Need Help installing xubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux/BSD/Free Systems' started by trick_m0nkey, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. trick_m0nkey

    trick_m0nkey I jump for cash, bitch!

    Messages:
    3,916
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    I'm trying to install Linux on my old 2.6 ghz P4 dell. I downloaded a live CD from the official website and, in order to be a simple as possible, had it boot into Live CD mode so I can just install it from there.
    Unfortuanitly, I just get a black screen with a blinking cursor, and then after a while a loading bar, and then I get the command line interface. Same story for if I ask it to go straight to install.
    I have no clue what to do with command line...google isnt helping, I've done a barrel roll, and I've reburned the image using the slowest possible way and it still does me. The computer has a gig of ram. Help?
     
  2. That Linux Guy

    That Linux Guy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    306
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Does it have any esoteric hardware?

    What are the specs of the said machine?
     
  3. trick_m0nkey

    trick_m0nkey I jump for cash, bitch!

    Messages:
    3,916
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Like I said in my post, it's a dell with 2.6 ghz p4, 1 gig of ram, 60 gig harddrive, pretty standard. I have no idea what esoteric hardware is.
     
  4. firebane

    firebane Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
  5. trick_m0nkey

    trick_m0nkey I jump for cash, bitch!

    Messages:
    3,916
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Still didnt work. Anything else?
     
  6. Langford

    Langford [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,339
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Have you tried safe graphics mode?
     
  7. trick_m0nkey

    trick_m0nkey I jump for cash, bitch!

    Messages:
    3,916
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Yes I've tried that. Tried going to other linux forums, the users there are hardly helpful.
     
  8. requiemnoise

    requiemnoise Gawd

    Messages:
    726
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    It is hard to determine your issue without clearly indicating your problem. Also, you haven't posted your hardware specs or word by word error messages.

    If you have issue getting your X to display your Window Manager and it worked using the live cd, your xorg.conf file might have been altered.

    try running this command from the commandline, it will restart the X configuration wizard.

    Code:
     sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg 
    
     
  9. FalseGod

    FalseGod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    479
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    From what I remember troubleshooting last time I had that issue I believe I had to edit my Xorg.conf to enter the correct resolution for my monitor because it just had the defaults. This was for Slack, but it was giving me a black screen. X will do that if it gets an error though. Did you check all the virtual spaces for error messages and also look for any log files being generated with error messages?
     
  10. trick_m0nkey

    trick_m0nkey I jump for cash, bitch!

    Messages:
    3,916
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    I dont know how much more clear I could be. I posted my computer specs more than once, in my origional post and in a reply. Please read those to find out the computer specs and come back.

    I turn on my computer with the live CD in. The CD's integrety has been verified, it is the second burned copy.
    I get to the login screen. If I do nothing and I select either Install or Boot from CD, I can hear my CD Drive running furiously, but there is only a black screen with a blinking cursor. After about 5 minutes, I see a loading bar. After this loading bar is done doing it's thing I get to the command prompt. There is no error message or anything but I'll post what it says when I get home.
    And that's it. I did the "boot options" thing and put ACPI=off, that did nothing, I've tried booting in safe graphics mode, that did nothing. I'm very much a complete noob at linux and I have no idea what to do at this point. I've read forums for similar problems and there's not much in the way of clear instructions on how to troubleshoot further.
     
  11. Ramp8g

    Ramp8g Account Closed

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Try installing Ubuntu. With your specs, you should have no trouble installing it. If you had, say, a P2 that would be different. Sounds like XFCE doesn't dig your system for some reason.
     
  12. FalseGod

    FalseGod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    479
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Try looking around in /var (possibly in /var/log) and look for an Xorg.#.log file and see if there are any error messages to be found there. You can look in the syslog too, there could be something there and that is in /var/log.

    Your system should be telling you what is wrong, you just have to know where to go to find it. Everything (especially errors) is sent somewhere.
     
  13. requiemnoise

    requiemnoise Gawd

    Messages:
    726
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    If you are having an issue with a video display, it will be helpful to know more about your video card and your monitor.

    Just run sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg for now. It will try to do a basic plug and play and run "/etc/init.d/gdm start." It that doesn't work, you might have to edit your xorg.conf. In order for people to help you edit that file, we need to know your video hardware.

    Also try acpi=force apm=off

    You might also have to deattach your firewire and usb devices beside mice and keyboard during the installation.
     
  14. trick_m0nkey

    trick_m0nkey I jump for cash, bitch!

    Messages:
    3,916
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Alright thank you for that. I will try these things and I'll see if I can get video info for now...but what I know is that it is an intergrated Intel video chipset, I just know exactly which one.
     
  15. ko4507

    ko4507 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Yeah I had the same thing happen to me but i went found that when installing i got a error 16 SRST failed. I'm kind of new to Linux and it is my first time using it and I cant seem to get it install either.