Microsoft Meltdown/Spectre Patch May Bork Athlon Systems

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by DooKey, Jan 8, 2018.

  1. DooKey

    DooKey [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    7,822
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Over at answers.microsoft.com there's a long thread where Athlon CPU users are experiencing issues with the Meltdown/Spectre patch. KB4056892 appears to prevent a boot of the system after the patch is installed. In some instances a complete reinstall fixes the issue, but the update will once again push out and you're back where you started. Beware Athlon users.

    I have older AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+, Asus MB, after installation of KB4056892 the system doesn't boot, it only shows the Windows logo without animation and nothing more. After several failed boots it do roll-back then it shows error 0x800f0845. Unfortunately, it seems it's not easy to disable the automatic updates without gpedit tweaks, so it tries installing and rolling-back the update over and over.
     
  2. Twisted Kidney

    Twisted Kidney 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,503
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
  3. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    um... maybe upgrade your computer?

    i miss 2007 too but come on 11 year old hardware.
     
    Gasaraki_ and Armenius like this.
  4. THRESHIN

    THRESHIN 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,929
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Those processors are still very usable for many people. Why should they be forced to buy new hardware for a botched MS patch?
     
    ZodaEX, F.E.A.R., SvenBent and 27 others like this.
  5. Dalexx

    Dalexx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Time to make it rain the papers! dolla dolla bills yall! Guess I need to alert my mom, she's running a system from 2009 (Intel). Gotta make sure all her cute dog and cat pictures are saved somewhere, sure hate to lose those treasures
     
    Grimlaking, cyclone3d and 86 5.0L like this.
  6. kaigame

    kaigame n00b

    Messages:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Don't be like that, my X58 X5650 is still doing me fine, it's almost 10 now :D
    ****It's about time i upgraded!!!****
     
  7. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    a 125w dual core in 2018?

    you can buy an ipad with more horsepower than that thing.

    that thing is still great. well worth it's own weight still.
     
    Armenius and stefan231 like this.
  8. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,846
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Still relevant when all you do is YouTube and email. Which most people use desktops for. Still those people using such old hardware probably still on xp or maybe Vista. So they not supported anyway.
     
    mynamehere, Revdarian and N4CR like this.
  9. nysmo

    nysmo Gawd

    Messages:
    945
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Why should Microsoft have to cater to the lowest common denominator? Fuck those systems, just because it runs doesnt mean it is entitled to remain compatible with modern software. System is EOL, time to upgrade, or dont patch it anymore.
     
  10. kaigame

    kaigame n00b

    Messages:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    I used to upgrade every year or so until i bought that system, still running nicely with a 980ti. Not the most up to date kit, but it still does me fine! :D
     
  11. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    you're doing better than that 6000+....
     
  12. elavanis

    elavanis n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Thats good in theory until you realize you have to patch it with windows 10.
     
  13. dargon

    dargon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    475
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Well that explains what happened to my media pc over the weekend.
     
  14. NeghVar

    NeghVar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,442
    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    It is that difficult for MS to configure the patch to detect an AMD CPU v. an Intel CPU? If it's an AMD, Windows should not include the patch? Is it really that difficult?

    Plus, there are plenty of reasons someone could still be using an Athlon. In fact, I created a surveillance video archive which uses an old Athlon 64 FX. CentOS with SSH and Samba services installed. It needs very little processing power for it's purpose.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
    F.E.A.R. and Revdarian like this.
  15. cjcox

    cjcox [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Only if we can use your backyard as a landfill. OK?
     
  16. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    There is a different patch for AMD systems I believe. On Microsoft's download center there is a different package for x64 (Intel) and AMD64 (AMD) for this KB.
     
  17. Jagger100

    Jagger100 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,420
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Athlon is still a current CPU line from AMD.
     
  18. RealBeast

    RealBeast Gawd

    Messages:
    648
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Yup, at least the borking W7 patch can be left until others do the mass beta testing. ;)
     
  19. MV75

    MV75 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,025
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    So......... how's that win10 forced updates working out? Oh this scenario would never happen. :p
     
  20. Azrak

    Azrak Gawd

    Messages:
    733
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    FlawleZ and Revdarian like this.
  21. NoOther

    NoOther [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,413
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    This is just Microsoft's way of gently reminding you that you should be using Linux. :D
     
    gigaxtreme1, Doward and Dudhunter like this.
  22. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    there is literally 1 athlon cpu in AMD's current line up.

    so you are technically correct.
     
    Doward likes this.
  23. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,002
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Have you tried browsing on an older dual core recently? It's painfully slow, especially for youtube. More complex pages with lots of active content takes long seconds to render.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  24. htpc_user

    htpc_user [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    But aren't the FM2+ x4 cpu's called Athlon, which would still be usable. I believe my AM1 Kabini cpu is an Athlon.
     
