Linux, Q6600 - one client? two clients?

bassman

[H]ard|Gawd
I fired up one smp instance on my quad and noticed it only used 50% of each CPU. Does it make sense to run two instances? Any tricks/tips? Any drawbacks?

Excellent question. Alan, Xilikon and a few others could give you an excellent answer. Too bad I have no Linux experience to tell you myself. :(

I fired up one smp instance on my quad and noticed it only used 50% of each CPU. Does it make sense to run two instances? Any tricks/tips? Any drawbacks?

Did you use the -SMP flag. Without that on my dual core it doesn't max things out (Ubuntu 8.04).

While I have experience with Linux folding, I never tried running 2 SMP together because I'm running VMWare so each instance get 1 SMP client and each box get 2 VM instances to maximize the production.

I dunno if there is a issue with corruption when you shutdown one of the two SMP instances so I'll let someone else like SmokeRngs comment on it.

Still waiting for my first quad, so I'm not speaking from experience, instead from what I've read here and at other teams forums.

From what I've seen so far, 2 SMP clients is the way to go on Linux as well. However, this is assuming that you have enough memory to run two, and with bigger and bigger units, thats not a given anymore. Also, if this box is your daily driver, two clients will be more noticeable.

And the corruption issue when you shutdown one of the clients doesn't seem to be an issue on linux.

Did you use the -SMP flag. Without that on my dual core it doesn't max things out (Ubuntu 8.04).

Yup. I get roughy 50% usage on all 4 cores according to top.

For the hell of it I fired up another SMP instance. Usage was around 85% on every core, so I shut it down to do some research and thinking.

Now, after a couple hours, I noticed the single instance is using 50% of three cores and 90% of the fourth. Seems odd to me.

Xilikon said: