Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P - Overclocking

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
***OVERCLOCKING GUIDELINES***

- Do not exceed 1.425v core voltage, doing so could limit lifespan of the CPU
- Aim to keep temperatures below 75c underload if at all possible
- Do not overclock with BCLK, again doing so could limit lifespan of the CPU
*** SOFTWARE USED ***

EasyTuner 6 - Accurate Volt and Temp Readout
Prime 95 - Overclock Stability Testing ( 5hrs+ Recommended )
Intel Burn Test - Overclock Stability Testing ( 10-20 Loops High/Very High )
System

Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor - OEM
OcUK GeForce GTX 560Ti 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Intel Z68 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard
60GB SSD ( CACHE DRIVE )
Samsung SpinPoint F4 320GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD322GJ)
Corsair V2 600W Power Supply
Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (KHX1600C9D3X2K2/8GX)
BitFenix Merc Alpha Gaming Case - Black
Corsair A50 High-Performance CPU Cooler (Socket AM2/AM3/LGA775/LGA1155/LGA1156/LGA1366)
OcUK 22x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM


BIOS VERSION - F7e ( ME FIRMWARE and CPU Code update BIOS, Improves Power On Issue ( Cold Boot ) )
http://uk.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3912&dl=1#bios

Realtek Ethernet Drivers and Onboard Sound Drivers, must keep upto date(if you use them)
http://www.realtek.com/downloads/

Intel System Drivers, Always update!
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/

I5 2500K 4.5GHZ

\MB - ( M.I.T )/
\Advanced Frequency Settings/

CPU CLOCK - 33X
BCLK - ( DISABLED ) left at default 100mhz
EXTREME MEMORY PROFILE XMP - ( PROFILE 1 )
SYSTEM MEMORY MULTI - ( AUTO )

\Advanced Cpu Core Features/

CPU CLOCK RATIO [33X]
PWN FREQUENCY CONTROL [ AUTO ]
INTERNAL CPU OVER CURRENT PROTECTION [ AUTO ]
INTERNAL CPU PLL OVERVOLT [ ENABLED ]
RATIO CHANGES IN OS [ DISABLED ]
INTEL BOOST TECH [ ENABLED ]
RATIO 1 - 4 [ 45 ]
TURBO POWER LIMIT [ 300 ]
CORE CURRENT [ 300 ]
CPU CORES ENABLED [ ALL ]
CPU ENHANCED HALT C1E [ AUTO ]
C3/C6 STATE SUPPORT [ AUTO ]
CPU THERMAL MONITOR [ DISABLED ]
BI-DIRECTIONAL PROCHOT [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Memory/

EXTREME MEMORY PROFILE X.M.P [ PROFILE 1 ]
SYSTEM MEMORY MULTI SPD [ AUTO ]
PERFORMANCE ENHANCE [ STANDARD ]
DRAM TIMING SELECT SPD [ AUTO ]
CHANNEL A - B [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Voltage Settings/
MULTI-STEPS LOAD-LINE [ LEVEL 6 ]
CPU VCORE [ 1.330V ] ( TEST WITH PRIME 95/INTEL BURN TEST AND THEN LOWER THE VOLTS UNTIL UNSTABLE TO FIND YOUR LOWEST STABLE VOLTAGE )
QPI/VTT VOLTAGE 1.050V [ 1.20v ]
SYSTEM AGENT VOLTAGE 0.920V [ AUTO ]
DYNAMIC VCORE [ AUTO ]
GRAPHICS DVID [ AUTO ]
CPU PLL VOLTAGE 1.800V [ 1.800V ]
DRAM VOLTAGE 1.500V [ 1.625v ] ( LOWER OR HIGHER DEPENDING ON MEMORY REQUIREMENTS )
DRAM VREF 0.750V [ AUTO ]
DRAM TERMINATION 0.750V [ AUTO ]
CH-A/B ATA VREF 0.750V [ AUTO ]
CH-A/B ADDRESS VREF [ AUTO ]

\Misc Settings/

ISOCHRONOUS SUPPORT [ ENABLED ]
VIRTUALIZATION TECH [ ENABLED ]

\Advanced Bios Settings/

QUICK BOOT - [ DISABLED ]
BOOT LOGO - [ DISABLED ]

\Power Management/

HPET SUPPORT [ ENABLED ]
HPET MODE [ 64BIT ] - 64bit windows versions

\Pc Health/

CPU SMART FAN CONTROL [ DISABLED ]

I5 2500K 4.6GHZ

\MB - ( M.I.T )/
\Advanced Frequency Settings/

CPU CLOCK - 33X
BCLK - ( DISABLED ) left at default 100mhz
EXTREME MEMORY PROFILE XMP - ( PROFILE 1 )
SYSTEM MEMORY MULTI - ( AUTO )

\Advanced Cpu Core Features/

CPU CLOCK RATIO [33X]
PWN FREQUENCY CONTROL [ AUTO ]
INTERNAL CPU OVER CURRENT PROTECTION [ AUTO ]
INTERNAL CPU PLL OVERVOLT [ ENABLED ]
RATIO CHANGES IN OS [ DISABLED ]
INTEL BOOST TECH [ ENABLED ]
RATIO 1 - 4 [ 46 ]
TURBO POWER LIMIT [ 300 ]
CORE CURRENT [ 300 ]
CPU CORES ENABLED [ ALL ]
CPU ENHANCED HALT C1E [ AUTO ]
C3/C6 STATE SUPPORT [ AUTO ]
CPU THERMAL MONITOR [ DISABLED ]
BI-DIRECTIONAL PROCHOT [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Memory/

EXTREME MEMORY PROFILE X.M.P [ PROFILE 1 ]
SYSTEM MEMORY MULTI SPD [ AUTO ]
PERFORMANCE ENHANCE [ STANDARD ]
DRAM TIMING SELECT SPD [ AUTO ]
CHANNEL A - B [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Voltage Settings/
MULTI-STEPS LOAD-LINE [ LEVEL 6 ]
CPU VCORE [ 1.335V ] - ( TEST WITH PRIME 95/INTEL BURN TEST AND THEN LOWER THE VOLTS UNTIL UNSTABLE TO FIND YOUR LOWEST STABLE VOLTAGE )
QPI/VTT VOLTAGE 1.050V [ 1.20v ]
SYSTEM AGENT VOLTAGE 0.920V [ AUTO ]
DYNAMIC VCORE [ AUTO ]
GRAPHICS DVID [ AUTO ]
CPU PLL VOLTAGE 1.800V [ 1.800V ]
DRAM VOLTAGE 1.500V [ 1.625v ] ( LOWER OR HIGHER DEPENDING ON MEMORY REQUIREMENTS )
DRAM VREF 0.750V [ AUTO ]
DRAM TERMINATION 0.750V [ AUTO ]
CH-A/B ATA VREF 0.750V [ AUTO ]
CH-A/B ADDRESS VREF [ AUTO ]

\Misc Settings/

ISOCHRONOUS SUPPORT [ ENABLED ]
VIRTUALIZATION TECH [ ENABLED ]

\Advanced Bios Settings/

QUICK BOOT - [ DISABLED ]
BOOT LOGO - [ DISABLED ]

\Power Management/

HPET SUPPORT [ ENABLED ]
HPET MODE [ 64BIT ] - 64bit windows versions

\Pc Health/

CPU SMART FAN CONTROL [ DISABLED ]

I5 2500K 4.7GHZ

\MB - ( M.I.T )/
\Advanced Frequency Settings/

CPU CLOCK - 33X
BCLK - ( DISABLED ) left at default 100mhz
EXTREME MEMORY PROFILE XMP - ( PROFILE 1 )
SYSTEM MEMORY MULTI - ( AUTO )

\Advanced Cpu Core Features/

CPU CLOCK RATIO [33X]
PWN FREQUENCY CONTROL [ AUTO ]
INTERNAL CPU OVER CURRENT PROTECTION [ AUTO ]
INTERNAL CPU PLL OVERVOLT [ ENABLED ]
RATIO CHANGES IN OS [ DISABLED ]
INTEL BOOST TECH [ ENABLED ]
RATIO 1 - 4 [ 47 ]
TURBO POWER LIMIT [ 300 ]
CORE CURRENT [ 300 ]
CPU CORES ENABLED [ ALL ]
CPU ENHANCED HALT C1E [ AUTO ]
C3/C6 STATE SUPPORT [ AUTO ]
CPU THERMAL MONITOR [ DISABLED ]
BI-DIRECTIONAL PROCHOT [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Memory/

