Need to upgrade a few parts

I'm on my laptop for work related tasks mostly but when I get the occasional urge for some WoW I get on the PC and grind away. Only one problem, it's starting to shut off randomly due to the gpu (8800gt) overheating. I don't have the best air flow setup in the world and it doesn't help that it's a matx mobo in a mini tower case. So I'm looking to upgrade from a C2D E6600 and would like to find an regular sized ATX mobo and a mid tower ATX case. I don't do much to strain the E6600 but it wouldn't hurt to upgrade the CPU as well so I was doing some research and the X3 720 is just too sweet of a deal to pass up.

I've narrowed it down to the X3 for the CPU and just need a recommendation for a barebones, stable ATX mobo. I have no experience with AMD whatsoever so I'm lost in that department. For the case I don't care how loud or quiet it'll be but I'd like a lot of fans and a lot of air.

The GPU is one hot (expletive) but I'd like to keep that as well and I believe with proper air flow it'll be fine. I'll also be carrying over the ram (2x2gb Ballistix DDR2 800), the PSU (Corsair VX550 or maybe VX520 not sure), the hd (1.5tb Seagate), and the optical drives (1x ide and 1x sata).

I'll mostly be using it as a WoW and moderate gaming computer no Crysis or anything really taxing. As far as pricing is concerned I'd like to keep it under $300 shipped including tax if possible. I don't live near any Frys or MC so it'll all have to come from e-tailers.

Hope I didn't leave any details out but do let me know if I'm missing something. Thanks for any help/feedback.

Last edited:
I just got a gigabyte ma790x-ud4p

I haven't ever seen voltages this stable from the moment I started building computers, since the 90's.

they don't move, I am also currently typing this with my processor undervolted all to hell and no fans on in the case other than the one on the GPU. Never could do that with this proc either.