HDMI 0-255 range output options???

Discussion in 'Displays' started by giant22000, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. giant22000

    giant22000 n00b

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    I’m bit confused on where to post this. Here’s the deal. I just bought a Dell S2440L. Hooked it up to my integrated graphics via HDMI on my DH67BL MoBo. I bought this monitor because it’s supposed to have good black levels and deep contrasts. I got it home, hooked it up and used the calibration settings from tft central. Immediately I noticed that it looked sort of washed out. So I logged on here to HF and discovered that some of the Nvidia cards have an issue with this on HDMI out and a quick fix is to set the card to YCbCr and this will fix the washed out issue.

    Well I’m using the integrated graphics on my DH67BL with an I5-2400 (I believe it’s Intel HD Graphics 2000). Even though I’m not using an Nvidia card I thought I’d try the Nvidia trick anyhow. Success! Immediately I noticed the black levels and contrast look much better!

    Upon further reading, from my understanding by using YCbCr is that I’m limiting my color range to 16-235 rather than 0-255. I’m not finding any way around this.
    So, with all that said, is my only option to be able to achieve RGB 0-255 color range via HDMI output to look for a different video card? Thanks for any help, but video cards/graphics are not one of my strong points and I’m kind of learning as I go along.
     
  2. Medion

    Medion [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,584
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    It's an Nvidia driver problem, and YCbCr does not fix the problem. It simply sets it to 16-235 output and tells the monitor to only take 16-235 output. This gets rid of the wash out issue, but narrows your black level range. You want 0-255 from the GPU and monitor, giving you full range. There's a utility to do this. I'll update with link later after I dig it up (might just add it to my signature).

    Intel HD graphics has the same problem as Nvidia, only I have not been able to find a solution for it (and to be honest, I haven't delved too deeply as I don't use their product). I'd recommend using RGB instead of YCbCr. From there, go to your monitor and look for the HDMI Black Level (or just black levels) option. It should default to full-range/high/0-255. You'll want to set it to limited-range/low/16-235. Not ideal, but it will match your GPU output without dealing with the supposed YCbCr tradeoffs.

    EDIT:

    Thread - http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1729604
    Utility (for NV, not Intel) - http://blog.metaclassofnil.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/NV_RGBFullRangeToggle.zip
     
  3. giant22000

    giant22000 n00b

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Thanks for the clarification on this. I've always used integrated graphics as I'm not a gamer and haven't needed the additional gpu power, but i'm finding myself spending a lot of time here reading up on it and find it very addicting! Especially the triple monitor landscape productivity setups!

    hmmm... Since this appears to be an HDMI problem, I'm wondering if it might be better to just get a dvi to hdmi adapter and avoid the hdmi output altogether.
     
  4. Namelessme

    Namelessme [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,161
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    I've wondered about the DVI adapter as a solution too. But since the final input to the monitor will still be hdmi, maybe the PC will still read it as being hdmi/TV? I don't know if it's the hdmi output that makes the video card think it's a tv, but the hdmi input on the monitor itself.

    It's easy enough to get a DVI to HDMI adapter/cable, but not sure if that will necessarily do anything. Anyone try it yet? And this may be one odd situation where using VGA instead of HDMI may result in a better picture.

    Have you tried playing around with a custom resolution? I have read somewhere that perhaps could work.

    The HDMI issue may explain why the Dell S2440L's colors looked quite washed out when I saw one in the store. And also why I read on a mac mini site how several users weren't impressed with the Dell S2440L, and how the Dell IPS 23"er provided a much better picture to them. It is sort of weird how monitor makers stick HDMI inputs on monitors for PCs, seeing as not all drivers support it so well.
     
  5. giant22000

    giant22000 n00b

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    lol, yes I did try to play around with a custom resolution (1920X1080 / 8bit / 60hz p) and somehow that resulted into a state the monitor was unable to display.... I may try again.

    The Dell S2440L is the monitor I have. I have no doubt the hdmi issue causing the washed out look is what was causing some folks to be less than impressed with this monitor. Like I said before, when I changed my settings on my video card to YCbCr, the picture turned from so so, to stunning!

    I was told in post #2 of this thread to go back to RGB on the video card and with the monitor's OSD to change the range from 0-255 to 16-235 to match the video card's hdmi range and this would also avoid the washed out look. I'm at work right now so I can't check for myself, but I don't remember anywhere in the OSD of the Dell S2440L an option to change the range from 0-255 to 16-235. Can this be done on the S2440L? Thanks.
     
  6. livefastdieyoung

    livefastdieyoung Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    307
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    intel's drivers are a mess when it comes to dealing with hdmi displays being driven at standard hdtv resolutions, i.e. 1920x1080x60, 1280x720x60, etc. it automatically assumes these displays are hdtv's with limited input range and outputs 16-235.

    when i ran into this problem a while back, a dvi to hdmi adapter did not work, but creating a custom resolution did. so try a bunch of different resolutions, including playing around with the refresh rate (e.g. 58-62hz) and vertical resolution (e.g. 1079 instead of 1080). you might hit a combination that will trick the driver into thinking the hdmi display is a monitor rather than a tv and make it output full range.

    you can also try disabling ddc/ci in the monitor but i don't know if that will work.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
  7. giant22000

    giant22000 n00b

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    lol, already ordered a 6ft dvi to hdmi cable from monoprice. I think at this point I'm giving up on Intel Graphics. Also, any custom resolution results in an unusable signal for the monitor. The monitor displays something about the timing being out of whack... Who knows... I'd imagine probably driver related.

    After reading into this forum, I've convinced myself that I can't live without a triple monitor LLL setup. Especially after seeing some of the setups that are stickied at the top. The cable I bought I'll be able to use in the LLL setup. Off to research video cards now! Thanks for everyone's help!
     
  8. giant22000

    giant22000 n00b

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    I just want to update this thread for future people looking for a solution to this issue that have Intel HD Graphics. I've found a work around that a member here at HF posted in the Dell S Series thread. Here's what was posted and it can be found here: