Getting the message "Cannot Display this Mode" at POST

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by burningrave101, Apr 8, 2006.

  1. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Every other time when i reboot i get a black screen at POST that says 2: DVI-D Cannot Display this Mode. Usually it will go ahead and boot just fine in a few seconds but once in a while it just hangs on it. Is it a video card issue or motherboard or what? Anyone had this problem before? How do you fix it? I did a little research and i think it may have something to do with the video card BIOS not detecting the resolution or something on the LCD correctly at first?

    Here are my important specs:

    AMD Opteron 165
    DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert 3/29/06 bios
    ATI X1900 XTX 512MB
    Dell 2005FPW
     
  2. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Nobody ever had this problem before and found a fix? I did a google search on it and it seemed like most users experienced this problem with Dell monitors like the 2005FPW and 2405FPW. I wish there was an easy fix cause its sort of an annoying issue at times.
     
  3. bmartin

    bmartin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,736
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Probably the secondary DVI does not support 640x480 rez. Try using the primary.
     
  4. Arch

    Arch Gawd

    Messages:
    822
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Dude, I have the same problem. Seems to happy on warm resets only, never on a cold bootup. I also have a X1900XTX and a Dell 2005FPW. I'm running an Abit KN8 Ultra motherboard though.
     
  5. M.D.K.

    M.D.K. Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Thats your Dell LCD telling you that its not getting a [video] signal.
     
  6. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    I figured that much but how do i fix it?
     
  7. itsmikey

    itsmikey Gawd

    Messages:
    706
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    try another monitor and make sure the videocard isn't dead
     
  8. Arch

    Arch Gawd

    Messages:
    822
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Unlikely its either one as I have the exact same issue.
     
  9. YARDofSTUF

    YARDofSTUF [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,465
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    I've had that happen when I switch my 2nd box from its crt to my 2405 vga port, only when at 80+hz tho.
     
  10. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    I never have a problem with it outside of getting that screen at POST once in a while so the video card isn't dead. It seems to be a DVI related issue as i've seen others mention they didn't have the problem when using VGA. Maybe there is some setting in the video card BIOS I can adjust?
     
  11. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    i have this same problem on my 2005FPW w/ a x1900xt

    i think it also has to do with video card bios, tried 3 different 2005FPW's all with same problem

    found this

    http://www.howtofixcomputers.com/bb/ftopic62264.html

    but doesn;t seem to work

    started happening on my x800xt when i flashed to xtpe.... happened on my x1900xt when i flashed to x1900xtx...

    i thought maybe it was atiwinflash, then used flashrom, in dos still have the problem

    specs
    dfi sli-dr xpert
    opty 170
    x1900xt

    specs2
    msi k8n neo2
    x800xt

    both bios flashed, both using 2005fpw
     
  12. Arch

    Arch Gawd

    Messages:
    822
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    I think the problem is the 2005FPW. If I pause my system during boot when the problem happens (push the pause key). Then turn off the monitor and turn it back on, it works.
     
  13. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    any luck burning grave, you haven;t updated us, if you have found a fix
     
  14. Pegi

    Pegi Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    For what it's worth, I have a Dell 2001, 2005, and a 2405. On both the 2001 and 2005, I would often get the "cannot display this mode" using DVI that only got fixed *permanently* when I bought a new DVI cable instead of using the generic piece o' junk that Dell ships with their monitors. I bought a Belkin cable for each monitor. Since then, I haven't seen the message even once.
     
  15. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004

    http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatSectionView.process?IWAction=Load&Merchant_Id=&Section_Id=1753

    a bit pricey. not looking to spend 40+ for a fix
     
  16. sculelos

    sculelos [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,549
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    I dunno why it happens, but it happens sometimes on my lcd, but never on my crt, I don't know why it happens, but I have 2 computers and sometimes switch monitors, it seems to be an issue with the lcd on both monitors though it doesn't really bother me as it just does it on usually a reset or something. (never on a cold boot)
     
  17. SuperFarStucker

    SuperFarStucker n00bie

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    first post on hard...

    I believe the problem is with ATi problem as I have the exact same issue in dual head configuration with a CRT on vga and the LCD (2005FPW) on DVI w/ x1900xtx but the same setup never had a problem with my 7800gtx. I guess the monitor is sent a bad signal on boot (too high of a refresh rate probably) and it doesn't recheck the signal until you power cycle it. My solution: just leave the machine on :)
     
  18. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    is anyone having this problem with 2005fpw w/ x1900xt/xtx whose never flashed the video bios
     
  19. Arch

    Arch Gawd

    Messages:
    822
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    I am. Stock ATI 1900XTX here with a 2005FPW.
     
  20. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    and you have this problem?
     
  21. Arch

    Arch Gawd

    Messages:
    822
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
  22. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    anyone, have any luck asking dell about this?
     
  23. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    That sounds like a possible fix. I may try ordering a new DVI cable from monoprice.com since they carry them for not too much and their cables are normally good quality.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...cs_id=1020901&p_id=2686&seq=1&format=2&style=

    I've never flashed the BIOS on my X1900 XTX. Its a vanilla ATI model with stock BIOS. This "Cannot Display this Mode" screen is becomeing more of a problem here lately. Now i'm even getting it right before the XP loading screen. It goes away in a few seconds but its still annoying, espeically when it hangs.
     
  24. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    wow $10 for a cable! i think i'll save my 10 and hope dell recalls the cable, if it is the problem
     
  25. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    $10 for a quality DVI cable isn't very much. Some people pay that for a USB cable.
     
  26. big poppa pump

    big poppa pump [H]Lite

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    First post, but a longtime lurker!

    I have a similar setup like most of you over here.

    BBA X1900XTX
    2 * Dell 2405FPW

    I have been getting this message on warm boots 99% of the time on both my dell monitors. I did try changing the DVI cables from the standard Dell one to a Monster DVI. It had absolutely no effect. This was really pissing me off now and I decided to play around with the lcd's settings.

    And I might have found a solution to this problem. In the setup menu under image settings, I set the Scaling to 1:1 and turned the Video Mode 'Off'.

    After doing this I rebooted my computer at least 10 times within a space of 5-7 minutes and never once did I get this message again whereas earlier I would end up getting it in the first reboot itself.

    I am still using Dell's standard DVI cable and after the adjustments I made I DON'T have this problem anymore.
     
  27. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004

    Set my scaling to 1:1 will see if it works, but my video mode is grayed which means i cannot modify it. :(
     
  28. big poppa pump

    big poppa pump [H]Lite

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Do a factory reset and then try adjusting the values! The video option should work after the reset!
     
  29. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Nope, that option is grayed out for me as well.
     
  30. funks

    funks Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    I'm getting a similar issue with my 2405FPW.. Sometimes during a warm boot (restart), then font sizes while booting is all screwed up (probably a resolution problem as if the res was wrong). I don't remember it happening during a cold boot, only on warm boots.

    X1900XTX and the Dell 2405FPW.
     
  31. big poppa pump

    big poppa pump [H]Lite

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Update - I haven't got this message since the last 2 days when I made the changes to the monitor setting.
     
  32. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    reset and still grayed. are you using svga or dvi?
     
  33. big poppa pump

    big poppa pump [H]Lite

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    I use the svideo input for watching tv sometimes. So maybe thats why the video option is not grayed out for me.
     
  34. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Anyone found any more info on the problem or a possible fix yet?
     
  35. Chris_B

    Chris_B [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,863
    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    I just got my x1900xtx today and am having the same issue, never happened with my agp x800xt (asrock pcie\agp mobo) so i assume it has more to do with the vid card. I also get like a white garbled screen on bootup now and again, almost like a screen that the card can't display properly. :confused: dell 2005fpw monitor

    Turning the monitor on and off works for me, just seems somethings not initialiasing for some reason or other. :mad:
     
  36. AndoOKC1

    AndoOKC1 Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    I got a my X1900 XT today and im getting same DVI-D errors on boot. Also, between the windows boot up screen and actual displaying of the windows desktop, my screen gets garbled and its a bunhc of black, blue and white lines. Ive removed and reinstalled and did everything properly with Driver Cleaner pro and safe mode and all that crap we've come to learn. I hope theres a fix for this.

    btw i too have a Dell 2005FPW and the scaling 1:1 did not work.
     
  37. amd ati FO SHO

    amd ati FO SHO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,901
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
  38. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Everyone should start calling ATI tech support and report this issue. I called Dell and ATI tech support and the ATI technician acted like noone had ever reported this issue before and he wanted me to check to make sure it wasn't my motherboard or power supply. I dont know how some of these guys get tech positions. The users on forums know more about whats going on with their hardware then they do. Seriously, call ATI tech support since its free and report this issue. These are expensive graphics cards and the problem needs to be addressed. If i have the same issue when my new 2007wfp gets here that X1900XTX is coming out and a 7900 GTX is going in. Its bad enough i have to put up with increased noise, heat, and power consumption.

    BTW, there is a quick fix to get around the problem if it hangs on the black screen. Hit the first button on the front of the LCD to switch between input modes and switch to another mode and then back to DVI.
     
  39. Cript

    Cript Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Thought I'd throw in my weird issue as well. I have 2 Dell 2001FPs both connected via DVI to my x1900xtx. On cold boots after windows loads, the image on my secondary monitor is shifted to the left by an inch (black bar on the right). If I turn my monitor off and on, or do something in the drivers that blinks the screen, it returns to normal, centered. This only happens on cold boots, never on warm. I've tried all sorts of options in the drivers regarding my LCDs (center image and whatnot) and the problem persists. I also have an issue where the screen will remain blank sometimes if I have "reduce DVI frequency" checked, unchecking it solves this.
     
  40. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,836
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    ATI Customer Support #
    1-877-284-1566
    9:00 AM - 7:00 PM Eastern Time
    Monday - Friday