New Ryzen Embedded Systems Coming

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by rgMekanic, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,894
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    PCPer is reporting that Sapphire Tech is now partnering with AMD to offer up a 5"x5" embedded system using the Ryzen V1000 SoC APU. While the website does not specify what model APU Sapphire is using, the small board packs quite a few features such as dual channel DDR4 3200 SODIMM slots, two M.2 slots, dual ethernet, and four DisplayPort outputs that can handle four 4k displays, and USB 3.1 Type-C. The V1000 SoC has up to 4 Zen cores / 8 threads, and a Vega-based GPU with up to 11 CUs.

    Check out the video

    Awesome little bit of kit. I can see it making a great HTPC. I was originally excited for it to build a NAS depending on pricing, but the single SATA connection and lack of PCI-E makes that a bit of a no go. Thanks to cageymaru for the story.

    The new platform is aimed at video gaming systems (think casinos, arcades, and video gambling machines in bars), digital signage, large display walls, point of sale systems, and medical imaging (high resolution display outputs for medical scanning and diagnostics devices).
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
  2. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    If they release this at competitive price points against the Intel NUCs, I'll be in for one.
     
  3. SeymourGore

    SeymourGore 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,733
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Pretty cool. I'd totally make a little PC gaming/emu station out of this depending on the price.

    I thought I saw a Kickstarter campaign that was trying to create a product similar to this, I imagine this piece of kit would be a kick to their balls.
     
  4. Kor

    Kor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,176
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    That's a pretty robust little unit.
     
  5. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Well, this is an embedded system so it’ll be competing with intels other embedded systems (which I think mostly suck). Which is why you get 1 SATA and zero PCIe. Chances are it will be pricey.

    What that means is, you’ll have to supply the hard drive, memory, power and box to get this running where NUC’s you typically only buy a hard drive or memory or combo of both. Sometimes NUC’s are ready to go out of the box.

    You could re display 4x 4K movies with this easy though.
     
  6. seanreisk

    seanreisk Gawd

    Messages:
    914
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    <strokey beard moment> This would also be great for people who need a computer but don't need a whole lot of computer. Like my mom.
     
    gigaxtreme1 likes this.
  7. travisty

    travisty Gawd

    Messages:
    815
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Hmm the gpu would be a waste but if the price is right making this a gig pfsense router with the two ethernet ports might be interesting

    edited to be clearer
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
  8. Z3r0k3wl

    Z3r0k3wl [H]Lite

    Messages:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
  9. travisty

    travisty Gawd

    Messages:
    815
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    If that's a question to me, yes :)
     
  10. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    That’s a lot of CPU for pfsense
     
  11. Kor

    Kor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,176
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    What about transcoding media files of entirely legitimate origins?
     
    Trimlock likes this.
  12. Mugato

    Mugato Muh Feelz!

    Messages:
    933
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Is it worth the money? Risk vs Reward
     
  13. ItWasMe

    ItWasMe n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018


    It remindes me of that too. I'm interested in seeing what Sapphire does with the pricing of theirs.

    Edit* Just wanted to mention that I really dig that little cube they showed as an example.
     
    SeymourGore likes this.
  14. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Do people do this from their pfsense? I’ve always used a separate media PC to do that.
     
  15. Shikami

    Shikami Gawd

    Messages:
    640
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    I've been looking for something that will replace my QC5000-ITX/PH that is used for my pfSense router. Prefer fanless, and a x4 or x8 PCIe slot for my personal capability to install whatever NIC I prefer. The segmentation of features that Intel allows and doesn't allow is understood, but irritating. For example, pfSense will support 1GB pages in the near future, but you will not get that with lesser Intel hardware, along with AES, and AVX, and even bit manipulation instructions. AMD architecture gives you everything you need even with a piss-ant APU. Hopefully, someone will get the feature rich'ness just right for me to buy and use.
     
  16. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,328
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Typos
     
  17. Mohonri

    Mohonri [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,736
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Not good for a NAS? I beg to differ. Put your OS on the M.2 drive, and hook up a nice big ol' spinning platter drive to the single SATA port, and that's good enough for the vast majority of folks.
     
  18. KenRico

    KenRico [H]Lite

    Messages:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Auto application ?

    I am sick of overpriced car infotainment with more drm and liability lock outs than functionality ... we only want ONE functionaility 'mirror phone '

    Have seen the true android head units , but they are stuck on older os and the new phones have more ram / storage .. and android auto still has numerous drop, sync & app issues like the propietary auto infotainment . Also the aftermarket head units are fairly expensive and require the phone to be plugged in via usb for the functionality ..

    Kenny
     
  19. sadsteve

    sadsteve Gawd

    Messages:
    561
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Router/firewall software built on FreeBSD.
     
  20. Chebsy

    Chebsy Gawd

    Messages:
    524
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    I wonder how the V1000 APU would play games ? Interesting little board.
     
  21. Abby Normal

    Abby Normal n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    These are going to be the greatest asset for cord cutters to date. A small embedded SOC that can run madVR at acceptable settings if they so wish to do so.

    Then there is the console emulation factor. Dolphin users are going to lose their shit.
     
  22. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,328
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    I guess it depends how much it costs. I really don't expect it to be cheap.
     
  23. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,266
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Very interested. It's a lot bigger than a Raspberry Pi so expecting plenty of performance
     
  24. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,328
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Why do people keep comparing embedded systems to Rasp Pi? I mean even cheap chinese knock off are faster than a Pi
     
  25. maxius

    maxius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,369
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    ryzen nas's exist :D
     
  26. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,266
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    It's a handy reference point
     
  27. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Because of the size and some are using the Pi in embedded applications already.
     
  28. 1_rick

    1_rick Gawd

    Messages:
    520
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    If you search around on their site, they mention " thermal design power (TDP) as low as 12W and as high as 54W".

    Either they're being sloppy, or they're going to offer more than one variant.
     
  29. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,328
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    No its not the size, the V1000 is closer to mini itx and its actually bigger than a NUC.

    The Pi is in a completely different league.
     
  30. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    True, but a 5x5 system is still super tiny.
     
  31. Kurakka

    Kurakka n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    wanted to add to this by pointing out that Udoo has two version of the bolt. One they call the V3 and one the call the V8. The V3 at the time of this post is priced at $229 while the V8 is $309. Those prices do NOT include ram or a PSU.

    6f3303d2f68c2dae5450f5dd35d62bf1_original.png
     
    ItWasMe and rgMekanic like this.
  32. alienz

    alienz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    248
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Tom's has some more details on the different boards and their prices.

    FS-FP5V1807B V1807B 35-54W 52093-00-40G - $450
    FS-FP5V1756B V1756B 35-54W 52093-01-40G - $390
    FS-FP5V1605B V1605B 12-25W 52093-02-40G - $340
    FS-FP5V1202B V1202B 12-25W 52093-03-40G - $325
     
    ItWasMe and wolfofone like this.
  33. fwiler1

    fwiler1 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    There's also USB 3.1 4 bay RAID enclosures 0,1,5,10, or JBOD. that support up to 56 TB. I would actually put the OS on the SATA drive and use a large m.2 for cache to the RAID array.
     
    DWolvin likes this.
  34. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,229
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    Why would people ever transcode anything in 2018. I don't get it?
     
  35. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    I don’t need to myself, but some only have media sticks.
     
  36. DWolvin

    DWolvin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,001
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Heck- 2 M2's, one for OS and one for cache...
     
  37. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Most likely that second M.2 shares the same PCIe lanes with the 3.1’s so its one or the other.
     
  38. wolfofone

    wolfofone Gawd

    Messages:
    724
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
  39. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Maybe not, I guess it depends on how they laid out all the PCIe lanes, I thought each 3.1/USB C used 2 lanes each. So 1 for the SATA, 4 for each m.2, and 2 for each 3.1 (if you do actually need 2 per port).