M-Audio BX8 D2 static noise

Neutrino

Gawd
I was wondering if you guys can help with a small issue.

I just purchased a pair of M-Audio BX8 D2 studio monitors:

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=products.main&ID=d727dd8039249d22237dd18c45cf9c87

They sound really nice especially listening to the piano guys on you tube (really nice music - look them up). Do keep in mind I'm just an amateur in this area so my impressions are very subjective

My issue is that both speakers when turned on (with or without any audio cables plugged in) emit a very low hum.

You can start hearing it from about 10 inches and closer. The tweeter emits a hissing sound closer a static white noise and the woofer emits a low buzz.

The hum is identical on both monitors.

Again it is a very low noise that you have to get close to pick up and impossible to hear once any music is playing. After some Google searches is seems this might be an issue with this particular model and not power supply issue.

I would appreciate any advice: Is this something normal with speakers? Will it damage them in the long run? Should i just ignore it?

I think do have the option of taking them back to the store and getting some KRK, Adam, Fostex or some other studio monitor brand

If it happens without any audio cables plugged in, then that's a problem.

I have a pair of KRK Rokit 5's and they will hiss noticeably if hooked up via an unbalanced connection, but they are silent when hooked up properly. You have an audio interface or high end sound card that provides balanced audio, right? If not, you may as well live with the hissing.

What connections are you using?

If it happens without any audio cables plugged in, then that's a problem.