Summary:

i7 920 CPU
P6T x58 Mobo
1600mhz 3gig RAM
Nvidia GTX 260 core 216
Velociraptor 300gig HDD
Antec 1200 Case
650Watt PSU

I have never put a system together, so I had a friend help me out and we whipped it out in a couple of hours. I started running some benchmarks on it, and I'm a bit disappointed with the results.

3DMark Vantage gives me an overall performance score of around P11000-12000.
GPU ~ 10000
CPU ~ 17000 (Physx off), 40000 (physx on, doesn't affect overall score much)

The thing that hurts the most is FSX performance. The reason I put this computer together was to run FSX smoothly... When I load a big city aiport (ex: dallas-ft worth intl), on all settings maxed out, the frame rates dips below 10fps :( After doing a little internet research, I know I should be cranking out much better FSX performance on this system! The performance does increase dramatically in a non-busy situation, up to 70+ fps but this is to be expected.

I'm not very experienced with computer tinkering, and nothing is OC'ed except for the memory - which is set to run at its advertised speed (1600mhz). I'm running at this speed by using one of the pre-defined bios memory profiles.

Someone please help me in troubleshooting the slow performance of my system! Where should I start? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Try running another game and see what you get. Does FSX support multi-core? Is HT on?

The video card came w/ Far Cry 2. I can run that on ultra settings no problem. I'm not sure how graphics intensive FC2 is, tho. Would manually imputing the RAM timings help w/ anything? BIOS posts the RAM at 1600mhz, so I don't know if there would be any point to it...

fsx is not the best game to demo your new box. As suggested - try something else. turn off HT.

1600mhz 3gig RAM

THIS is the issue
at airports with every thing cranked its going to eat a TON of ram
the fix is get 6GB of ram and a 64bit OS