OLOy 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 $99.99

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by fightingfi, Jan 8, 2020.

  1. fightingfi

    fightingfi Look at Me! I need the attention.

    Messages:
    2,751
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
  2. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,884
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
  3. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,772
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Timing 16-18-18-36
    For those that are interested.
     
  4. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,345
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I have 3 computers and they all have 16GB of ram. Now, I do not do anything that needs 32GB and therefore, is it worth doing this anyways? Serious question because in the past, I would not have blinked and just bought it but now, I do not want to spend just for the heck of it.
     
  5. DooLocsta

    DooLocsta [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Purchased a couple sets of these last week, hoping they work out.
     
  6. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,772
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    I got 32gb in 2017 and the only time I have ever used it is when I was running 10x vms as a test. It's absolutely not worth it if you have no use for high ram workloads. I play games at 1440p, never goes much above 10gb used.
     
    ManofGod and Morphes like this.
  7. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Great price for good average speed ram. I'll get a pack or two for random builds in the future.
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  8. CruisD64

    CruisD64 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,115
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    I think you answered your own question :)
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  9. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,345
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I am in total agreement. To be honest, the only thing I hate is that in September of 2012, DDR3 ram was the same price and I did not buy it then, it doubled nearly overnight in price and I would have actually made use of it back then. I just hope the prices do not skyrocket again. ;)
     
  10. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,618
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    How hard is it to get a native English speaker to proof read your about page. I’d have done it for 32 gb.

    Come up couple of patents in memory related area.
    OLOy brand was established since 2018 at Hong Kong.
    Our goal is to become one of the leading memory product provider.
     
  11. CruisD64

    CruisD64 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,115
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    I hear ya! There is the epeen factor of 32GB over 16GB to consider as well :p

    The prices will likely fluctuate and go up from where they are now. I'd say that if you are CLOSE to max'ing out then maybe it's worth it but if you're not and don't foresee an upcoming workload that would demand it then don't bother. :)
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  12. FrozenSteel

    FrozenSteel Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    In order to hire a native English speaker to proof read their about page, they would need to increase their memory prices by 5 dollars a kit :p

    If the RAM works, and has good support backing it when it fails with a low failure rate, then I don't care if they color their logo on their website with crayola crayons they got at the dollar tree and completely color outside the lines.
     
  13. Morphes

    Morphes 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    I have 32gb now and its definitely overkill for gaming. I haven't gotten to 50% use in the past 6 months... Its still temping though lol

    My server only runs 8gb which is totally fine...... but is it?
     
  14. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,340
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    e-peen for desktops these days is 32GB ....PER CHIP.
     
    mikeo, DTN107 and ManofGod like this.
  15. cdoublejj

    cdoublejj Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    344
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    i think they are are korean from what i was reading on reddit
     
  16. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,342
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    WHAT? No [H] whining about the timings? I'm shocked, shocked I tell you. :p
     
    Tactlesss likes this.
  17. owkia

    owkia 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,833
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Depends on the game, though. I've seen 15-16GB used in Rust at 1080P.
     
  18. DTN107

    DTN107 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,789
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    They are a Chinese company using Chinese nand chips. They aren't affiliated with Micron, Samsung, Hynix, Toshiba, or any other big name companies.
     
  19. Auer

    Auer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,216
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    "
    OLOy Hardware: Industry-Standard ICs


    Digging into the hardware, we found that the OLOy WarHawk memory we recently reviewed uses SpecTek ICs on printed circuit boards (PCBs) manufactured in Taiwan by Hsien Jinn. Though most of us consider SpecTek to be the discount brand of Micron, its ICs have appeared on everything from our recent Corsair 64GB kit to G.Skill’s low-cost Ripjaws V DDR4-3200. A second, lower-priced kit we tested uses lower-cost Hynix ICs which were also similar to the budget offerings of better-known brands.

    https://www.tomshardware.com/features/oloy-ram-should-you-buy
     
    jstanthr, kirbyrj, Morphes and 3 others like this.
  20. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,166
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    you answered your own question

    For me everything below 256GB of ram is a compromise. but no money atm
     
  21. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,772
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Man I haven't fired up rust in forever. I suppose eternally alpha games will eat up ram lol.
     
