New Microcode 0.0.7.2 is out

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by tangoseal, Apr 12, 2019.

  1. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,299
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    THis is interesting. So I just updated my b450 board(Gigabyte) to the new Agesa 0.0.7.2 which is released from AMD to provide support for upcoming zen 2.

    Woot!

    We are getting closer!
     
    RAutrey, Pieter3dnow and sknight like this.
  2. sknight

    sknight [H]Lite

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Yep, got the F30 Bios for my B450 Aorus Pro Wi-Fi! Can't wait!
     
    Krenum likes this.
  3. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,299
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I am not sure if my b450 has enough power delivery for the 16 core 5.1 ghz chip that is supposed to be coming out but I will try it unless, the lesser models can be clocked as high.

    hopefully the lesser models like the 12 core or whatever can be clocked that high either overriding or using pbo 2 or 3 whatever it will be called.

    I do not need another 16 core part as I have a 2950x already.
     
  4. RAutrey

    RAutrey [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,605
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    You're probably looking at around 135 watts on that 16 core chip
     
  5. emmjawsX

    emmjawsX [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Will give this a try soon in my little athlon 200ge box, i hope they haven't broken the overclocking on it :)
     
    Sulphademus likes this.
  6. OFaceSIG

    OFaceSIG [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    I've been hex core Intel HEDT for what seems a decade. First Sandybridge-E then Ivy-E. I personally am looking at hex or octo Zen 2 when it comes out. I think either way I'm at an IPC and frequency gain at that point.
     
  7. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,299
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    What board do you have that allows overclocking the 200ge? I have one of those chips. its in an a 320 board right now but I have a 450 I might try.
     
  8. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,299
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Big time probably
     
  9. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,182
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    0.0.7.2? Is that a generic microcode number that means it supports the Zen 2 cpu? If so the Asrock AB350 Pro4 has that update as well.
     
  10. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,501
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    I saw that but the release notes say it only supports the recently released 2xxGE parts. I'm guessing there will be another update as the products get introduced. May be that 0.0.7.2 does support the new products for testing but it's hard to tell.
     
  11. emmjawsX

    emmjawsX [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    B450i Aorus Pro Wifi, 3.8Ghz all core (all two of them :p) oc was really simple, set and forget. It could probably go a little higher but i'll wait until i feel liking playing around with voltages a bit to give it a try.

    A lot of boards can do it, for gigabyte check the bios note "Improve performance on Athlon 200-series APU"
     
    tangoseal likes this.
  12. emmjawsX

    emmjawsX [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    From what i've experienced/read 3.7 - 3.9 should be doable without changing any other setting than the multiplier - i had a crash at 3.9 (auto volt) so rolled it back a little and it's been rock solid. I think a few sites have gotten 4.0/4.1 with manual voltage though. Thermals aren't really a problem with such a low TDP even with the tiny stock cooler.

    Lugging it to my partner's place as a spare pc I've played a fair bit of WoW with it paired with a HD7850 and it's been absolutely playable knocking back the settings a little. I definitely don't regret cheaping out on it waiting for the 3000 series. Heavy multitasking cripples it a bit but i'm used to my TR system so i'm probably asking a bit too much of the little chip.
     
  13. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,386
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Sweet, looking at updates now.
     
  14. stereo55

    stereo55 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    285
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Asrock x470 Taichi has the AGESA to 0.0.7.2 update . Bios 3.10

    Going to try it a bit later today .
     
  15. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,335
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Not only this but, Asrock also pushed out a bios update in less than 3 weeks that fixed an issue I had with a WD Sata M.2 SSD not showing in the bios! Excellent work! (Asrock Fatality B450 mITX)
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2019
    RAutrey likes this.
  16. JMccovery

    JMccovery 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,211
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Oh, they fixed this issue this past Monday? Well damn, if I didn't have to leave out for work last Sunday, I could've saved a few bucks. Ordered a M.2 to SATA adapter last week, and installed it yesterday.
     
  17. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    I hope you guys are not on Windows 7. Updating those BIOSes from Agesa 070 on, need a mandatory update of your chipset drivers, and those are only Windows 10 compatible.
    On Windows 7, you have to stay away from all Ryzen APU, but (this is new) also from non APU Zen 2. This is a damn shame as Windows 7 is still a much better OS. You are much more efficient on W10. It also runs faster and you're all in control and M$ doesn't bother you with forced updates. W10 UI is made for low IQ and sponsored by duchebags, and it's all about spying on your personal life and work.
     
  18. JMccovery

    JMccovery 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,211
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Was any of that needed?
     
    thebufenator likes this.
  19. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,182
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Yes.
     
    Algrim likes this.
  20. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    I'm still using a 3970X. Has served me well but would love to get into an octo core Zen 2 system.
     
  21. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    If you didn't do it yet, don't. I updated my TCU today and the new BIOS is totally stripped out, loads of options are just gone and the fans only have options of motherboard or CPU now (now TCtl) but what is not CPU seems to be TCtl so they spin up like mad.

    Very disappointed so far and it seems less stable.

    I hope they get a 1.0xxxxx one otu soon that puts things back and fixes it up.
     
  22. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,299
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    My Gigabyte didnt lose any functionality
     
  23. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    In addition to my previous post, PBO does not seem to work at all.

    It looks like a complete screw up somwhere.
     
  24. mvmiller12

    mvmiller12 Gawd

    Messages:
    681
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    I have an Asus X370-A and a Crosshair VI Hero, both with R7 2700X CPUs andthe new AGESA 0.0.7.2. PBO works fine on both boards.
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  25. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    You sure the options just didn't get hidden? Gigabyte motherboards used to be notorious for this back before UEFI came out. You had to press CTRL + F1 to access advanced setup options. I've also seen it on several UEFI boards from Asus, MSI and Gigabyte, they'll have some hotkey that enables the advanced setup options.
     
  26. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,299
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    If you read my post about x399 working fine I'm an idiot and mistyped.

    X399 doesnt have this microcode.

    I meant my b450. It definitely has this code and works fine. I deleted my x399 comment as to not mislead anyone. That was a typo sorry.