Optimize 8700k for Nicehash

Discussion in 'Mining & Cryptocurrency' started by craigdt, Apr 27, 2018.

  1. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    I'm using the basic miner program- not the legacy miner.

    My cpu only ever hits about 50% ultization and I get about 290mhs, when supposedly I should be doing about 500.

    Is there something I can do to make my processor use 100%?

    Something about core affinity...
     
  2. cdabc123

    cdabc123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,089
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Don't use nicehash
     
  3. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    craigdt Make sure you have large pages enabled. I would also use xmr_stak directly against NH's Cryptonote pool.

    You could also try HODLCoin mining.
     
    craigdt likes this.
  4. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Heh- not sure where to look for large page enablement. Not seeing anything like that in the settings
     
  5. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    No, this would be an OS setting. I know for a fact that my Ryzen chip required large pages enabled to get the 600Hs a second using xmr_stak on Cyptonote.

    This would be want you want to enable. It's called 'lock pages in memory', actually. My bad on that one.

    xmr_stak's documentation on the setting gives it a +20% performance boost.
     
    craigdt likes this.
  6. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Okay so I installed the legacy miner from NiceHash, but there aren't any algorithms listed under the CPU. It's blank...

    How do I add an algorithm for the CPU?
    There is already a bunch for gpu
     
  7. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Dang is there a installation package or files I need to download? At the end of the directions where I was supposed to select something, the list was blank.
     
  8. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    No need to pull anything - NHLM should reach out and grab what it needs when you start it up.

    Did you benchmark the CPU?

    I don't recall exactly, but you may not see unbenched algo options.
     
    craigdt likes this.
  9. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    I tried to but the list was blank. Nothing to benchmark.

    I just now installed the 1.9 miner and it came with cpu algorithms.

    Guess I need to look into the lock pages in memory thing
     
  10. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
  11. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Since LTSB is basically Enterprise with only bug fixes/security updates, i imagine you should be able to.
     
  12. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
  13. atp1916

    atp1916 [H]ard|DCoTM x1

    Messages:
    3,624
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    That was not supposed to happen. LOL

    craigdt Have you tried stak_xmr directly against the nicehash pool? Not through NHLM (nicehash legacy miner?)

    This user is saying that NHLM overwrites his config and messes up his CPU thread affinity.

    Also, note phenom77's post down toward the end where he specifically has tips on setting:

    "ExtraLaunchParameters": "enable_ht=true"
    "LessThreads": 8
     
    craigdt likes this.
  14. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    784
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Okay I tried these tips and I still get the same hash rate.

    I feel like I'm taking crazy pills.

    I really have tried just about everything except for using stak_xmr directly- might be above my limited skill level.

    Any more pointers? Lol
    Guess I could always bounce to one of the Ryzen processors- maybe they don't have this issue.
     
  15. mkrohn

    mkrohn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,317
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    you just run it and it walks you through the config/pool setup and gives you a halfway decent cpu config as a default? nicehash is trash for trying to get proper configurations.
     
  16. Schro

    Schro [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,188
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Your CPU is probably running a cryptonight variant of some sort which is more dependent upon processor cache than processor compute power. If you run more than 6 threads of cryptonight (or its variants) on the 8700K, your hash rate will likely go down, hence the 50% CPU utilization that you're seeing. It's not going to be any different with xmr-stak or any other miner (though there may be some improvements with xmr-stak over the NH miner).