Need Help with a Corsair H115i AIO Problem

stryfex

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 12, 2020
Messages
72
I just installed a brand new Corsair H115i RGB PRO XT AIO and when i went to hook up the usb connector to the pump i noticed the cable seemed awfully loose for a usb connection - upon closer inspection the "female" portion of the connector is...not there (probably knocked loose within the pump) so the cable doesn't actually plug into anything - just the cut-out plastic of the pump

I realize the solution to this problem is basically "buy a new AIO and RMA this one since it's defective" but I was curious what the purpose of the USB connector even is? If I just leave it in there, what am I missing? Does that USB connection handle ARGB syncing and such things?

Any advice would be great - I'm honestly just incredibly frustrated and want to talk about it - I realize the only thing to really do is just buy a new water cooler
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
25,315
I just installed a brand new Corsair H115i RGB PRO XT AIO and when i went to hook up the usb connector to the pump i noticed the cable seemed awfully loose for a usb connection - upon closer inspection the "female" portion of the connector is...not there (probably knocked loose within the pump) so the cable doesn't actually plug into anything - just the cut-out plastic of the pump

I realize the solution to this problem is basically "buy a new AIO and RMA this one since it's defective" but I was curious what the purpose of the USB connector even is? If I just leave it in there, what am I missing? Does that USB connection handle ARGB syncing and such things?

Any advice would be great - I'm honestly just incredibly frustrated and want to talk about it - I realize the only thing to really do is just buy a new water cooler
its used with icue to control pump and fan speeds and the rgb. so without it you will get default low speeds and rainbow puke.
 

stryfex

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 12, 2020
Messages
72
in my lifetime I have purchased exactly 3 corsair products and all 3 have failed on me - i said never again before this thing but caved when i saw a good deal at my local shop - but going forward it's a very very true "never again" on corsair

(other 2 products were some Dominator Ram from the i7 920 days and a 1000W PSU)
 

Nasgul

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
81
Funny, I'm on my 6th PSU, 6th DDR memory kits of 1 through 4 from value to Dominator, 2 SSD 2.5", 1 MP500 NVMe, second AIO, Fans, 4 cases, and a full Loop, Light Node Pro, from Corsair and not a single issue. oh! And two gaming mouse pads.
.
Put a picture of the plug/connector......There should be 5 wires I think.......
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,159
Can't you return it to the retailer vs RMA'ing it? Or did you have it too long?
Reason being is you have to cover the cost of shipping the cooler to Corsair and possibly getting a refurbed unit back.

I use a lot of Corsair products and only had a couple of issues which they took care of quickly, faulty front USB port on a 465X case, ticking sound on an ML fan, faulty Node Pro.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
30,942
Or default high - can't remember what happens if it doesn't have connection. Either way, RMA that.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
30,942
in my lifetime I have purchased exactly 3 corsair products and all 3 have failed on me - i said never again before this thing but caved when i saw a good deal at my local shop - but going forward it's a very very true "never again" on corsair

(other 2 products were some Dominator Ram from the i7 920 days and a 1000W PSU)
Huh. I've gone through dozens without issue, but all of us tend to have one brand that does us badly, even though it works fine for everyone else (Gigabyte + AMD for me is a BAD combination, but works great for everyone else - so I get it).
 
Top