Logon entire computer lab remotely

Terillius

Gawd
I work in a school district and the younger kids have serious issues with remembering their passwords so we have one generic login for everyone under 3rd grade. Is there a way to cause the entire lab to logon with a batch file or something that can be run from the lab manager's machine? I considered auto login, but that would allow everyone access to the machine without credentials, not acceptable.

To simplify, 30 computers have to be logged on everyday in the morning and it is quite a pain for one person to do it sometimes twice a day.

Would something along the line of this software work for ya:

http://www.rebootex.com/

RebootEx is a system utility for Windows NT, W2K, XP operating systems that allows to automatically shutdown, reboot and/or relogon to your computer. The program provides the following key features: ability to reboot, shutdown, shutdown & power off the computer, log off the current user, schedule logon after reboot, shutdown remote computer on your network and schedule a computer auto shutdown at a specific time. A number of additional command line options makes it a highly efficient and secure tool.

Sounds like that will do everything except what I need it to do - log on when the computer is just sitting there.

Someone just told me that what I want to do is impossible simply because to allow it would be a huge security risk or something along those lines.

I run a lab of 24 comps , 12 are win2k , 11 thin-clients and one Fedora Core 4 K12-ltsp of which is a file and printer server for the lab as well ... all of this is behind a smoothwall box with dansguardian with clam av and other mods to keep lab buttoned up or heavily filtered if I allow certain comps out to internet ...