Need a backup-power solution for 3 servers, cable modem, and switch.

RavinDJ

Supreme [H]ardness
I need a backup-power solution for 3 servers (IBM xSeries tower server, Dell PowerEdge 400SC, and Dell PowerEdge T105), a switch (Dell PowerConnect 2024), and a cable modem (Motorola).

We had a APC Smart-UPS 1400VA RM 2U 120V
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=su1400rm2u

According to the website, they recommend:
APC Smart-UPS 1500VA USB & Serial RM 2U 120V
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=su1400rm2u

Would you guys agree? I'm basically looking for something to power all the things mentioned for a good amount of time... how much time do you think the replacement would give us in case of power outage?

Also, is it worth to just buy a new unit or are the batteries replacable? If so, would you recommend just replacing the battery?

I'm sorry, but I'm a complete newbie when it comes to power backups, UPS's, batteries, etc.

Thanks in advance!!!

-Lukas

Just figure the max draw for each device and then size the UPS for 30% over what you really need. This is of course as long as cost allows.

Do yourself a favor, spend the $50 and install a APC netman card into the UPS and configure it. Then you can just query via SNMP for monitoring and let it send you emails for alerts/scheduled tests. Has worked well for me.

Just figure the max draw for each device and then size the UPS for 30% over what you really need. This is of course as long as cost allows.

Do yourself a favor, spend the $50 and install a APC netman card into the UPS and configure it. Then you can just query via SNMP for monitoring and let it send you emails for alerts/scheduled tests. Has worked well for me.

Makes sense... 30% overhead would work nicely.

Shouldn't any new APC just come with the card??? I tried to Google netman but there's very little info on it... and I found a store but outside of U.S. that carries it. Old cards?