU Frequency and Voltage Change: Manual
CPU Frequency: 4000
CPU Voltage 1.262 (1.25625 Actual)
XMP Profile: XMP 2.0 Profile 1
CPU Load-Line Calibration: Level 1 (Level 2 Was Default)
VDDCR_SOC Voltage: Fixed Mode (Fixed Voltage=1.1)
DRAM Voltage: 1.45
DRAM_CD Voltage: 1.45
VDDCR_SOV_S5: Changed from Auto To 1.1

View attachment 119983
What is CPUz reporting your vCore at under load? And is there a vCore listing in HWInfo? See if those match up. And congrats for getting it back to where you want it. :)
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
looks really good, what are your load temps looking like?
With ambient temp. of 62F in the room, the max. CPU temp. hit 68C. With the ambient temp in the room more realistic and more comfortable (70F), the CPU temp will max 71-72C. CPU throttling happens with temps. above 68C which is counter intuitive because stock settings will encode video faster than a throttled overclocked CPU.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,713
I've got my system running under load now at 100% across all threads. In HWMonitor, where should I be looking for vCore value? At the top of HWMonitor, CPU VCORE is the same for current and max=1.264 V. These values haven't changed in 20 minutes of being under load so far. CPU-Z Core Voltage is also reading 1.264. Is it normal for these values not to change or am I not paying attention to the right numbers? See below.

View attachment 120036
That is all good and a badass overclock on a 1950X at that vCore. You done good!
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,713
(y) Thank you again Kyle!! And thank you pendragon1, hititnquitit, and sirmonkey1985! You guys are awesome and it is because of you and sites like this that make it possible for guys like me to build my own custom PC and dial it in the right way.
Show us some pics of the build?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,650
(y) Thank you again Kyle!! And thank you pendragon1, hititnquitit, and sirmonkey1985! You guys are awesome and it is because of you and sites like this that make it possible for guys like me to build my own custom PC and dial it in the right way.
no prob and yeah post some pics.
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
Here are some pics. Not the sexiest thing around but it works for me. By the way, installed the Noctua NF-A14 IndustrialPPC-3000 on the front of the Silver Arrow and it shaved 5C off the temps! Maybe I'll try to push 4.1 Ghz OC.

DSC03432 copy.jpg
DSC03433 copy.jpg
DSC03437 copy.jpg
DSC03440 copy.jpg
DSC03441 copy.jpg
DSC03447 copy.jpg
DSC03448 copy.jpg
DSC03451 copy.jpg
DSC03457 copy.jpg
DSC03458 copy.jpg
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,650
looks fine to me. idk how I missed that youre using the silver arrow, I thought you were using the nh-u14, missed it in the op. that's why I thought you were have issues due to the hsf, oops. glad you got it sorted!
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
Right now for almost two hours, CPU all cores 100%, have a stable OC at 4.025Mhz and good temps.
 

Joust

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
3,652
This thread is relevant to me: Running a 1950x on MSI Pro Carbon OC'd at 4.0, 1.268v, 66*C in Prime95 on Enermax AIO. Rock stable - but maybe I should be trying to squeeze it down to another few .00x volts? Seems not many people around push too far past 4.0ghz. What's the wisdom?
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
All depends on how high temps you are comfortable with. Personally, I do want to keep the 1950X under 68C. Other people say not to worry if it reaches 72C. How much do you want to squeeze out of an already ripping processor at clock speeds and at what cost?
 

Joust

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
3,652
I'm under 68C. Just curious what the headroom is on these - or at least what the conventional wisdom is. Lots of 4.0 OC's, not many beyond. I guess it's the point of diminishing returns.
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
AMD does not recommend above 68C and temps above that will cause throttling. I mainly do video encoding with Handbrake/Vidcoder with very high quality settings which taxes the hell out of the processor. From the stock 3.4gHZ to 3.999 is a noticable difference in performance. From that point to 4.0 or even 4.1 is splitting hairs with maybe shaving off a couple to a few minutes at the most. I admit it can be an obsessive quest to squeeze the highest frequency out of the processor but at the end of the day, encoding a 1080P superior quality full movie which only takes between 1 and 1 1/2 hours compared to 4 hours with my old Intel i7 4770K is a huge performance difference. With 5+ movies in the cue, that's at least a 10 hour savings in time.
 

Joust

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
3,652
Yeah...I get it. Just maximizing the clocks without doing unnecessary damage. As I recall, you were reaching for 4.05ghz - on a very low voltage.
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
Testing Stability is misleading in my opinion. I have a 4.025ghz at 1.28750 Volts. I don't believe in torture testing a processor with Prime because it puts a tremendous strain on the processor so my torture test was to run 4 instances of Handbrake simultaneously encoding videos for several hours. This was stable and temps reached 67C as a max. Everything completed successfully with no issues. When I encode video, I only run one instance of Handbrake and if I have multiple videos to encode, I put them in the cue. After encoding videos for a few hours, I found my PC locked up which means it isn't completely stable with this voltage. I increased the voltage to 1.3V and that seems to be stable however temps were reaching 71C. I am going to back it down to 4ghz which in reality will be running at 3.999ghz at 1.28750 volts. Unlike Intel, Threadripper is very difficult to overclock because of the heat. From what I have read, the only way to push the processor past 4ghz is to have custom water cooling which I am not going to do. People have reported being able to get 4.1ghz out of the 1950X with custom water cooling with low temps. The AIO water coolers including the Enermax don't seem to perform better than the Thermalright air cooler. When I built my PC, I started with the Enermax Liqtech TR4 360. I had to RMA this cooler twice because of problems with leaking and pump failures. Apparently, most people using the Enermax cooler have reported similar issues.
 

