Interview With Doug Dodson, President & Founder Of PC Power & Cooling

Technically Speaking

An Interview With Doug Dodson, President & Founder Of PC Power & Cooling

What's Cooking
Computer Power User
September 2005 • Vol.5 Issue 9
Page(s) 103-104 in print issue

Of all the components that are in a PC, power supplies have probably been the most ignored. But from Extreme Edition CPUs to SLI graphics, the power requirements of enthusiast systems in particular have recently skyrocketed. We cornered Doug Dodson, the president and founder of PC Power & Cooling, the only American power supply manufacturer and arguably the finest maker in the world, to explain some of the inside tricks of his trade and what PSU buyers should really know before buying.

by William Van Winkle
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPU: Of all things, how did you get into PC power supplies?

Dodson: I was an electronic hobbyist since I was a kid, and my background was in economics and commodity trading. I had one of the first XT computers. The computer was extremely noisy, so I created a special large-diameter cooling fan to take the place of the small fan that was inside of it and just did it for myself to reduce noise. Then people came and saw it. They wanted one, and one thing led to another. So I started making these things in my garage in 1985. Then I realized that the entire power supply needed to be redesigned because it was just poorly designed by IBM in the early days. The fan would cavitate. There was no real airflow coming out, so you had a ton of noise and no cooling. We started developing power supplies that were both quieter and cooler than the stock XT power supplies and we started getting customers for both attributes.

CPU: How could people perceive a difference in power quality back then?