My First HD HTPC/File Server Build Questions - Rate & Suggestions (Long Read, Sorry)

Zefram0911

[H]ard|Gawd
Please excuse my ignorance on the subject. I've tried to do the best research that I can and feel like I still fall short in trying to figuring out the best components for my build. I'm a network admin, so working with computers is second nature, but my AV experience isn't as solid. With the help of these forums, I did setup my own home theater. HDTV and 5.1 surround sound. So here goes...

GOALS in order of priority (willing to sacrifice):

1) Play Bluray and HD DVDs. I already have a Toshiba HD-A3 (I picked the wrong format, but that's what I get for early adoption), but would like play both HD formats. I considered picking up a PS3, but thought that a HTPC/File Server would be more functional, plus more fun to boot.

2) Have all my media files in one unit. I'd like to do a RAID 5 array with FIVE 1 TB hard drives. I think that would give me 4TBs of space. I want to be able to rip all my DVDs, Bluray, and HDDVDs and play them from the hard drives. I'll also be downloading tv shows and movies. I'll also be using the space to back up other files and photos.

3) PC Gaming. This one really isn't as crucial, because I already have a high powered water cooled gaming/day to day rig, but it would be nice if from time to time, I could play some first person shooters. If it's doable, great, would be a big plus. If not, I don't really mind so much.

EQUIPMENT LIST
Here are the things I already have from my home theater and parts I have for my HTPC.

Home Theater - OWN
Panasonic 50'' 600U
Yamaha RX-V661
Klipsch Quintet III + Syngery Sub-10
Comcast HD DVR
Toshiba HD-A3
Philips Upconverting DVD
Wii & PS2
Logitech Harmony One

PC Parts & Comments - OWN