  25. trparky

    trparky Gawd

    Messages:
    975
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Those old AMD chips must be slow as a sloth stuck in molasses on a cold New York winter morning. How these people still have them I have no idea.
     
  26. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    all of those are EOL.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  27. Dalexx

    Dalexx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    I have to giggle that on a hardware\overclocking enthusiast forum, we're arguing the value of 10+ year old hardware
     
  28. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    some of them namely anything from intel Core ix series are still very relevant.

    except for P55 fuck that shit.
     
  29. Sulphademus

    Sulphademus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    The best kind of correct.
     
    Doward, Armenius, 86 5.0L and 2 others like this.
  30. I'm 99% positive the patch borked my ASUS AI Suite II. Did a complete uninstall and reinstall and still bombs on startup.
     
  31. Not that I'm disagreeing with you, But a cheap i3 or Ryzen 3 will consume a ton less power and be faster. It will pay for itself in electricity. if you use your computer a lot.

    And Microsoft made notes they are dropping older architecture support in the future.
     
    Armenius and Master_shake_ like this.
  32. Likely to serve as a replacement to failed systems that need vender validation which is a costly process for new architectures.
     
  33. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,954
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    It won't pay for itself in electricity unless you run it 24/7 for years. It will be faster though.
     
  34. I can build a cheap ryzen 3 system for < $300 with a good amount of memory provided you recycle your drives, PS, video and case

    Ryzen 3 1200 is 40 Watts under full load. That's compared to 100 Watts on a old Athlon comparatively.
    Kaby Lake Pentium G = 27 Watts. And because it has graphics you can ditch the graphics card. That would likely save you another 150 Watts+. So 177 Watts total

    60 Watts savings is 16 hours to save 12 cents.
    177 Watts savings is 5.7 hours to save 12 cents.

    $300 / $.12/kWh = 2500 kWh

    2500/.177 = 14,124 hours
    2500/.060 = 41,666 hours

    I concede you the point. Well stated.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2018
    SticKx911 likes this.
  35. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,228
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    an ipad is even easier.

    or any tablet for that matter.

    a fucking smart phone.
     
  36. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,954
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Not to mention, you'd have to run it at 100% load. I can't imagine it draws anywhere near 100W at idle. They did have CnQ back then.
     
    N4CR likes this.
  37. U-238

    U-238 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Microsoft just needs to adjust their minimum system requirements and do what games have been doing for a while now. Instead of saying "you need a 2.4Ghz Dual Core" they say they need an Intel Core i3 4130 or AMD FX-6300 or above. Then, when each "Feature Update" rolls around they publish an updated minimum spec. Those who no longer meet it don't get the upgrade and will continue to receive updates on their current build until it goes EOL at which point they'll either have to upgrade or run un-patched. May not be the most pleasant thing in the world but at some point we have to accept that technology is still accelerating at a ridiculous pace, even if the 11 year old Core2Duo or AthlonXP still "work", they are still 11 years old and it's time to put them to bed.

    (Now, what to do and how to recycle all of that old hardware is another subject entirely and one that seriously needs to be answered ASAP because, for all the hand-wringers there are out there about global warming, there's a far bigger storm on the horizon when these billions of tons of e-waste starts to rear it's ugly head.)
     
    THRESHIN likes this.
  38. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    I remember the day when all the enthusiast gamers in places like this were rocking Athlon 64s. The Core series came up. I got my first Q6600 system in 2007 and just wow. The performance jump from the Athlon 64 x2 whatever it was to the Q6600 was one of the biggest I've ever experienced.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  39. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,893
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    And that is why you buy used off of eBay for upgrading old as dirt systems. A C2Q q9400 can be had for $15 shipped. A C2S e8500 can be had for $7.50 shipped.

    Add a motherboard and some RAM and you are up to a whopping maybe $70 for a complete upgrade.

    Or you could always replace the whole system with say a Dell OptiPlex 790 with a second gen i5 for around $100.

    And it will be fast enough for years to come for what people are currently using their old as dirt systems for.

    That being said, I am into retro computing and have a ton of old hardware.. but I would never dream of putting Windows Vista, 7, 8/8.1 or 10 on anything that old. Completely pointless.
     
    WhoBeDaPlaya, Spartacus and kirbyrj like this.
  40. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,289
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    This morning my coworker just asked me to look at his computer. His wife says it's too slow and has problems. I, being a dumbass, said yes. I'm pretty sure it's an older AMD Athlon cpu of some kind. Shit.