Post Your Mac Setup!

bertkelmer

Gawd
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
718
iMac (Late 2015/ Early 2016)
4.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
16GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - two 8GB
2TB Fusion Drive
AMD Radeon R9 M395X with 4GB video memory
 

wra18th

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
7,842
iMac (Late 2015/ Early 2016)
4.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
16GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - two 8GB
2TB Fusion Drive
AMD Radeon R9 M395X with 4GB video memory
I believe you are supposed to post a picture of your setup. Not just the specs.
 

neopill

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
6
I like beige



finally got it running 10.4.11

G3MT, PowerLogix G3 @ 1002Mhz, 768MB RAM, 128GB SSD, Radeon 7000 PCI with Quartz enabled
I used to have the beige.. Man that's been ages ago.. That's cool you got it running!
 

dogbait

n00b
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
43
My rather ridiculous setup. 1x maxed out hex core Mac Pro - D700, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD. 3x overpriced (and now endangered) Apple Thunderbolt displays. It's a good bit of kit, but not without its issues.
 

Attachments

Aurelius

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
2,620
My rather ridiculous setup. 1x maxed out hex core Mac Pro - D700, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD. 3x overpriced (and now endangered) Apple Thunderbolt displays. It's a good bit of kit, but not without its issues.
Just seeing this -- what I love is that you're mixing a maxed-out Mac Pro with an old-school Microsoft mouse and a 2nd-generation iPod shuffle (still have mine, even if I haven't used it for years).
 

Vader1975

Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
820
I'll get a pic later but I have a 2009 mac pro tower flashed to 5.1 with a replaced nic Xeon W3690 32GB of Ram 512mb SSD 5TB D drive, Bluray and a Geforce 960 4GB.

I have it hooked to my main PC's hardware via a switchover to a 34inch LG monitor and my Razor Tron key/mouse with Creative Labs 5.1 speaker set and a oldschool mic as my logitech USB mic hates it.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2017
Messages
1
I am a bit obsessed with Apple products... it doesn't help that I am also a reseller of Apple products! LOL... anyways, here's my list of Apple setups, the desktops and laptop have been upgraded and modded, the tablets, phones, and others are all stock...

DESKTOP: Late 2012 Mac mini - Quad Core i7 2.3GHz, 16GB DDR3 1600MHz, Intel HD Graphics 4000 (1536MB), 512GB Samsung 830 SATA III SSD (for macOS), 240GB SanDisk SATA III SSD (for Windows 10 via BootCamp), 2TB Seagate FireCUDA SSHD via external USB 3.0 (for Plex), 1TB Seagate Barracuda via external USB 3.0 (for music creations), 2 x Belkin Thunderbolt 2 Docks, Apple USB DVDRW Super Drive, Apple Aluminum USB Keyboard w/ Keypad, Apple Bluetooth Wireless Magic Mouse

LAPTOP: Early 2015 MacBook Air 11.6" - Intel Core i5 (1.4GHz), Intel HD Graphics 6000 (1536MB), 256GB NVMe SSD, 4GB DDR3 1600MHz

ALL IN ONE: 2011 iMac 24-inch - Quad Core i7 2.8GHz, 16GB DDR3 1333MHz, 512MB SanDisk SATA III SSD, 1TB Seagate SATA II Hard Drive

TABLET: 5th Gen iPad 9.7", 32GB

PHONE: iPhone 8, 64GB.... iPhone 7 128GB.... iPhone 5s 16GB...iPhone 6s 32GB...iPhone SE 16GB (x2)... I have a big family!!

TV: Apple TV 4th Gen

WIFI: 3TB Apple Airport Time Capsule (Latest Version)
 

TechNStuff

n00b
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
4
MacBook Pro Mid 2012 - 2.9 Ghz Intel Core i7 - user upgraded to 1 TB SSD and 16 GB ram.

iPad Pro - 128 gig WiFi version. I wish had purchased the network enabled version.

Apple Pencil - I love this thing; it has too many use cases to list.

iPhone 6 - 128 gig version. For all the music I have a 256 version would better suit my usage.
 

Orddie

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
2,689
MacBook Pro Mid 2012 - 2.9 Ghz Intel Core i7 - user upgraded to 1 TB SSD and 16 GB ram.

iPad Pro - 128 gig WiFi version. I wish had purchased the network enabled version.

