New to AMD!

Odigo

Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2002
Messages
638
Just purchased a AMD 7 5800x coming from years of Intel. Any BIOS or system settings I should know (performance, etc - besides the usual stuff)
 
Last edited:

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,364
simple way: turn on pbo, lower the voltage .05-.075v, install chipset drivers(and others), call it a day.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,364
yeah and that^^
if it doesnt like using xmp just set it manually to the xmp speeds but i dont think 5000 series has much issue with xmp...
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,304
simple way: turn on pbo, lower the voltage .05-.075v, install chipset drivers(and others), call it a day.

By the way, isn't pbo usually enabled by default? Also, I have never lowered the voltage, does it really make a difference?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
27,364
By the way, isn't pbo usually enabled by default? Also, I have never lowered the voltage, does it really make a difference?
i dont think so. at least not on all the asus and msi boards ive used but i could be wrong. it can make a huge difference in heat, since most of the BIOSs auto-voltage is very aggressive.
 

slavie

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
118
What are your intentions in the BIOS? Overclocking? Undervolting? General debauchery?
I set XMP on, Virtualization on (I use that stuff), and leave the rest alone. Been working fine since I switched back to AMD temple in 2017 with the release of Ryzen.
 

Odigo

Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2002
Messages
638
Make sure to download chipset drivers.

What are your intentions in the BIOS? Overclocking? Undervolting? General debauchery?
I set XMP on, Virtualization on (I use that stuff), and leave the rest alone. Been working fine since I switched back to AMD temple in 2017 with the release of Ryzen.
No OCing. General gaming.
 

THUMPer

2[H]4U
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
3,596
Dont manually lower voltage on Ryzen 3. Use Curve optimizer negative all core. Google CO..
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,026
I switched from Ryzen 3 3100 to 5600X on b550 Mortar... I needed to flash the board to 5000series bios before making the cpu switch
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,304
No, that's Precision Boost 2, not PBO.

Well, I looked on my Asus Strix B550 Gaming F, MSI Tomahawk B550 and Asus Tuf X570 Wifi boards and all 3 of them had PBO enabled by default. (It was labeled a PBO.)
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,061
Well, I looked on my Asus Strix B550 Gaming F, MSI Tomahawk B550 and Asus Tuf X570 Wifi boards and all 3 of them had PBO enabled by default. (It was labeled a PBO.)
On two different Asus Strix B450-F Gaming boards and a Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro Wifi PBO had to be manually set to enabled.
 

Andrew_Carr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
2,002
XMP for memory, PBO tweaking if you want, and Smart Access memory (above 4G decoding and re-size BAR support).
 
Top