Old people in the work place

Status
Not open for further replies.

shroomiin

Gawd
It's about time businesses flush out all the old technology-incompetant employees and replace them with fresh blood, don't you think? For a couple reasons...

Their incompetance creates extra work for the help-desk crew, as they open tickets for routine tasks which any normal user can handle. They are not slick with technology, so they can't leverage it to their benefit for increased productivity like a young person could. I'm pretty sick of hearing the old "sorry, in my day we used a calculator, I'm not good with computers" BS. How many times can you say you don't know how to use a computer when you use one daily.

If it were up to me, these people would be out the door immediately... replaced by a harder working more efficient crew.

:)

Flash forward 40 years, you will be the person spoken of in a post like this. Feels good, eh?

Well if you are going to make broad useless generalizations like that, you need to do it for both sides.

All the new 'young' people are lazy, entitled shits, and will spend most of their time 'working' on facebook/twitter/anything other than actual work. This is what I see from all the young people coming in, and I'm only 30.

How about if someone isn't fulfilling their role in the company, or refusing to stay up to date in their field (especially a tech one), then they get the boot. Regardless of if they are old or young. Trust me some people are just lazy fucks, but I guarantee you there are more of them joining the job market now, than leaving it....

Hahaha, yeah I have to agree with you there Biz.

My perspective was that the younger people just entering the work force have something to prove, so they will bust ass... at least that's how I felt when I first started. Whereas the older people have settled into their routine and do just enough work not to get fired.