Long in the Tooth. Xeon X3350 @3.4, DDR2, 6990, Enough? Be Happy? etc?

cide_

Limp Gawd
Hey guys,

as a long-term oldschool 3DFX Voodoo1/2/3/4/5/TNT/GEFORCE builder, I have an appreciation for the longevity of today's machines.

I work as a professional IT services contractor and an IT/BA Analyst, and since I have yet to get a morgage, a wife, or a child... I have money to spend on myself for christmas.

I already have a tweeked-to-the-max Xeon 3350 (Think QX9450)-based machine, with 8GB of Corsair Dom 1066 DDR2 running at 5-5-5-15 and very low overall timings tweaked for 9GB/sec memory bandwidth. Processor is 2.66 quad core stock, but its running at 3400 with a 1700 bus and tight northbridge timings.

Machine has 2x Raptor 300GB in RAID0, Asus essence xonar STX for ATH-W5000 (had to brag... sorry, its amazing, have a listen friend...), XFX Radeon 6990 @ 925MHZ GPU, 1400(x4)MHZ Memory overclock, a promise VTRAK raid, a bunch of other useful stuff. Its basically rock solid and runs no matter what, its a bit noisy but I'm planning on moving it into another room since 50FT Displayport cables for my Dell U2711 are quality and make such a setup feasible, along with active USB extension cables, etc. (Personal bedroom shared with computer, not good)

Machine does everything I need it to well enough, and is still above average for audio production. I play Skyrim at 1440P, Ultra, 4X AA, and it is smooth. Same with BF3 at Ultra, 2560x1440, is very playable.

I am very tempted to go with a 2500/2600k, with Sandy Bridge, overclock the hell out of with 12GB ram... sell my 6990 to a bitcoiner and wait for a 7970, etc. are some of my options, or wait until next Ivy or after ivy platform...

But this is working well for me now?¿, I'm torn what to do, where to spend my money.

Any suggestions, my beloved community of awesome human beings into the awesome art of computation?

Edit:

P8350 3DMARK 2011 Latest
X3149 " " " " " " " " " "

Last edited: