Is the GPU dead? ASUS DUAL-RTX3070-O8G

Status
Not open for further replies.

igl00jx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
1,385
Brother purchased a Cyberpower PC from Best Buy with an Asus DUAL-RTX3070-O8G back in Feb. (I7-10700K, Asrock Z790a 2.5/4, latest non-beta BIOS)
Received multiple texts from him stating his RE Village performance was atrocious and choppy last week. Went over, come to find out he's had his HDMI cable attached to the internal adapter this whole time (explaining the shitty performance).
When setting up the PC, I recall checking the GPU and ensuring it worked. DP cable plugged in, checked device mgr and dxdiag, and ran a few benchmarks confirming a working GPU.

No idea when he began plugging into the iGPU and for how long.

Plugged in multiple cables (HDMI, DP) with no output to the displays. Device mgr was only able to pull the GPU when toggling hidden devices. Now it doesn't show in device mgr.
Tried the 3070 in an older machine without luck either. Put in a 970 in the Cyberpower PC and it sees it fine while playing the game halfway decently.

Card doesn't output any images, isn't seen in BIOS or Windows or other machine, but the LED comes on as well as it seeming to get power from the motherboard. Is the card toast?
How is RMA through Cyberpower when not a direct purchase through them? I see that they have an RMA process just for replacing the cards, but appears for only direct. I did send an inquiry, so hoping to find out if they can. Wanting to see if anyone has had firsthand experience here as reviews on the net goes both ways (either really happy, or ones swearing off the company).

TIA
 

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
2,041
Looks dead. Since still in warranty and due to cost/availability of new, its best to use said warranty and not give the seller/manufacturer a reason to deny your claim by tinkering with it further, especially since you mentioned you tested it when it was new.
 

RazorWind

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 11, 2001
Messages
3,969
I agree with mda. From your description, it sounds like you have a power rail on the graphics card that isn't running for some reason. If the card were out of warranty, I'd be telling you to pull the heatsink off and get out a multimeter, but since it is, contacting tech support is the clear answer here. I'm generally of the opinion that you should give the vendor the chance to fix the problem before concluding that they'll be a pain in the ass.

The only thing I can think of maybe trying first is to make sure that this isn't some sort of UEFI/legacy bios compatibility problem. I wouldn't think that should be a problem on a completely new machine, but you never know.
 

igl00jx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
1,385
Sent email Sunday with no reply. Called and set up an RMA after waiting 10 minutes on hold. 2 options with the GPU RMA, ship to them, they determine defective card, and ship back new card. Or they'll ship out a new card and put a hold on CC, with release once they receive the bad card.
Choosing option 1. I'll update once all is clear.
Thanks all.
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
473
Did you try putting it in the microwave?
Why? RazorWind said it looks like power rail isn't running. Hmm, I wonder if micro waves might charge it up and it starts receiving power, and boot up? How do you run cables with door closed on the microwave?
 

igl00jx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
1,385
Did you try putting it in the microwave?
Yes. Put it along with the blue taco, but it blew up the sour citrus fruits within the vicinity. There were two female colleagues that were able to assist with one cup. We made it an entertaining engagement and sent the GPU to Cyberpower for replacement.
Google "lemon party" and "two girls one cup" to learn more about my merry escapade.

#loverstheme
 

igl00jx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
1,385
Received the replacement. Same exact model. Brother didn't receive the original packaging of the card. Card did come packed in the original styrofoam. Based on date of card, they've had it in stock since Jan. Anyways, installed it, plugged the HDMI cable and booted it up. Saw BIOS post and went into Windows. Installed drivers, checked device manager and system saw the card. Booted up RE Village and maxed it out. Good to go!
Cyberpower stood behind their product and delivered on the replacement as stated in a timely manner. Thanks all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top