Newbie looking to build a 10 TB server

Hi all, I've been building PCs for about 10 yrs, but have never really touched the raid side of things/SATA controller cards etc. My lab is generating ridiculous amounts of data and I want to build a data server for it, but don't really know where to start. I'm hoping to keep it down around $2.5k in cost is this feasible? (I can usually find pretty good prices on most PC parts). Just wondering if there are preferred 1 tb drives, is there an advantage to having the SATA ports on the mobo instead of on a controller card? What are the best controller cards for stability and where do people get their cases/any suggestions - I've been eyeballing the LIAN LI PC-A70B. I can handle everything except how to setup the hard drives, I think I want to do RAID 6 where I could recover if 2 HD's failed simultaneously. Thanks for any help, and feel free to just point me in the direction of a good tutorial if you know of any.

Do a search for posts by Ockie around here, he's got some pretty massive posts as well as some pretty massive servers he's built. Provides a lot of in-depth info, benchmarks, and generally everything you'd ever wanna know about massive storage goodies. 10TB... I think his last one or latest project is well into the 24TB range, or more...