How did you become a computer geek?

AlexStenka

[H]ard|Gawd
I got in to computers after I started to play games on my liitle 1Ghz hp with 128mb ram and then I just needed a new computer so I ended up building one but I was gone get a dell what a bad thing that would of been to do :D

i started playing with computers after seeing one of my mothers friends computers (Heavy laptop the size of a full tower with a green screen)

my first computer was an 8088 or 8086 with 1mb of ram and 256k video card and used a 14" color TV as a monitor. Adlib sound card and a 10mb hard drive and 2 5 1/4 floppy drives. Tetris was my first game then i got arkanoid.

ohh...i overclocked it from 8mhz to 12mhz by changing the clock IC

It started when I was in 6th grade (circa 1981)...we had a 2 hour class on computers...Commodore PET's with a whopping 16k of ram and a built in casette drive. I was hooked. Took every computer class I could through high school, even played Zork on an Apple ][, those were teh days. Been my passion ever since :)

Microsoft invented Windows 95. :D

Although I had owned a computer for over ten years before Win95's release, I wasn't really an enthusiast, but I nosedived Win95 so damned many times that I finally learned it inside and out, and went from there. I learned how to format a hard drive from a Gateway tech over the phone at 3:00AM one morning. No kidding.

A side effect is that I also learned to never trust Microsoft to get it right. Some things you have to do yourself.

i lost all hope of having a sucessful social life and this seemed like the logical progression ;)

i kid i kid

I started when I moved to North Carolina. My next door neighbor and his dad were always building and playing on computers. He let me play the original Tribes on his computer. Been hooked ever since. To this day I still play that game, plus many others, but that was the game that started it for me. Now I build them, play them, and network them. Thats how I got started.