Goodbye PCIe4

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by kilroy67, Aug 5, 2019.

  1. kilroy67

    kilroy67 Gawd

    Messages:
    785
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    The newest bios for Gigabyte boards F42A now removes PCIe4 from the chipset due to Agesa 1003ABB. Too bad no one really got to do a official test of it to my knowledge. I think that would of been interesting to see the results. There was a lot of speculation but no definitive answers.

    If it did work and work well and AMD did it to protect their X570 chipset, well you be the judge. As of now PCIe 4 is the only thing really separating the X570 from the X470.
     
    jmilcher likes this.
  2. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,679
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    I was more surprised that it worked than I am that they disabled the function. I can't blame them really, I don't think it was a greed factor but if a board isn't certified for that standard, it's probably unwise to allow it to function at those higher speeds particularly when it comes to storage and potential data loss
     
  3. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,716
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    I wish I could enable PCIe 3.0 on my X570.. My sound card has never been the same since.
     
    jmilcher likes this.
  4. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,802
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    People did test it and it worked great in most cases.
    I think they should make a final bios where you can choose to have it or not on boards that are compatible. Some are clearly on first slot, as was originally said.
     
    kilroy67 likes this.
  5. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,716
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Not sure why people are whining about this. It's just a coolness factor is all. Hey look I got a dated chipset but still have PCI-E 4.0. Start using actual PCI-E 4.0 devices and I/O and you could be in a fire situation, especially some of the weak heatsinks that are on the southbridge on boards.


    I see this as more of a safety protection. I really don't trust the firmwares especially Gigabyte uses to be trust worthy.
     
    dvsman, Keljian and kirbyrj like this.
  6. kilroy67

    kilroy67 Gawd

    Messages:
    785
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Who is whining? I could care less if it PCIe 4 is available or not. I see no real benefit to having it at this time, I just thought it would be interesting to see it in action on the X470. As far as starting a fire that seems a little over the top.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
  7. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,550
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    It's ok.... As long as I still can have the features I paid for. Nothing worse than an update that nerfs the hardwares proposed features.

    If I wanted pci4, I'd upgrade.


    Plus, give it time. A workaround may show one day.
     
    jmilcher likes this.
  8. Keljian

    Keljian Gawd

    Messages:
    640
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Right. The thing is, Joe Average user cannot test this.

    While it may look to be functioning correctly to the desktop user, electronically it may not be the case. It’s like a marginal overclock, 80% of the time the processor may be able to error correct and get correct answers, but sometimes it will fail.

    A motherboard manufacturer (or AMD) cannot be expected to deal with the potential support issues around this. The only way around this that I can see is “unsupported - use this feature at your own risk” - with NVME, you may be risking your data, is that worthwhile for a tiny bit of performance you can’t see?
     
  9. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,415
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I thought that was odd that I installed the latest bios and agesa, the one that clearly indicated they were taking it away, and low and behold. My 5700xt is still in 4.0 mode in GPUz. WOOHOO! Not that it even matters.

    That is on my Aorus b450 mATX board.

    BTW Where TF are all the x570 mATX boards for crying out loud?
     
  10. Boil

    Boil [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,379
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    There is one singular mATX X570 mobo from ASRock...

    Word on the street is that mATX is a dead platform...

    EDIT - I spoke too soon... Biostar is coming out with a mATX X570 mobo...

    So now there are a whopping TWO mATX X570 mobos out there...!
     
  11. Aluminum

    Aluminum Gawd

    Messages:
    664
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    You might get lucky and Asrock does another TR mATX board for the refresh, the current one is actually a premium board unlike all the AM4 that are budget.

    Though the X399 boards should work with the next TR after a bios update anyways.
     
  12. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,342
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    The thing is it's not though as many OEMs use that platform (Dell, etc.). I'm guessing it has more to do with the chipset as many OEMs tend to use lower end chipsets and are probably waiting for B550.