Apple Pencil - I love this thing; it has too many use cases to list.

iPhone 6 - 128 gig version. For all the music I have a 256 version would better suit my usage.
pics?
 

Vader1975

Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
820
2009 Mac Pro
Intel Xeon W3690 3.46ghz Turbo to 3.73ghz 6 core.
48GB of DDR3 1333 ECC Registered in 3 16GB sticks for Triple Channel Support.
Vega Frontier Edition 16GB
512GB Mushkin SSD
240GB Corsair SSD
5TB Toshiba Hard Drive
and the original 640gb Hard Drive for Itunes.
Blu-Ray Burner
Wireless AC from a I-Mac 2013 with a converter card.
 

Algrim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
1,655
upload_2018-10-12_22-5-58.png


MacBook Pro 2017 running High Sierra (closed black laptop bottom right) displayed on 32" Samsung TV
Mac Pro (Late 2013) running Mavericks shown in VNC window on TV
Mac Pro (Mid 2010) running El Capitan displayed on Cinema HD (computer off pic on floor)
MacBook Pro (Early 2008) running Mavericks on far right of pic

In my mother-in-law's office so not really set up for pics.

(Off camera on left bottle of Four Peaks Kilt Lifter Ale. Who said computers and alcohol don't mix?)
 

Commander Shepard

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 12, 2016
Messages
4,116
Here's my new iPad Pro 11" 256GB and Logitech K811 Bluetooth keyboard. It's the only Apple product I still use. I'm going to try this setup as a laptop replacement for a while.

IMG_20190109_124059.jpg
IMG_20190109_124312.jpg
 
Last edited:

TechLarry

Can't find the G Spot
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
30,193
MacBook Pro 15.4 TB 16/512
Mac Mini - I don't recall all the specs. Haven't used it in forever. I know it has 8GB, 500MB Spinner, i5 Processor.
iPad Air V1
iPad Air V2
iPad Mini V4
 

AgentM17X

n00b
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
11
Here's my Apple products,

2016 Mac Book Pro 13 inch

2008 Mac Pro - got it free, running OS Lion... I never new these were Xeon processors. I have no idea what I will use it for.

BTW Mojave sucks. I can't download old OS on that platform, apple should do something about this. Just my 2 cents.
 

swetmore

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
3,358
Recently acquired 2011 iMAC 27" i7, 16gb ram for my daughter... (on the cheap).

Had it 2 months and the video card started glitching.. Yanked it apart yesterday to bake the AMD 6970m (very common failure on this year), and installed an older Samsung SSD I had in my PC for VMs. I have a Dell / Nvidia K1100M on order for when the video card fails again, but will be able to go Mojave with it (metal support). https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/2011-imac-graphics-card-upgrade.1596614/page-93#post-27504422

Currently on High Sierra. Bake was successful (no more glitching for now), SSD boot times are about 15 seconds, and the i7 2600 is plenty fast in this. I have less than $400 in this little project.. including tools to pull it apart, Sata cable, K5 Pro, FMV of the SSD, the replacement / spare video card I have on order, etc.. Kind of a pain to take apart and put back together the first time, but could do it again a bit faster in the future. I was very careful and took my time. The master bedroom bed gave me enough room to do the work. Kind of new to yanking macs apart, other than replacing the batteries in my daughters Macbook airs. Macs are ok I guess, not a fan of their business practices or "Eco System".. but daughters won't use PCs.. and I will stick with mine. Newer iMacs are a bit less friendly dissembling.

IMG-5426.jpg


Baked at 395 degrees F for 8 minutes... These gen cards are notorious for failing, and baking does revive them indefinitely.

IMG-5427.jpg


Motherboard and Video card back in... Installed Samsung 845DC Evo 480 GB as the boot drive. No doublesided tape, but tape application is good, and does not interfere with airflow for the superdrive / GPU heatsink:


IMG-5428.jpg



All put back together

View attachment 156063
 
Last edited:

Kardonxt

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
3,105
Only issue is the ZIP drive appears to be foobar'd since the light is stuck on.
I don't know much about G4s but on old PCs a constant on floppy drive light is pretty much always a flipped ribbon cable. May be worth a look.
 

w1retap

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
12,063
I don't know much about G4s but on old PCs a constant on floppy drive light is pretty much always a flipped ribbon cable. May be worth a look.
Yea that was the first thing I checked. Ribbon cable is in the proper orientation. I'll just replace it with a new drive, or leave it unplugged since I don't use ZIP.
 
Top