EXTREME MEMORY PROFILE X.M.P [ PROFILE 1 ]
SYSTEM MEMORY MULTI SPD [ AUTO ]
PERFORMANCE ENHANCE [ STANDARD ]
DRAM TIMING SELECT SPD [ AUTO ]
CHANNEL A - B [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Voltage Settings/
MULTI-STEPS LOAD-LINE [ LEVEL 6 ]
CPU VCORE [ 1.340V ] ( TEST WITH PRIME 95/INTEL BURN TEST AND THEN LOWER THE VOLTS UNTIL UNSTABLE TO FIND YOUR LOWEST STABLE VOLTAGE )
QPI/VTT VOLTAGE 1.050V [ 1.20V ]
SYSTEM AGENT VOLTAGE 0.920V [ AUTO ]
DYNAMIC VCORE [ AUTO ]
GRAPHICS DVID [ AUTO ]
CPU PLL VOLTAGE 1.800V [ 1.800V ]
DRAM VOLTAGE 1.500V [ 1.625v ] ( LOWER OR HIGHER DEPENDING ON MEMORY REQUIREMENTS )
DRAM VREF 0.750V [ AUTO ]
DRAM TERMINATION 0.750V [ AUTO ]
CH-A/B ATA VREF 0.750V [ AUTO ]
CH-A/B ADDRESS VREF [ AUTO ]

\Advanced Bios Settings/

QUICK BOOT - [ DISABLED ]
BOOT LOGO - [ DISABLED ]

\Misc Settings/

ISOCHRONOUS SUPPORT [ ENABLED ]
VIRTUALIZATION TECH [ ENABLED ]

\Power Management/

HPET SUPPORT [ ENABLED ]
HPET MODE [ 64BIT ] - 64bit windows versions

\Pc Health/

CPU SMART FAN CONTROL [ DISABLED ]
 
Last edited:

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
Guess i'm the only one with this board :D, nobody else with decent clocks same cpu?
 

HeyYoWL

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
61
What are your temperatures for those overclocks? I just got this board and CPU myself.
 

Stanfiem

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
364
I just got the ga-Z68xp-ud4 and i2500k and am planning on overclocking pretty soon. When you say ratio 1-4 {45} are you saying that your turbo multipliers are all set at 45??
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
I just got the ga-Z68xp-ud4 and i2500k and am planning on overclocking pretty soon. When you say ratio 1-4 {45} are you saying that your turbo multipliers are all set at 45??

Correct!,

Intel Burn test maxes out in high about 75 however prime 95 doesn't get over 68 this is at 4.7GHZ
 

acedl

n00b
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1
Just ordered this motherboard on 11/24/11. Replacing my e8400 which is running at 4.0ghz currently.

After lots of reading it appears I am going to be in good shape.

CPU COOLER ZALMAN 9700 - great cooler had a CN9500!
SSD 120G OCZ AGT3-25SAT3-120G
CASE Cooler Master RC-692-KKN2 ADVANCED RT
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL DDR3 1600
CPU: INTEL|CORE I5 2500K 3.3G 6M
Motherboard:GIGABYTE|GA-Z68XP-UD3P Z68 R $154.99 SLI Ready x16 or Dual x8 x8
- Added my EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC to this build.
- Added my Seagate 300GB 7200RPM to this build.
- Added my 850Watt SLI PSU to this build..

Never owned a GIGABYTE BOARD, have always been a ASUS Fan boy. Hoping to OC CPU/Mobo I picked up a sweet combo on newegg.

Neil - Any tips or pointers - I saw your posts for 4.5 - 4.7ghz OC'ing. I mean the wolf dale overclocking is rather straight forward, rather new to the i5 / z68 world for overclocking?

I saw also on the overlocker uk forum you run the same video card. How's the performance?

Thanks for the help, I am rather advanced user but new to this platform.
 

Aumakua

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
333
I have the UD4 Z68 board which is pretty much the same, same Bios at least.