  22. owkia

    owkia 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,833
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    It's come quite a ways IMO...though I never played when it first came out. They do update it regularly.
     
  23. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,477
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Wow, nice to see 32 gb kits under $100.
     
  24. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,345
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    According to SixFootDuo, prices on ram will be back to about $200 for 16GB by this summer. Therefore, I bought one of these kits and one kit of 16GB Skill 3600, the 32GB in one machine and 4 x 8GB of the 3600 in my X370 machine. After selling the other 16GB kit to my friend, I will have spend $135 for 48GB of ram total so, although I was not going to bother, getting it well the getting is good is what I got. :D :)

    Looks like the answer changed for me, with the prices drastically increasing later the year, thanks. :)

    Edit: I decided to just leave my two mITX machines at 16GB and just upgrade the one machine to 32GB of this ram instead. Therefore, I wil lhave spent just $58 for 32GB once I sell that 16GB kit to my friend.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2020
    Eshelmen likes this.
  25. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,340
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Anyone know if 32GB dimms work in Z370?
     
  26. Ricky T

    Ricky T Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    I couldn't imagine going back to 16 gigs and I don't do anything special except have a buttload of chrome tabs open. I would literally get out of memory warnings when I was using just 16 gigs. Plenty of times I've been gaming and seen 17 or even 18 gigs of usage. Plus it's not like that ram goes to waste as Windows will cache things that you frequently are using.
     
    Eshelmen and quiktake like this.
  27. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,345
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    That is true but, I am sticking with 16GB on two of my systems and installing this 32GB kit in my third system.
     
  28. CruisD64

    CruisD64 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,115
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
  29. Ready4Dis

    Ready4Dis Gawd

    Messages:
    614
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    My home server runs 96GB, but my desktop is only @ 16GB... Neither are using 100% yet, but it sure is tempting, especially since prices will probably rise soon did to the power issues @ Samsung. Tends to send prices up, although it was relatively short so maybe not to bad.
     
  30. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,345
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Still sold out but, regular price is only $7 more. :eek:
     
  31. cybrnook

    cybrnook [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Naw... they fixed it. $119 now :)
     
  32. bonehead123

    bonehead123 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,070
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Just an FYI, I used some of this ram (64GB) in some recent client gaming builds (to keep their cost down a little) and did not notice any performance differences between it & the normal Corsair Vengance sticks I normally use....

    So if anyone wants a 32GB kit (4 x 8) of BNIB red vengance for a decent price before they go up, please pm me asap, before I return it for a refund...
     
  33. krashx6

    krashx6 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    164
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    If I have an HP desktop that says max speed is 2666mhz, what happens if I bought something like this rated at 3200mhz?
     
  34. Ricky T

    Ricky T Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    It will of course run at 2666.
     
  35. krashx6

    krashx6 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    164
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    So I should probably buy 3200mhz ram instead of 2666mhz since it is a lot cheaper because of popularity?
     
  36. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,340
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Not necessarily.

    I Have an acer desktop I threw DDR3200 in and it runs at 2133. THe original chip was 2666 & runs @ 2666. There aren't any timing settings in the bios. I have no idea why that happens either...
     
  37. Ricky T

    Ricky T Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    I guess I should have said that it will run at a max of 2666 if that's the fastest that the board or cpu supports.
     
  38. curtisfong

    curtisfong Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    241
    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    It's working fine in my Z370 board!
     
  39. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,345
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Yep, it is working in my Asrock Taichi X370 board with an R5 1600 at full speed. (XMP Profile.)
     
  40. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,340
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Not X370 (ryzen) but rather Z370 (coffee-lake)