GPU bus interface question

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Soulstorm brew, May 19, 2019.

  1. Soulstorm brew

    Soulstorm brew n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Hi all.

    I recently moved my graphics card to the second slot for better ventilation.
    GPUZ is reading that my bus interface is running @ x4 1.1 instead of x16 3.0

    [​IMG]
    9YBv8UYhxJlqiaGzlTQYOdBEYEhFhP75ePCE-XbtvV7MMM74X4K-OlSDGyAJDuHT6CzheNlfFJHPhj3WbL8=w630-h695-no.jpg

    is this a problem , I still seem to be getting descent frames.
     
  2. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,182
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Depends on the card and the game. But if GPUz is right, you're now getting 1/16th the bandwidth to the card. That'll be noticeable for anything that really needs it.
     
    Soulstorm brew likes this.
  3. RazorWind

    RazorWind 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,284
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Click the little question mark next to the bus interface reading, and see if it goes up. Modern graphics cards will adjust their bus speed on the fly to save power. I don't think they adjust the number of lanes, though, so it may only run at 4X speed.

    In most games, you may not notice with a 1060 if the board is capable of 3.0 speed on that slot. I'd just put the card in the main slot, though, unless there's a really compelling reason not to.
     
    Soulstorm brew and pendragon1 like this.
  4. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,956
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  5. Soulstorm brew

    Soulstorm brew n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Thanks for the reply.

    I´m using a 1060 6gig kfa2 white OC

    on an Asrock b250m pro4 board , https://www.asrock.com/MB/Intel/B250M Pro4/index.asp
    playing prey and wolfenstein .

    I upgraded from a 1050ti which was running in the top PCIe slot at x16 1.1

    at6aOdiZIyV3mPgHFH49B2nvd2qkapT9-5nAlbbRsXCdWf7NTNE-khIdbL5433_MO0aMOgJi-ef573JEfkA=w317-h220-no.jpg
    My problem was not only ventilation but the card was bigger than the 1050ti and was tight against the psu (front mounted ) cm 360 elite case.
    So I dropped it down to the second slot, I thought it would run at the same speeds.
     
  6. Soulstorm brew

    Soulstorm brew n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019

    ah ok , clicked it and it went up to x4 3.0
    does it matter that it´s not x 16 ?

    ps thanks for the help all.
     
  7. RazorWind

    RazorWind 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,284
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    You'd have to do some benchmarking to say for sure. My guess is that at 4X, there probably are cases in some games where it would matter, although consensus seems to be that most games don't show a difference between 8x and 16x, even with high end cards.

    Will the 1060 fit in the 16x slot at all?
     
    Soulstorm brew likes this.
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,956
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    if its running a 3.0 x4 you might loose a couple fps, usually nothing youd notice unless looking for it.
     
    Soulstorm brew likes this.
  9. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,975
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    You are likely leaving some performance on the table. x4 3.0 is roughly equivalent to x8 2.0 and x16 1.1.

    You could always temporarily move the card back and run some benchmarks to compare. That's probably the only way to know for sure.
     
    Soulstorm brew and pendragon1 like this.
  10. Soulstorm brew

    Soulstorm brew n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    It´s too tight in there, it butts up hard against the psu as it´s front mounted, I´ll upload a photo when I get a chance.

    Ok I won´t look for it :D

    As I was saying , it´s tight in there, I´m thinking of moving to ryzen soon and I´ll probably look at a different case , and a matx board that has the PCIe not too close to the CPU cooler or the psu, I like to try and leave room around the components, it´s coming up to summer here and it gets to 40c + (105+ f ) no ac. :cry:
     
  11. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,975
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    If it fits in the the top slot I wouldn't worry about it being snug, it wont hurt anything. A pic may help, I run a CM 360 for my home server and can't picture how having the card in one slot would give any more room than the other. Are the PSU cables in the way? You may try just rotating the PSU if so. You wouldn't be taking advantage of the side panel vents but may benefit some from pulling more hot air out of the case.
     
  12. Soulstorm brew

    Soulstorm brew n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    This is when I had the 1050ti, you can see it does´nt block the cpu fan as it was a lp version, and shorter than the 1060.



    j4cSPqVhCj_d2cBrOS8C36gmVhWY4zSprdu59ioowiJWVxy8YlUUVDqnsKMb7q-ELXhElgyDD_Uosq3U0Q=w1059-h597-no.jpg




    This is my setup now , if I raise it, I will almost be cutting airflow to the cpu cooler , I faced it upwards as there´s a 120mm extract at the top


    wlzFn2tf0huNjK2tGpjf2aHfO7PqsWs0F0hy8s3BNaCPs1vb0CV2BIW2p8G9Cb2sTRjYqNCN-gtNDb2Py8=w1059-h597-no.jpg



    Here you can better see how the 24 pin cable from the psu is restricting the gpu, and gives you a closer look at the little space I have between the cpu cooler and backplate if I were to move up to the first slot.

    egvEZkzTosjNc_RUZrwiQIMCp_I2rdRL4mvjzf8artZ4DKtuMmTJMUcpFNaCshttL2MB1tBS95YMxBqwZk=w1059-h597-no.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2019
  13. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,182
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    None of your links are working either. You can embed the pictures directly into your post by dragging them into the reply box.
     
    Soulstorm brew and AceGoober like this.
  14. Soulstorm brew

    Soulstorm brew n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Thanks, I could´nt drag them either , found the only way was to copy and paste .
     
  15. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,380
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    I see no issue there.. with a Little help of better cable management and routing, everything should be just fine regarding both the PSU and the Fan, in any case it Will be just better if you just swap the fan to a pull position above the cooler instead of push below the cooler as even with the GPU in the lower PCI-E Slot, the fan Will eat all that hot air making it pass through the CPU cooler, turning it into pull above the cooler Will reduce this effect. but for sure I would try to set the GPU in the first PCI-E slot as running x4 it's a noticeable performance drop maybe not only in numbers but in game "feeling" and smoothness are another story.

    to add a bit of anecdotal story when I had an old GTX 780 I tried to run in a mATX case with a x4 riser, the performance drop was VERY noticeable, in some games 5fps - 10fps but in others it was toward the 20fps drop with terrible frametimes and when you are struggling to keep FPS above 60 it's really noticeable so definitively i would try to keep in the first PCI-E slot.
     
  16. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,975
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    If you are happy with performance then I guess there is nothing to worry about.

    I personally would rotate the heatsink 90 degrees with it venting out the holes in back then put the card in slot1 (if that fan clears your RAM). IIRC the 120 on the top of that case is centered so the current config isn't blowing straight out anyways?
     
  17. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,606
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    You've got PLENTY of room there to put it in the main slot!

    It'd also help take heat away from the GPU, making it run cooler and clock higher as a result. Whereas a slighter hotter CPU won't make any difference.

    And note that most motherboards limit the 2nd PCI express slot to x8
     
  18. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,956
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yeah now that you posted pics, rotate your hsf and move you gpu back up.