You might want to look into using Dynamic V Core instead of LLC, it will enable your voltage to drop to 1.0V or less depending on your +/- setting, which will help your temps and cpu lifespan when web surfing or other limited tasks. I haven't done extensive testing yet as I just set up my cpu this week, but will update my results this weekend. From what I have seen the stability of this method is pretty much the same as using LLC at a constant vcore voltage. Also i noticed you do not have CPU PLL overvoltage enabled at clocks 4.5 and higher, is there a reason for that? Stability seems to be improved with this on and Vcore can even be lowered. I know there was a resume from sleep issue with it before but I believe with the latest Bios that has been fixed.
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
I have the UD4 Z68 board which is pretty much the same, same Bios at least.

You might want to look into using Dynamic V Core instead of LLC, it will enable your voltage to drop to 1.0V or less depending on your +/- setting, which will help your temps and cpu lifespan when web surfing or other limited tasks. I haven't done extensive testing yet as I just set up my cpu this week, but will update my results this weekend. From what I have seen the stability of this method is pretty much the same as using LLC at a constant vcore voltage. Also i noticed you do not have CPU PLL overvoltage enabled at clocks 4.5 and higher, is there a reason for that? Stability seems to be improved with this on and Vcore can even be lowered. I know there was a resume from sleep issue with it before but I believe with the latest Bios that has been fixed.

CPU PLL is enabled, atleast it is when set to automatic but i've enabled it anyway :D. I still cannot get the system stable with Dynamic V Core and also the Vdroop is awful, i've seen it drop to 1.21 from 1.36v while running intel burn test. However this board for some reason wont let you set LLC if you have Dynamic V core,VTT enabled. I'll stick with LLC overclocking instead, for now
 

Aumakua

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
333
I had a very interesting experience with Dynamic overclocking.
I updated to F5 bios (newest one) for my UD4, and you are right the V droop was aweful using this, I had to set it at +0.125 to get it stable at 4.4 ghz, but that meant at idle it would go from 0.996 all the way to 1.116 and it would go from 1.296 to 1.344 at load sometimes! But it was stable.

I was able to get stability all the way to 4.5 using this method then just used LLC at 4.6 and it was stable, I upped the voltage and tried 4.7, then my board went into the dreaded Gigabyte Boot Cycle and there was no way to end it! finally after spending 8 hours trying new things and reading online for help, I was able to reset the Bios to the secondary default one! I reloaded the F5 bios and tried again, this is where it got strange.

This time I DISABLED PLL overvoltage on my 4.4 ghz overclock (last time it was on AUTO).
I set the dynamic back to +0.125 with voltage on normal, but to my suprise the voltage sky rocketed to like 1.44 and was running constant 1.40 under load! same settings as before the boot loop except for the PLL not being on Auto. So I reduced the Dynamic to 0.025 and then to +0.010, at that setting it gave me 1.296-1.308 under load (1.308 90% of the time) and the max it hit was 1.320, all acceptable numbers and actually right in line with what LLC gives me.

So what happened? why all of a sudden do I no longer need the huge Dynamic setting? my guess is PLL Overvoltage set to Auto is not a good thing? I also got random spikes when I had it set to ENABLED and using Dynamic, so my thinking is that if you use Dynamic settings make sure you set PLL Overvoltage to DISABLE and it will be much more stable with V Droops and allow lower voltage when idle or just on the web, listening to music...

Not sure if I will try higher than 4.4 ghz since it takes me about 0.050v more to get to each additional 0.1 ghz which is not worth it to me. running at 4.4 is plenty. I think the only reason to use extra voltage is if you are trying for 4.7-4.9 and just to say you hit that point...

My setup: Gigabyte Z68 UD4, i5 2500k
using newest F5 Bios, set to optimized settings after I flashed and then changed the following:

PLL Overvoltage: Disabled
Turbos: 44 on all
VCore: Normal
Dynamic VCore: +0.10 (currently running 50 loops of Intel Burn Test Maximum settings at home, but it passed 10 earlier while having itunes open...)

Max temps (using Dark Knight cooler and crazy air circulation with 10 case fans) 62 degrees on all cores except "3" which is 66 degrees (seems like that normally goes higher than others), remember intel burn test runs much hotter than Prime, in Prime this setup never goes over 60 degrees for me!

If the 50 loops on Intelburn goes well I might try Dynamic at 0.0 and see what happens, although I would be perfectly happy with Voltage being 1.296-1.308 for 4.4 ghz
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
^ Nice feedback fella and what i've experienced also with my UD3P.. Sticking with LLC though as it's prime stable for hours and many loops of ITBT :D
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
the biggest issue i had with the Z68XP was the fact that i could not for the life of me find any program that gave matching voltages.. bios were set to 1.4v with LLC at 5.. bios health monitor showed it at 1.41v, cpu-z showed it at 1.05v(later found out it was the PLL voltage or some crap) and the gigabyte software showed 1.465v.. it made absolutely no sense what so ever.
 

nxcess

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
2,663
the biggest issue i had with the Z68XP was the fact that i could not for the life of me find any program that gave matching voltages.. bios were set to 1.4v with LLC at 5.. bios health monitor showed it at 1.41v, cpu-z showed it at 1.05v(later found out it was the PLL voltage or some crap) and the gigabyte software showed 1.465v.. it made absolutely no sense what so ever.

The most current version of CPU-Z reads the correct vcore voltages now for for the Z68XP.
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
I just read this

I too was having this infinite post loop problem on my motherboard. What I finally realized, is when applying the xmp profile in the MB settings it says that the mem controller voltage goes up too, but after going into the voltage settings page and actually looking at the mem controller voltage the higher voltage is never applied . I manually set this to the xmp specified voltage and problem went away. no more post loop, no more random idle bsod.

It could well be the VTT/QPI voltage that's the problem, when set to auto it should use the voltages for the memory profile. However it doesn't and stays on about 1.050v or just over which is far to low. The kingston needs atleast 1.2v VTT/QPI, where'as the main volts still need to be set to your memory which I did anyway. So look at your profile voltages for VTT and set them correctly not auto, usually it's about 1.2v vtt/qpi, i've set to 1.190v because it over volts slightly to 1.220v.

Will test the cold boot issue and see if it's fixed
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
F7C is the worst bios i've ever used to get it working right with boot loops and a cold boot issue. The Bios still sets the VTT too low when set to AUTO and using xmp Profile 1, the vtt volts don't increase and have to be manually set. But with Bios F7C I had trouble even getting that far!

1. Made sure my bios was set to default settings and used my usb stick to flash to the new F7C.

2. I powered down the system as it told me too, took the psu cable out, pressed the power switch on the psu and system to clear out any left over voltage and also cleared the cmos.

3. Powered up the system and it instantly shut off with a cold boot issue, it did this again after that. So I took out the psu cable put it back in and tried again. I was able to get into Bios.

4. Set to Default settings and rebooted, It hung on the Bios logo so i hit the reset button. Apparently the reset button can cause awful boot loops which it did. It then ended up in a continues boot loop which never happened in any previous bios flash. I was finally able to get back into bios and again set it to default and then it worked.

5. As i was able to set it to default I then proceded to flash the backup bios.

6. Rebooted the system and back in bios it said failed on overclocked settings, even though I had not done any overclocking!. I also noticed again that the VTT voltage as still only at 1.056v when on auto with XMP profile 1.

7. Set my overclocked settings, set the voltages as they should be because VTT and Main memory voltage on Auto doesn't work I was able to get into windows.

I'm not the only one with this board that has either a continuous boot loop or a cold boot issue and before anyone says it's your overclock IT ISN'T. It can do it on default settings as I said in the earlier steps. I should not have to go through all these damn steps just to get the system to stop boot looping. The VTT/QPI issue needs to be fixed aswell.

My advice stick with F7B for now
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
Well I spoke to soon. Whilst in standby it decided to start cold booting again.
2 hours later I now have a dead SSD. Enough is enough with this god awful board it's going back as not fit for purpose and I will get something else. I will also claim from Gigabyte for my now dead SSD.

I'm on the 7B bios.

