Internet Filtering Appliances

We are looking to replace our aging iPrism and was looking at a few other solutions one being from Ironport and the S350 appliance. However I'm having some trouble finding much of a selection, I'm fairly new to the whole 'web filtering appliances' arena and the iPrism is the only one we've had in house.

My question is what are you using to monitor & filter websites for your users and how many users are you monitoring? I want to get an idea on other solutions I might have missed in my research.

One that I've setup for customers is Untangle. Low cost and very easy to configure.

Well, I don't have too much experience in this area really, but I've heard nothing but good things about Squid. Take a look into that, its very customizable.

Sonicwall is another option, but keep in mind there is an annual renewal for the filtering programs.

Using Untangle more and more myself...love it so far.
www.untangle.com
Run yourself through the Live GUI demo they have..so you navigate through the entire web admin demo.

do you just use the community edition? or do you buy the commercial edition so you get proper support and ad integration etc?

So far community....building confidence with a few clients before I go widespread....been approached to become a reseller for them.

sounds like a great way to get in on a new product!

i have to say, you are an inspiration to me - i would *love* to be in a situation like you, being my own boss, having a varied job etc. i hope myself to one day break away from the 'corporate machine'...!

edit: sorry for taking the thread a little o/t!

Smoothwall Express 3.0 with various mods depending on what I need a particular smoothie box to do

http://community.smoothwall.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=26

Great community support , easy instructions ..and very customizable