New to linux.

Imhotep

Gawd
I'm a complete noob , but would like to try Linux.
Would appreciate links, tips and pointers. I know this forum is used by well versed Linux users, so I'm asking at the right place. I would like something that will have a multi GPU support for mining.

Thanks in advance !

I'm a noob also, as I type this answer on a Linux Mint 18.2 x64 laptop that I installed back in March of this year. It was a spare laptop, a Lenovo T510, so I decided to try Linux. I decided in Mint 18.1, then upgraded to 18.2, as most said it was the best for those coming from Windows. The Linux Mint forum is probably one of the better forums for obtaining support. What is surprising to me is how fast it boots to the desktop. I don't have Wine installed, which lets you run Window apps. I don't have any AV installed, but I do have the firewall enabled. Mint comes with FireFox as the default browser, but I have Ublock Orgin, Lastpass, and adblocker untimate installed.
The only way to get familiar with it is to do what I did. Find a spare ring and install it.

The multi-GPU support will depend on your motherboard.

As for learning a distribution, as Executioner said, you just need to start using a distro. Mint is very beginner friendly, Zorin or Elementary (While not as functional as other distros, IMO) are also very beginner friendly. Zorin looks a lot like windows, Elementary looks a lot like OSX.

Google will be your friend as you learn.