• Some users have recently had their accounts hijacked. It seems that the now defunct EVGA forums might have compromised your password there and seems many are using the same PW here. We would suggest you UPDATE YOUR PASSWORD and TURN ON 2FA for your account here to further secure it. None of the compromised accounts had 2FA turned on.
    Once you have enabled 2FA, your account will be updated soon to show a badge, letting other members know that you use 2FA to protect your account. This should be beneficial for everyone that uses FSFT.

My Documents Issuse GPO/Domain

havalon

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
109
I posted something earlier today in the Operating System forum but I think it should be moved here and worded better.

I have a handful of computers on a site that were joined to a domain and had their My Documents folder redirected from what I can tell manually via the My Documents properties and pointed to \\server\%oldoperatorusername%

Since then a GPO has been implemented directing My Documents to \\fs1\docs\%username%

Now when ever someone logs off one of the computers that had this done it attempts to sync both \\fs1\docs\%username% and \\server\%oldoperatorusername% but it looks something more like:

\\fs1\docs\User1
\\server\OldUser

I can't seem to figure out how to kill off the \\server\%oldoperatorusername% sync when they log off. It displays errors for that sync which really isn't important because I intend to delete the folders soon as this is cleared up anyway and it isn't affecting any of the users on those computers from getting their documents synced.

It seems to drive the users mad and I have been tasked to figure it out. I have been beating my head against trying to figure it out.

Any help would be great. Thanks.
 
They way I have had to resolve the same issue in the past is to recreate the missing folder/share, manually stop the the sync for that one folder, then delete that share again.
 
Except I see no reference to the sync anywhere. It is like it doesn't exist until is syncs.
 
Are these desktops? why not just turn off offline folders, no real sense in having desktop computers using offline files.

If they are laptops, maybe turn off offline files and folders for a few days, then enable offline files and folders and only the newly redirected folder should sync
 
Is the server running Small Business Server or is this on a Standard box?
 
Back
Top