Identifying Tower Heatsink?

FuzLutz

n00b
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
2
I'm trying to identify the brand and/or model of this heatsink. It was on an 1156 motherboard, at least 8 years old.
Thanks
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20210310_095751910.jpg
    PXL_20210310_095751910.jpg
    524.9 KB · Views: 0
  • PXL_20210310_095942287.jpg
    PXL_20210310_095942287.jpg
    308.2 KB · Views: 0

Okatis

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
90
Did a reverse image search on Yandex for the second image and it's a 'Super Mega' by Prolimatech.
 

waderunner

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,109
That second photo makes it look like it might become a Transformer any second :) Nice looking heatsink.
 

FuzLutz

n00b
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
2
Awesome. Much appreciated Okatis. It's actually the Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B, the predecessor of the 'Super Mega'. I'm going to rig up an adapter to put it on my AM4, since the manufacturer doesn't make one. It'd be a shame to throw it out.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
213
Awesome. Much appreciated Okatis. It's actually the Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B, the predecessor of the 'Super Mega'. I'm going to rig up an adapter to put it on my AM4, since the manufacturer doesn't make one. It'd be a shame to throw it out.
Do you just have the sink? Do you have any other components? Those guys used to work for Thermalright, and it almost looks like Thermalright's Bolt Though Kit might work for you. They are on Amazon. If anything it will give you everything you need to mount it. Not sure about the top clamp though, it might work or you might have to do some quick sheet metal work and form a top clamp real quick.
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,046
It would be interesting to see how that can cool a more modern CPU. I don't have the tools or skills to rig up a mounting system for my old Thermalright TRUE 120 that has been cooling a Q6600 for the last 12 or so years but I'd love to see how it would do.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
213
It would be interesting to see how that can cool a more modern CPU. I don't have the tools or skills to rig up a mounting system for my old Thermalright TRUE 120 that has been cooling a Q6600 for the last 12 or so years but I'd love to see how it would do.
It would be. You can order the Bolt Though Kit from Amazon for like 12 bucks.. comes with everything you need to mount your TRUE to a modern CPU. I considered mounting mine up too, but I own TS140P and LGMRT so TRUE is not really needed.. but I wont sell it..
 

Grebuloner

Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
967
It would be. You can order the Bolt Though Kit from Amazon for like 12 bucks.. comes with everything you need to mount your TRUE to a modern CPU. I considered mounting mine up too, but I own TS140P and LGMRT so TRUE is not really needed.. but I wont sell it..
Got a link for the kit? Amazon shows not available.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
213
Dang! I have a TRUE on an X58 I just retired and I want to move it to the X99 I replaced it with.
I know! I bought mine in December.. I looked last month I think and it was still there. Nan's has very little stock left it seems. Maybe we wont be getting anymore TR stuff? Bummer.
 

doyll

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
1,356
Prolimetech website shows 5 Megahelm coolers, sadly no AM4 mounts.

Thermalright still sells updated mount for their thick base coolers. The ones with angled top and bottom edges like on orginal Silver Arrow, TRUE Spirit 140 Power, HR-22, Ultra, Ultima, Venemous, etc.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
213
Prolimetech website shows 5 Megahelm coolers, sadly no AM4 mounts.

Thermalright still sells updated mount for their thick base coolers. The ones with angled top and bottom edges like on orginal Silver Arrow, TRUE Spirit 140 Power, HR-22, Ultra, Ultima, Venemous, etc.
Sadly, the BTK no longer appears on Amazon.com anymore :(

But! The TL-D14X is lol. and the matching little guy..
 

Nobu

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
5,851
Prolimetech website shows 5 Megahelm coolers, sadly no AM4 mounts.

Thermalright still sells updated mount for their thick base coolers. The ones with angled top and bottom edges like on orginal Silver Arrow, TRUE Spirit 140 Power, HR-22, Ultra, Ultima, Venemous, etc.
Fm2/am2/am3 clip style should work fine on am4 if your mb has the hardware for it (most do). It's only the through-hole type mounts which are incompatible.

I want to say the megahalems rev.c has the clip style mounting hardware, but I'd have to look at the documentation.

quietpcusa has stock of the megahalems cooler itself, btw, if anyone wants one. Was looking through their inventory a day or so before this thread popped up and saw it. Was surprised it was still being sold, tbh.
 

doyll

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
1,356
Fm2/am2/am3 clip style should work fine on am4 if your mb has the hardware for it (most do). It's only the through-hole type mounts which are incompatible.

I want to say the megahalems rev.c has the clip style mounting hardware, but I'd have to look at the documentation.

quietpcusa has stock of the megahalems cooler itself, btw, if anyone wants one. Was looking through their inventory a day or so before this thread popped up and saw it. Was surprised it was still being sold, tbh.
Not true.
FM2, FM3, AM2, AM3 mounting hole spacing in motherboard is 48 x 96 mm.
AM4 mounting hole spacing is 54.18 90 mm.

Look at image below and you will see new mount with older FM1, FM2, AM2, AM3 black mounting holes are not the same spacing as new AM4 mounting bracket red holes. Most new mount have both sets of holes. ;)

Megahelms Rev. C uses crossbar mount for Intel and AMD up to but not including AM4.
 

Attachments

  • AM4 vs AM3 better.png
    AM4 vs AM3 better.png
    22.3 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Nobu

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
5,851
Not true.
FM2, FM3, AM2, AM3 mounting hole spacing in motherboard is 48 x 96 mm.
AM4 mounting hole spacing is 54.18 90 mm.

Look at image below and you will see new mount with older FM1, FM2, AM2, AM3 black mounting holes are not the same spacing as new AM4 mounting bracket red holes. Most new mount have both sets of holes. ;)

Megahelms Rev. C uses crossbar mount for Intel and AMD up to but not including AM4.
Why wouldn't it use the crossbar for AM4? The mechanism is exactly the same as on AM3. The only difference is the hole spacing.
 

doyll

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
1,356
Why wouldn't it use the crossbar for AM4? The mechanism is exactly the same as on AM3. The only difference is the hole spacing.
Sorry, I missunderstood. I don't know if crossbar is same or not.

Problem I see is if users has AM4 system and AM3 cooler they do not have AM4 hole spacing on mount to attach to motherobard.
 

Geezer000

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
Messages
172
Crossbar is the same IF you still have it. if you have the stock crossbar mount for the motherboard as well as for the heatsink then it will fit perfect.
 

Nobu

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
5,851
I used the bar from an old AMD stock heatsink on an Arctic hsf, worked fine. Although I did have to fight to get it in place since it was one piece instead of two, and the gap under the fin stack was pretty small.
 
Top