^ Looks like others are getting it too even with the latest bios, What the hell is up with this board!
 

pchealth 2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
276
Please try to flash F7c bios on main and back-up bios.
From what I know from Gigabyte, this boot loop issue can be solve by flashing back-up bios.
Procedure:
1. Flash main bios to F7c.
2. THen after flashing back-up bios the system restart, then immediately press ALT + F12 to flash back-up bios.
Upon pressing ALT + F12, you will see an option that asking you to press Enter if you wish to flash back-up bios.
3. Then press Enter.
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
lol They said that the F7A would fix the cold boot, boot loop it doesnt, they said F7B would it doesn't now it's F7C and guess what. That bios is even worse! I know how to flash and I know how to do it correctly, the current beta bios releases are CRAP.

and no it doesn't solve it, there are far far too many people reporting this cold boot, boot loop issue even with the latest beta bioses.
 

nxcess

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
2,663
lol They said that the F7A would fix the cold boot, boot loop it doesnt, they said F7B would it doesn't now it's F7C and guess what. That bios is even worse! I know how to flash and I know how to do it correctly, the current beta bios releases are CRAP.

and no it doesn't solve it, there are far far too many people reporting this cold boot, boot loop issue even with the latest beta bioses.

Mine seems to be resolved after using DVID instead of LLC for overclocking. System booted up on first try.
 

Falkentyne

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2000
Messages
1,838
Please try to flash F7c bios on main and back-up bios.
From what I know from Gigabyte, this boot loop issue can be solve by flashing back-up bios.
Procedure:
1. Flash main bios to F7c.
2. THen after flashing back-up bios the system restart, then immediately press ALT + F12 to flash back-up bios.
Upon pressing ALT + F12, you will see an option that asking you to press Enter if you wish to flash back-up bios.
3. Then press Enter.

I don't think you read his post either fully, correctly, or maybe you were in a huge hurry. He said he flashed the backup Bios.

The new bios made his boot loop problem even worse.
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
Yet this morning, no cold boot issue whatsoever... This Z68XP board issue is finicky!

Same cold booting issue this morning with either BIOS and stock settings.

Board is going back today and will order a replacement later. Last time I use a gigabyte board.

Edit - just rang the retailer for an rma and was told that they have had a lot of these boards returned for this issue?

:eek:
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
Had a reply from Gigabyte support

Hi,

Yes F7A is older. Please update and feedback the result. We have test both F7C and F7a and it solve the cold boot issue.

They are not listening at all, I've got people on other forums saying that the F7C doesn't solve the cold boot issue, sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't. I could boot later and be stuck on the cold boot issue. So far they've released F7A, F7B and F7C each time support says " it solves the cold boot issue ". I found F7C to be a terrible bios release, F7B lasted 3 days before it cold booted. A number of users found that the F7A and F7B cold boot issues started straight away.

Also being told constantly how to update the bios correctly by some is annoying, just because the bios was cleared, voltage cleared out and bios backed up doesn't fix the main cause.

Think i'll give up, if the cold boot issue happens I'll just pull the PSU plug, put it back in and have it boot as normal, Then use the system as when it's up and running it's perfect.
 

nxcess

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
2,663
They are not listening at all, I've got people on other forums saying that the F7C doesn't solve the cold boot issue, sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't. I could boot later and be stuck on the cold boot issue. So far they've released F7A, F7B and F7C each time support says " it solves the cold boot issue ". I found F7C to be a terrible bios release, F7B lasted 3 days before it cold booted. A number of users found that the F7A and F7B cold boot issues started straight away.

Also being told constantly how to update the bios correctly by some is annoying, just because the bios was cleared, voltage cleared out and bios backed up doesn't fix the main cause.

Think i'll give up, if the cold boot issue happens I'll just pull the PSU plug, put it back in and have it boot as normal, Then use the system as when it's up and running it's perfect.

Stop using LLC to overclock and use Dynamic Vcore. It fixed my cold boot issue with my Z68XP-UD4.
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
Stop using LLC to overclock and use Dynamic Vcore. It fixed my cold boot issue with my Z68XP-UD4.

Can't use DV because of the bad very droop, a voltage set of 1.38v drops to 1.21 under load with intel burn test which means unstable.
 

nxcess

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
2,663
Can't use DV because of the bad very droop, a voltage set of 1.38v drops to 1.21 under load with intel burn test which means unstable.

Are you referring to voltages set in bios vs voltages you get within windows?
 

