I failed the A+

Gabe3

2[H]4U
I took the essentials and technician today. Technician I took first with a passing score of 740 (700 needed to pass). Then I took a 20 minute break outside and had lunch, came back in and took the essentials with a failing score of 655 (675 needed to pass).

Kinda pissed, spent $145 on one voucher and now I need another to re-take. Thats $431 total if I can pass the essentials if I decide to take it.

I've heard they've started to make the A+ harder. I know when I took it; it was really easy. Sucks to lose that money though. What did you use to study?

Any idea what you messed up on?

Btw the A+ is pretty much useless if you have comparable experience.

I studied the essentials stuff a bit but I couldn't get it to stick in my head, a lot of the questions are networking things and navigating through menus in windows XP which I no longer use since vista came out.

Don't let it stop you....get up, wipe the dirt off of your butt..and go take it again. Repeat if necessary until you pass..then move into the next course.

I disagree about A+ being useless, IMO it's the beginning of building blocks for an education in this field. A good foundation to build your education on. Gotta start with the basics.

In the years in the IT field...I can always pickout what I call the "paper cert" guys. Meaning, those who didn't really have any background in the field, the obviously didn't take classes and pass tests in traditional building block order..they just skipped and went for that fancy MSCE certification...."crammed" for the test at brain dump sites. When you put a network card in their hand and tell them to install it manually with a specific version of drivers....they look at you like a deer caught in headlights...totally as useless as tits on a nun.

Don't let it stop you....get up, wipe the dirt off of your butt..and go take it again. Repeat if necessary until you pass..then move into the next course.