OSBORNE

Danith

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2004
Messages
2,617
My Mom moved to a smaller place, and on cleaning out the old house found this which must have been my dad's. Unfortunately it looks like my mom threw away the operating manual which had circuit schematics and programming instructions :( I did find MATH* though which wasn't thrown away

Wonder if I can get something to make the case not-yellow


Big ole fuse in there, also standard power connector :O


Opened up


Later tonight or tomorrow I'll plug it in and see if it starts on fire
 

colinstu

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
3,563
Sweet find!

If it doesn't work out you can replace the guts with new pc parts and start gaming on that tiny screen! ;):D
 

somecallmeTim

[H]F Junkie
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
9,567
Ah... the Osborne "luggable". They made some with larger CRTs (not much). I think that's an Osborne 1 - not too many made.
 

Danith

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2004
Messages
2,617
Sorry for being late, I got distracted with a migraine and work and being afraid it would explode :V

When I first turned it on I thought it blew a fuse because there was the quick click of the drives and then nothing. I expected it to be loud but you can't hear anything when it's on :eek:

After adjusting the brightness knobs I could see the screen


I was hoping it had an on-board OS like the commodore but no such luck :(
I tried this -




but didn't work :(



Guess I would need to find a boot disk. Damn it I knew I should have grabbed the manual/OS book when I first saw it at moms :(

Maybe if I get the time, I'll see about opening it up :)
 

colinstu

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
3,563
The disk could've gone bad too...

The magnetic stuff on those disks doesn't last forever / can decay / be damaged. Or the drive's reading head is dusty.
 

Danith

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2004
Messages
2,617
The disk could've gone bad too...

The magnetic stuff on those disks doesn't last forever / can decay / be damaged. Or the drive's reading head is dusty.

Ya, I was thinking that also. Don't have a extra 5 1/4 drive to test it out :p
 

pxc

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
33,064
You need to boot from a CP/M disk, which contains the OS, before loading software.

I have floppy discs nearly that old which still work, even notched to use both sides.
 
Top