Got my special L5640 CPU

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
Well got my L5640 yesterday and popped it into my Asus P6T with no problems. The best I can do is 3.6 stable but it needs a little over 1.4v. I'm not a great overclocker so im not sure what settings I can use for a better overclock. I don't know if I should keep this or go back to my I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz?
 

zero2dash

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
6,087
1.4 Vcc or Vtt?
Vcore it's probably ok, not sure 100% on the 32nm voltage spec though TBH with you.

To answer your question - you may have less mhz but you're gaining 2 cores and 4 threads with the L5640....I'd stick with it. You're still gaining a lot more power even though the mhz is less.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
You need bclk, and lots of it. turn your multiplier down to the lowest setting (should be 12) and see how high you can go with bclk. you should be able to get to 210 or 215 relatively easily. The thing about these L5640 chips is that you don't have the "brute force" approach of using a 21x multiplier available, so you need to be able to run at a very high bclk. If you can get 210 bclk, that will be just short of 3.8 GHz, and I would consider that a great overclock for a 2.27 GHz chip. 3.6 ain't bad either, for what it is worth.

The other thing to make sure of is that you have speedstep and turbo on. The max multiplier on these chips will probably read as 17, but turbo does work on them.

Even at 3.6 GHz, that thing will blow the doors off of your I7 920 @ 4.2 GHz. Temps tend to be easier to control with them, even at 1.4+V Vcore.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
The -bigadv client scales quite well so this is simple:

i7 16.8 total MHz
L5640 21.6 total MHz

That is a 28.5% jump and will do quite well with the bonus structure with smp and -bigadv WU.
 

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
My Cpu Vcore is 1.4, Cpu PLL is 1.92 and my QPI is set 1.38. Problem is this CPU hits a BCLK wall at about 200 Bclk. I have got it up to 215 Bclk but its needs crazy voltage and not stable for long.
 

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
I will try more tonight. I did lower the multi to 12 and got the Bclk up to 215 but then when I start bumping up the multi its crashes into windows. I wish I knew more about these bios settings. Some people make it look so easy.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
This is really the same problem I am running into with my SR-2 and two of these. The board will go higher, but you need some serious voltage for the CPU. For example, the processors run perfectly at 1.281V Vcore, 18 x 198. To get to 200 bclk, I currently have the Vcore at 1.375V I believe. Temps are holding rather well, so I can probably go 1.4+ if I wanted to. I really want to see what the power draw looks like before I go too crazy on Vcore, though.

Can you run 17 x 210 or 215? That would be a faster ~3.6 Ghz, and would take turbo out of the equation.
 

zero2dash

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
6,087
My Cpu Vcore is 1.4, Cpu PLL is 1.92 and my QPI is set 1.38. Problem is this CPU hits a BCLK wall at about 200 Bclk. I have got it up to 215 Bclk but its needs crazy voltage and not stable for long.

What is your uncore set at? It should be 16x.
I've had oc problems in the past (needing tons of Vtt for higher bclk, never getting stable)...once I lowered uncore to 16x instead of auto or higher, I was able to run 200+ bclk on low Vtt.
 

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
What is your uncore set at? It should be 16x.
I've had oc problems in the past (needing tons of Vtt for higher bclk, never getting stable)...once I lowered uncore to 16x instead of auto or higher, I was able to run 200+ bclk on low Vtt.

I don't know if I have seen that option in my Bios. Is it called something else maybe?
 

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
I just ordered a Intel E5645 hex core. I think this CPU should have a higher multiplier and I hope to get closer to 4.0GHz. I think I might be selling my L5640 soon. Or move it to my server. My wife is going to murder me.
 

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
I just ordered a Intel E5645 hex core. I think this CPU should have a higher multiplier and I hope to get closer to 4.0GHz. I think I might be selling my L5640 soon. Or move it to my server. My wife is going to murder me.

Don't worry as we won't let her do that to you. You folders with spouses that are getting ready to murder you should start up a support group for each other. If anything, just tell her that at least you arn't one of those guys who go full out and put full length headers and superchargers on the family car.

Congrats on your new processor though!
 

APOLLO

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2009
Joined
Sep 17, 2000
Messages
9,089
This is really the same problem I am running into with my SR-2 and two of these. The board will go higher, but you need some serious voltage for the CPU. For example, the processors run perfectly at 1.281V Vcore, 18 x 198. To get to 200 bclk, I currently have the Vcore at 1.375V I believe. Temps are holding rather well, so I can probably go 1.4+ if I wanted to. I really want to see what the power draw looks like before I go too crazy on Vcore, though..
One thing I've been wanting to ask concerning these processors is wouldn't they be more resistant to higher voltages than other Xeon processors? Isn't the reason they're binned as L-series because they were tested and able to operate normally at lower power requirement conditions? To me that seems like they're better able to withstand higher voltages or do I have it backwards? :confused:
 
Last edited:

zero2dash

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
6,087
I don't know if I have seen that option in my Bios. Is it called something else maybe?

QPI/Uncore
QPI Frequency
something like that.
Should have multipliers. My GB boards go down to 12 or 14x all the way to 22x IIRC.

Uncore is supposed to be double your ram frequency. Sometimes you can do double+1 which is usually 17x, just depends on the bclk, ram, and oc.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
I just ordered a Intel E5645 hex core. I think this CPU should have a higher multiplier and I hope to get closer to 4.0GHz. I think I might be selling my L5640 soon. Or move it to my server. My wife is going to murder me.

Where did you find an E5645?
 

tjmagneto

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
3,283
Don't worry as we won't let her do that to you. You folders with spouses that are getting ready to murder you should start up a support group for each other. If anything, just tell her that at least you arn't one of those guys who go full out and put full length headers and superchargers on the family car.
I'd be part of that support group if we start one.
 

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
Where did you find an E5645?

It was a Buy It Now on Ebay for $399.00. It also had best offer but there were 3 other offers that could of been accepted so I didn't want to take the chance.
 

DBZ33

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
960
It's been a long night. Been working on my new E5645. So far I think I am stable at 4.02Ghz and now I am at 4.1Ghz with 1.4v. Full load temp on air is about 71c. The one thing I have noticed is when the CPU goes into full load it drops from 19x down to 18x multiplier. Kind of weird, Maybe because its a ES? So far better than my L5640. Will try more tomorrow night.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1403198
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
its probably something in the bios or because the turbo modes different on xeons vs consumer processors..
 

TheWeazmeister

<a href=http://www.blogcdn.com/www.parentdish.com/
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
3,346
Very nice, got my mouth watering. Gotta increase my daily contribution from my Starbucks/Folding fund :p Less Starbucks moar folding for sure!
 

flyz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
194
I'm not sure how many more the seller has. He has 6 more listed and that's it....

But these things are so awesome for the money.
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,773
Damn it, I just got a grand in paychecks and what do ya know? I think he's out!!! Shit

and I've already got one, I just need a matching one for my SR2
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
Damn it, I just got a grand in paychecks and what do ya know? I think he's out!!! Shit

and I've already got one, I just need a matching one for my SR2
Posted via [H] Mobile Device

Maybe someone else on our team bought up a bunch for spares? :D

Hope you find another one though.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
921
Looks like I'm too late as well... New-To-Me P6Tv1 on its way.

Anyone getting an L5640 looking to offload their old CPU? :D
 

APOLLO

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2009
Joined
Sep 17, 2000
Messages
9,089
ah, he must have been the one who made the offer for all 5 chips on that one auction. I'm just glad I got my 2.
I'm very glad they were purchased from someone over here. So, it's true then the seller has no more?
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
Just to end any speculation, of the 9 chips I bought:

- 2 are on their way to 404-File not found
- 2 are reserved for Tobit
- jebo has 1, and will have first dibs on buying it
- 4 are in my 2 SR-2s and are not for sale.

That leaves none available. Sorry guys.
 

Veeb0rg

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Messages
3,278
I'm very glad they were purchased from someone over here. So, it's true then the seller has no more?

seems that way. Someone should drop him a msg through ebay and ask if he has anymore just to be sure.
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,773
Can we get a count of just how many of those chips we bought?
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

zero2dash

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
6,087
2 here making 12 total from the last few posts/tally (musky's 9 and flyz' 1)

continuing........
 

Veeb0rg

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Messages
3,278
1 flyz
2 zero2dash
1 Vaulter98c
9 Musky
5 Flecom
2 Veeb0rg
1 lassiterb
2 gama
2 Kendrak
2 nitrobass24
1 DooKey
2 SarzanEyes
2 Axdrenalin
1 tjmagneto
2 Yamaki
1 dmolter
1 [H]ecklerKoc[H]

37 total - so far

Unconfirmed - pulled from this thread http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1547036

2 gkanakis
1 Doozer
1 DBZ33
1 NobelX13
1 Jamesar

43 total?
 
Last edited:

gama

n00b
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
30
Ok, you guys suck. I just bought 2 of these to try to get moar out of my system. On the upside it looks like I'll have 2 E5530 ES to sell once I get them.
 
Top