Nvidia 1080ti mining rig with asrock

Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
4
Hi I got new asrock h110 pro+ btc, 1600w, 5x1080ti connected with risers & 8+6 pin to each card, Intel celeron 2.6ghz, Windows 10, 8 gb memory, Samsung ssd.

When i boot into Windows my gpus gets error code 43. Is there anything i need to change in settings in Windows or bios to get the 5 cards to work together?
This is a video of device manager after booting in to Windows =
Is it too low power 1600w or what can the problem be. Thanks
 

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
Install one video card start pc. Shut down repeat one after another until done.

Watch this video on error code 43.

 
Last edited:

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
I learn something I didn't know. Windows 7 can only accept 4 video cards. Windows 8- 8.1 can only accept 5 video cards. And Windows 10 I already knew it could accept 8 video cards. But there is a OS called Simplemining OS. I can accept 12 video cards.
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
Install one video card start pc. Shut down repeat one after another until done.

If the BIOS is configured correctly there's no need to install one GPU at a time.

I learn something I didn't know. Windows 7 can only accept 4 video cards. Windows 8- 8.1 can only accept 5 video cards. And Windows 10 I already knew it could accept 8 video cards. But there is a OS called Simplemining OS. I can accept 12 video cards.
Actually 8.1 is able to do 8 with a tweak, 10 got bumped from 8 to 12 in CU (though it's possible to do 13+ in 10 with a little known tweak), and Simplemining does 15.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
4
If the BIOS is configured correctly there's no need to install one GPU at a time.


Actually 8.1 is able to do 8 with a tweak, 10 got bumped from 8 to 12 in CU (though it's possible to do 13+ in 10 with a little known tweak), and Simplemining does 15.

I reinstalled Windows to 8.1, still same problem. Tried uninstalling with ddu and reinstall drivers, still same.
Is it the motherboard thats the problem?

-IOAPIC 24-119 Entries option set to Enabled

-4GB MMIO BIOS assignment option set to Enabled

I also tried to select pcie 2 as default graphics instead of the onboard, but it wont work.
 
Last edited:

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
question for the 1080ti miners.

is it worth it? I have two rigs with a mix of 1070 and 1060 that are pulling in close to 500MH/s mining ETH.

what are you guys mining with the 1080ti's?
 

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
The 1080 ti does about 35 mh/s, but with some overclocking you more like can get more. How many cards are in each of your rigs? I know several miners that now have 8 to 9 - 1080 ti rigs. There doing good but the power draw is like 2400 watts.



question for the 1080ti miners.

is it worth it? I have two rigs with a mix of 1070 and 1060 that are pulling in close to 500MH/s mining ETH.

what are you guys mining with the 1080ti's?
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
I have 7 cards in one and 8 in the 2nd rig. Each one draws about 750watts and the other about 850w. 1/2 and 1/2 mix of 1070 and 1060. All with their tdp between 50% and 60%.

1070 gets 30-31MH/s
1060 gets 23-25 MH/s depending on memory type.

This is for ETH mining. You can see the 1060 is the most cost effective option when each card is sub $250.
 

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
Whats your core and memory clocks on the 1070's? And how about fan speed? And what OS Windows or Simplemining OS?


I have 7 cards in one and 8 in the 2nd rig. Each one draws about 750watts and the other about 850w. 1/2 and 1/2 mix of 1070 and 1060. All with their tdp between 50% and 60%.

1070 gets 30-31MH/s
1060 gets 23-25 MH/s depending on memory type.

This is for ETH mining. You can see the 1060 is the most cost effective option when each card is sub $250.
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
I don't touch the core clocks. I adjust the memory to +602 in msi afterburner and drop tdp (power) to 60%
 

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
I found by running a box fan on top of my rigs saves me money. I run the box fans at low to medium. And turn the fans down on the cards I save power on the rig. The box cost is really cheap compared the power supply.
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
yea, that's my next step. too low fan speed. right now it's at 50% speed. The best o/c seems to be my evga 1070 FTW cards. I drop them to 50% tdp and o/c memory to +640. works great. stable too.


eBay has 10% eBay bucks. was looking at picking up from 1080ti. now sure it's worth it though. the 1070 prices aren't great either. $470 for a evga 1070 ftw.
 

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
I know some the guys with the 1080 ti rigs are mining zcash. There getting about 5400 sol's. There doing good. As for ETH. I think I read that some where getting about 352 mh/s. But these numbers are from rigs with 8 - GTX 1080 ti's



yea, that's my next step. too low fan speed. right now it's at 50% speed. The best o/c seems to be my evga 1070 FTW cards. I drop them to 50% tdp and o/c memory to +640. works great. stable too.


eBay has 10% eBay bucks. was looking at picking up from 1080ti. now sure it's worth it though. the 1070 prices aren't great either. $470 for a evga 1070 ftw.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
690
question for the 1080ti miners.

is it worth it? I have two rigs with a mix of 1070 and 1060 that are pulling in close to 500MH/s mining ETH.

what are you guys mining with the 1080ti's?

No it's not worth it.

1070 at 30Mh and say 150w is $60/month
1080ti at 35Mh and 250w is $65/month (@150W is $72) so that extra $12 you'd need to run your rig over a year or more to recoup the cost and hope it stays up


Or look at it this way

2x 1080tis =$1900(950 each) and 70Mh
3x1070s =1650 ($550 each) and 90Mh


Now if you need PCIe risers that adds about $5 per card
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
It definitely is not worth it for mining ETH.

Others are mining zcash with the 1080ti's though
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,471
If the BIOS is configured correctly there's no need to install one GPU at a time.


Actually 8.1 is able to do 8 with a tweak, 10 got bumped from 8 to 12 in CU (though it's possible to do 13+ in 10 with a little known tweak), and Simplemining does 15.
Can you provide a link to this or instructions. I only have four cards, but my cousin has nine 1080ti on windows 10 creators update and any eight work, but the ninth one looks up the machine immediately on initiating mining. It's not power related. He's chaining 3 1000 watt PSU.

We've read others have the same problem after 8.

He's got the asrock 13 GPU board the OP has.
 
Top