Monitor wont turn off in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Ryland, Jun 16, 2018.

  1. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I also had this problem under windows 7 on the same machine and it persisted through an upgrade to Win10. The monitor is set to turn off in 10 minutes, although the time doesnt matter, and sleep is set to never yet the monitor never turns off. I have tried powercfg /requests which comes up with nothing. The NIC is set to be turned off for power saving and the only other devices are a mouse, keyboard and webcam.
     
  2. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,362
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    do you have another monitor to test on the system, or another system to test the monitor on?
    Or different cables?
     
  3. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I could probably swing another monitor in. I hadnt because I assumed it was something keeping windows from turning the monitor off.
     
  4. mavrocket

    mavrocket [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,081
    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Do you use DVI, DP or HDMI?

    If DP, nVidia had to patch in the ability for monitors to sleep using DP in the latest drivers I believe. This was a problem on Win10 for quite some time before it was finally fixed.
     
  5. Chas

    Chas [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,881
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Thanks for this info. Should solve the problem on my setup.
     
  6. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    HDMI.
     
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    try another mouse. ive had them "twitch" and keep systems from sleeping.
     
    auntjemima likes this.
  8. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I turned the mouse off and waited about 2 hours (I was gone and it was set for 10 minutes) and no go.
     
  9. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    any monitoring or control suites installed? seen those cause it too.
     
  10. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Like what? I dont have anything that I know of.
     
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    anything like asus suite, hwinfo, etc, anything in the background.
     
  12. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Nothing like that is running.
     
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    there has to be something in the background keeping it awake. you could try msconfig and diagnostic startup see how it acts. or a fresh install on another drive and only load drivers. see how it acts.
    does the power button on the monitor work? you could always press it when you walk away....
     
    heatlesssun likes this.
  14. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,429
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    One user had this problem and it was caused by a program that cycled his desktop backgrounds.
     
  15. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I only have a single static background. The power button does work (I tested that through my windows 10 upgrade fiasco). I actually realized over the weekend that my other computer which has a fresh install of win10 does the same thing and has almost nothing in common except for Avast, Malwarebytes, Steam and one or two other programs.
     
  16. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,429
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Perhaps you should add a fourth AV/Malware suite in addition to Windows Defender, Avast and MB. Perhaps that will fix the problem? :D
     
  17. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Defender is disabled (or better be, guess I need to double check that) with Avast installed.
     
  18. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    remove both of those and see what happens. just refrain from the donkey pron for now...
     
  19. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I will try that and will try to stay away from the donkey pron :)
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  20. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,221
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    user "powercfg /requests" to check if any process has enabled the do not turn of monitor flag
     
  21. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I did that and nothing shows up as requesting locks.
     
  22. IKV1476

    IKV1476 Lurker

    Messages:
    217
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Didn't see this anywhere, unplug the webcam or otherwise disable it.
    Also have you tried another keyboard? Maybe it has a flaky key that triggers once in a while on its own. Open notepad or something and have focus and see if anything types in it.
     
  23. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,207
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    If you don't mind third-party utils, you can see if wizmo works https://www.grc.com/wizmo/wizmo.htm
    wizmo.exe monoff shake=0
    It will still turn on when you move the mouse, so just flip it or something.
     
  24. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    So far as I can tell its not keyboard, mouse, webcam, avast or malwarebytes. Is there a way to get wizmo to execute a command to imitate the monitor off time?
     
  25. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,207
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    a scheduled task maybe, I just call it when I need it.
     
  26. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,001
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Unplugging all USB devices is a simple way to test if they're the problem. Also, when you turn on the computer and it goes to the lock screen before logging in, does the monitor shut off on this screen? Mine usually does after a minute or two
     
  27. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I guess I could unplug everything, just a pita because I dont have any real access to the back of the computer but I will do it this weekend.

    It automatically logs in when booted.
     
  28. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,429
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Perhaps you'll find a Bill Gates shaped pixie back there yanking your USB cables. Who knows?
     
  29. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Lol. Just means I need to fight the dust bunnies that have collected back there to pull the cables and hope I put them back into the same spots when Im done.

    Im honestly surprised that figuring this one out is being such a pita.
     
  30. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Well disabling everything running in the background and disconnecting all extra devices are the first steps. Not that hard unless you make it.
     
  31. Chas

    Chas [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,881
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Well, upgraded to the 398.11 drivers.
    SCARED THE SHIT OUT OF ME.
    My middle monitor refused to recognize afterward.
    Popped the DP connector on both sides. Multiple reboots. No dice. Shitting pants.
    Finally pulled the power to the monitor and started up again. Success.

    And you know what else? IT FUCKING WORKED.
    I no longer have my screens randomly powering on overnight!
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  32. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    It gets harder to disconnect everything when you have 3" to do it in.
     
  33. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    lol theres so many jokes in there. ;) disconnect whatever you can from the back of the device, same thing. then deal with the rest the [[H]ard way.
     
  34. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Sigh. How could I have missed THAT?

    Well I have determined that its not going idle by creating a task to kick off wizmo monoff when it goes idle and that isnt happening.
     
  35. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed Gawd

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    One thing I like to do as a method of diagnosis in order to rule out a possible hardware issue is to boot of Ubuntu live media and see if the problem is still present. If it is than you know it's not Windows and you have a hardware issue.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
    pendragon1 and B00nie like this.
  36. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,949
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Try messing with the power states in the BIOS.
     
  37. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    That sounds like an awesome idea. Downloading the iso now.
     
    Mazzspeed and B00nie like this.
  38. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    And now I know that its not the hardware. Ubuntu live was able to turn the monitor off without any problems.
     
    Mazzspeed and pendragon1 like this.
  39. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    so now you need to find the device or task causing it. fun times ;)
     
  40. Ryland

    Ryland 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,741
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Yeah. And none of the utilities to find it are helping.