More RAM or hold out?

Lyrids

Limp Gawd
I've been using the same rig that I put together for about three years now and it's been in pretty good condition besides a few setbacks. A little over a year ago I screwed something up and was left with only one stick of 512 DDR where I used to have two. My specs are:

MSI K8N Neo Platinum
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
X-Fi Xtrememusic
512 MB PC3200 DDR
160 GB HD, Floppy, DVD-RW and 350W Antec PSU

This thing used to kick some serious ass but I don't game nearly as much as I used to. I've noticed now that sometimes it just stalls and less than a gig of RAM is really a pain in the ass. Now that I've got Logitech Z-5300's and a Viewsonic VX2025 I'd really like to get back into some games but I don't know if my setup is still up for the challenge. If I were to get more RAM what should I get? Or should I just sit on this for a little while longer and go for a real overhaul?

I guess it depends on your budget. Though, I'd wait for an overhaul (cpu/ram/vidcard/psu).

I'm a poor college kid working at a restaurant bussing and cleaning dishes, right now I've got about $600 in my bank account but I'd rather save what I can.

Last time I was playing anything was Battlefield 2, I haven't really kept up with recent PC games. Any chance I would run Crysis decently?

Last time I was playing anything was Battlefield 2, I haven't really kept up with recent PC games. Any chance I would run Crysis decently?

That all depends on your definition of "decently." I'll reply later, when I have more time. In the meantime, someone else should be able to shed some light onto this topic. Anyhow, you'll definately need a new GPU and more RAM for Crysis.

You're at the point where you should just buy a whole new setup. (and 600 bucks is not quite enough..)

That system will have some serious frame buffer issues with Crysis.

A ram upgrade is certainly worthwhile.