Joust

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
3,652
Testing Stability is misleading in my opinion. I have a 4.025ghz at 1.28750 Volts. I don't believe in torture testing a processor with Prime because it puts a tremendous strain on the processor so my torture test was to run 4 instances of Handbrake simultaneously encoding videos for several hours. This was stable and temps reached 67C as a max. Everything completed successfully with no issues. When I encode video, I only run one instance of Handbrake and if I have multiple videos to encode, I put them in the cue. After encoding videos for a few hours, I found my PC locked up which means it isn't completely stable with this voltage. I increased the voltage to 1.3V and that seems to be stable however temps were reaching 71C. I am going to back it down to 4ghz which in reality will be running at 3.999ghz at 1.28750 volts. Unlike Intel, Threadripper is very difficult to overclock because of the heat. From what I have read, the only way to push the processor past 4ghz is to have custom water cooling which I am not going to do. People have reported being able to get 4.1ghz out of the 1950X with custom water cooling with low temps. The AIO water coolers including the Enermax don't seem to perform better than the Thermalright air cooler. When I built my PC, I started with the Enermax Liqtech TR4 360. I had to RMA this cooler twice because of problems with leaking and pump failures. Apparently, most people using the Enermax cooler have reported similar issues.
I see. I think it's acceptable to round to 4.0ghz for purposes of discussion. I haven't had a failure with that exact Enermax ...yet. If it does start to exhibit a problem, I will do a custom loop.

I suppose I'm at the sweet spot in terms volts/heat/clock. 1.268v/66C/4.0 I'm very comfortable; guess i should stay there and be happy.
 

Joust

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
3,652
What do you use your system for primarily?
Watching the two functioning RGB fans spin. YouTube it up. Occasional adventure into Prime/Netflix.

Oh. Just got BF5, so playing that a bit.

However, in seriousness, my plan is to use it as a lab to play with VM's.
 

raazet

n00b
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
12
Testing Stability is misleading in my opinion. I have a 4.025ghz at 1.28750 Volts. I don't believe in torture testing a processor with Prime because it puts a tremendous strain on the processor so my torture test was to run 4 instances of Handbrake simultaneously encoding videos for several hours. This was stable and temps reached 67C as a max. Everything completed successfully with no issues. When I encode video, I only run one instance of Handbrake and if I have multiple videos to encode, I put them in the cue. After encoding videos for a few hours, I found my PC locked up which means it isn't completely stable with this voltage. I increased the voltage to 1.3V and that seems to be stable however temps were reaching 71C. I am going to back it down to 4ghz which in reality will be running at 3.999ghz at 1.28750 volts. Unlike Intel, Threadripper is very difficult to overclock because of the heat. From what I have read, the only way to push the processor past 4ghz is to have custom water cooling which I am not going to do. People have reported being able to get 4.1ghz out of the 1950X with custom water cooling with low temps. The AIO water coolers including the Enermax don't seem to perform better than the Thermalright air cooler. When I built my PC, I started with the Enermax Liqtech TR4 360. I had to RMA this cooler twice because of problems with leaking and pump failures. Apparently, most people using the Enermax cooler have reported similar issues.

Thank you dpriest, just like Kyle and the [H]orde solved your use case, newbies to TR4 platform like me can take valuable pointers from your build. I am just as wary of AIOs as yourself but it comes at cost of additional build considerations viz. RAM profile, PCIE clearance and cabinet to account for these requirements. So could you please include your build details.

From your pics, I could see below items:

1)CPU - Threadripper 1950x 4.025@1.28V, Silver Arrow TR4
2) Mobo - Asrock Taichi x399
3) RAM -
3) Cabinet - Phanteks



With silver arrow TR4, how easy it would be for you to expand to all 8 DIMM slots in future.
 

dpriest

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 18, 2014
Messages
89
I have to say that I did it right. The Phanteks Enthoo Pro is an awesome case and it is very roomy. To answer your question, I can expand to all 8 DIMM slots if I want to. My graphics card is in the 1st PCIE slot and there are no issues of clearance and plenty of air flow. Here are the details of my build:

1.) CPU - Threadripper 1950x 3.9@1.262V, Silver Arrow TR4
2.) Mobo - Asrock Taichi x399
3.) RAM - Corsair Vengenace RGB 4x8GB DDR4-3200
4.) PSU - Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Semi Modular ATX Power Supply
5.) Fans - 7x Noctua NF-A14 Industrial iPPC-3000 PWM Fans
6.) Video Card - Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 1050 2GB OC
7.) Hard Drives - Samsung 970 Pro 512GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200
8.) Fan Controllers - 2x Thermaltake Commander F6 RGB 6 Channel 5.25" Bay
9.) Optical Drive - LG - WH16NS40 Blu-Ray Writer
 
Top