Need browser recommendations

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,839
Now that Firefox totally sucks unwashed ass I need a new browser. The only reason I've used Firefox this long is because I want total control over my bookmarks. Last time I looked at Chromium based browsers they really sucked when it can to bookmarks. Everything I've read about FF spinoffs says to avoid them. Just tried Opera and it's a no go. Like the latest version of FF, it won't let me access my security cam website which is local and that's a deal breaker. Anyone have any suggestions?
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,482
Now that Firefox totally sucks unwashed ass I need a new browser. The only reason I've used Firefox this long is because I want total control over my bookmarks. Last time I looked at Chromium based browsers they really sucked when it can to bookmarks. Everything I've read about FF spinoffs says to avoid them. Just tried Opera and it's a no go. Like the latest version of FF, it won't let me access my security cam website which is local and that's a deal breaker. Anyone have any suggestions?
Why won't it let you access your cam site? I use FF daily to access a localhost Jenkins rake server with no issues at least...
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,839
Why won't it let you access your cam site? I use FF daily to access a localhost Jenkins rake server with no issues at least...

After turning off the warnings about it being an unsecured site it now says "IP Banned". Google is useless. Fuck Firefox.
 

blackmomba

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
397
So... Why does Firefox suck unwashed ass?

The browser that's trendy at the moment is Brave if I'm not mistaken
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,482
After turning off the warnings about it being an unsecured site it now says "IP Banned". Google is useless. Fuck Firefox.
IP banned doesn't sound like stock Firefox behavior. Uninstall your addons and try again.
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,839
IP banned doesn't sound like stock Firefox behavior. Uninstall your addons and try again.

It's a fresh install. No addons. The IP being banded is 192.168.1X. Another computer running Linux 19 and an earlier version of FF doesn't do this.
 

longblock454

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
1,841
I can't comment on the bookmark issue, but I use Brave (Chromium based, add blocker built in) on all of my Linux boxes with great success.
 

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,711
No issues with the latest version of FF here. As far as Chrome is concerned, any browser that comes with advertising functionality baked into the browser can kiss my arse.
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
16,588
I refuse to install Chrome because Google already has more than enough info about me anyway. Besides, I didn't particularly like it when I tried it years and years ago. I gave up on Firefox a while back simply because it became seriously slow and clunky after having used it for years. I switched to Vivaldi instead and haven't looked back despite trying Firefox multiple times since. I also have Brave installed but don't really use it much especially since I haven't found the setting so I can disable smooth scrolling. I really, really hate smooth scrolling.
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,482
It seems really weird that FF would 'ban' a class B network address.

Are you sure that your internal service isn't using https without actually providing a valid certificate? That will lead to Firefox blocking the connection. This can be easily resolved by connecting to it without https i.e. using http://192.168.x.x
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,839
It seems really weird that FF would 'ban' a class B network address.

Are you sure that your internal service isn't using https without actually providing a valid certificate? That will lead to Firefox blocking the connection. This can be easily resolved by connecting to it without https i.e. using http://192.168.x.x

Nope, using http only. I ended up putting the old HD back in for the time being after I discovered the latest version of Opera blocks it too. Why the hell would a browser take it upon itself to block an internal site? We are all slowly being inslaved by technology. It won't be long before we have no control or choices at all. I feel sorry for the ignorant young people who will have to live in the coming world.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
525
I use Chrome for work, as it's basically required due to our G Suite platform.
However, I can't find a personal browser that I like anymore either.
I used to love Firefox, not sure what happened there but it just doesn't feel the same.
I tried Opera, for about 2 minutes.
Chromium Edge - I kind of liked it for a few weeks, but I'm over it.
Maybe I'll try Brave.
 

Shoganai

Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
852
Nope, using http only. I ended up putting the old HD back in for the time being after I discovered the latest version of Opera blocks it too. Why the hell would a browser take it upon itself to block an internal site? We are all slowly being inslaved by technology. It won't be long before we have no control or choices at all. I feel sorry for the ignorant young people who will have to live in the coming world.
I think there's something else going on here ... and you are blaming the wrong cause. I can access things just fine on 192.168.x.x
 

blackmomba

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
397
Seems like you ditching your browser is treating the symptom and not the problem. Google doesn't give anything relevant for "Firefox IP banned" so clearly not a stock message and you having the problem with Opera confirms this obviously

What port is the cam dashboard listening on? Have you tried specifying it in the URL? What is being used to serve the webpage? Any logs you can look through?

It seems pretty clear to me that it's the service that's answering and not Firefox blocking the connection.
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,482
Nope, using http only. I ended up putting the old HD back in for the time being after I discovered the latest version of Opera blocks it too. Why the hell would a browser take it upon itself to block an internal site? We are all slowly being inslaved by technology. It won't be long before we have no control or choices at all. I feel sorry for the ignorant young people who will have to live in the coming world.
Can you post a screenshot of the browser when it happens?
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,839
I think there's something else going on here ... and you are blaming the wrong cause. I can access things just fine on 192.168.x.x

This is a fresh install of everything and connecting to my cams was the first thing I tried. My old install works just fine.
 

tordogs

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
500
I refuse to install Chrome because Google already has more than enough info about me anyway. Besides, I didn't particularly like it when I tried it years and years ago. I gave up on Firefox a while back simply because it became seriously slow and clunky after having used it for years. I switched to Vivaldi instead and haven't looked back despite trying Firefox multiple times since. I also have Brave installed but don't really use it much especially since I haven't found the setting so I can disable smooth scrolling. I really, really hate smooth scrolling.

Type: brave://flags/ into the Brave search bar then search for "smooth scrolling". You can disable/enable it there.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
7,350
I use chromium-vaapi for accelerated video playback. Works quite well with either Intel or NVIDIA on multiple systems, but some additional configuration is required with Chromium flags.
 

TheSlySyl

Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
568
I really don't think Firefox is the issue here -
but unrelated to that, i've been using Vivaldi for years and it's my preferred browser these days.
 
Top