Falkentyne

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2000
Messages
1,838
He can't use Intel Burn test in Bios...what the hell man? *Facepalm*. And he's talking about the vcore from idle to light load to full load. And yes he has it set for a target of 1.38v in Bios--which WOULD be 1.38v load in windows if LLC actually worked with dvid before it was removed when Multistep was added, since Gigabyte's multi step LLC is just utter shit.

I know exactly what he's talking about. So no need to argue with Neil; he's right on the mark and SPOT ON about these Bios criticisms. At higher vcores, Dvid is VERY unstable without LLC. You get MASSIVE vdroop. Back when LLC actually worked with dvid (when there was LLC1 and LLC2 only, in the higher end boards, and LLC1 on the lower boards), I could get (For example) 1.18v idle (C states), 1.50v light load, 1.52v heavy/max load, which is very acceptable (was using a high vcore on another 2600k where i needed 1.50v). With Bioses with the multi step LLC, 1.50v light load drops to like 1.40v heavy load, which = BSOD if the CPU needs 1.50v for stability. Even worse, if you only need 1.40v for stability, you'll have 1.50v at light load when you don't need such a high voltage.

Translation: Dvid is useless now.
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
Thanks Falkentyne!

Also I'd like to put this across

There is certainly something up with the batch and looking at the gigabyte forums it isn't just related to the UD3P. Seems like a Gigabyte issue in general

http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,7881.0.html

Do a search for COLD BOOT or BOOT LOOP on the gigabyte forums, shocking

AND YET AGAIN ANOTHER BETA BIOS from support to fix the issue a new F7B, not the same as the previous F7B.

Attached is the latest F7b BIOS.
Attachment :
Attach file z8xpud3p.f7b ( 1620 KB ) :

http://ggts.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/1173826/z8xpud3pf7b.rar

EDIT :::

( New thread started on gigabyte by someone else )
http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,7895.0.html
 
Last edited:

nxcess

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
2,663
Translation: Dvid is useless now.

It's not. I'm not suffering from cold boot issues since I switch. Voltages are pretty much inline with what I was using with LLC ranging from 1.332~1.356 in prime95 with +0.170 offset.
 

K1tty

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
1,961
Sigh... this will likely be my last Gigabyte board. They seem to be progressively getting worse instead of better :(
 

Neil79

n00b
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
32
UPDATE !!!!!!!!!

No cold boot in two days even when not having the system on for hours and the only thing i've done according to someone elses advice is

PLL OVERVOLTAGE = DISABLED

If this is the cause, why does enabling pll over voltage cause cold boots?
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
14
UPDATE !!!!!!!!!

No cold boot in two days even when not having the system on for hours and the only thing i've done according to someone elses advice is

PLL OVERVOLTAGE = DISABLED

If this is the cause, why does enabling pll over voltage cause cold boots?

With the f7e bios, the PLL OVERVOLTAGE option only has AUTO, NORMAL and a plethora of values. I was able to finally get the system to boot by setting the option to NORMAL. I played BF3 for a few hours last night on OPTIMIZED BIOS settings, hopefully the system boots normally when I get home tonight. But so far, this option seems to be the magic.
 

pchealth 2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
276
What I see you has over clock your processor to 4.7 GHZ, I think you should partly increase your CPU Vcore to 1.40V to check. On my side, over clock cpu to 4.6 GHz with 1.4V Vcore is stable.
 

Stanfiem

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
364
One thing to consider/try I was getting a cold boot issue where everything would spin up and then shut off but on the second spin up it would post. Well this occured only with PLL overvoltage the second i had this disabled It was fine. This happened everytime i turned on from a cold boot so I knew it was PLL Overvoltage causing the culprit.

The thing is I can not get past 44 with out it. So I decided to forget about it.

I then read a thread about underclocking your CPU Pll and allow for lower temps and lower voltages so i decided to try this. Well I was able to downclock the cpu pll about .015 volts but did not see a decrease in temps nor am i able to lower my DVID but guess what it did fix...MY COLD BOOT PROBLEM. I was surprised but it worked for me.

If anyone is having this problem and it is related to CPU PLL OVERVOLTAGE I would consider downclocking the cpu pll and see if it helps.
 
Top