Getting more than 30 hash ETH on GTX 1070

Geno750

Gawd
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
674
Was running SLI 1070's in a gaming rig, and had another one in my htpc. All were founder's editions. When this mining spike hit I got all three moved to a thermaltake X51 and vertically mounted them in the large gap between the motherboard and intake fan. With a 200mm fan in front and under them my temps stay at 70F (room they're in gets warm). This is at 70% power limit and 9.3GHz memory, -75 core. Been pulling .97GH/s for the last month.

What's strange is my solo Gigabyte 1080ti does 61.8MH/s according to nicehash. I started having it mine while not being used for games. I'm tempted to grab another 1080ti since microcenter has an open box Asus FE for $609.
 

odditory

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
6,482
What's strange is my solo Gigabyte 1080ti does 61.8MH/s according to nicehash.

That's not ETH/DaggerHash, that's Lyra2REv2.

If 1080Ti's were doing ETH/DaggerHash at 60MHs+, they'd be sold out everywhere and going for $1200+ on ebay.
 
Last edited:

Geno750

Gawd
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
674
Yeah, it's Lyra. I can't complain though, all the cards have paid for themselves already and are doing a combined of about $14/day.
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
so, it's not for lack of reading, but which miner is best for the 1070?

I'm getting about 31MH/s with genoil's program. Pretty easy to setup. Use "geth" to create a new account. Plug the address that was generated in to genoil's ethminer and voila. it's working.


Now, I can't for the life of me figure out which is better? nicehash, claymore, vs excavator (by nicehash), or skip mining ETH and use EWBF for zcash. Can anyone with more experience give their opionions?


thanks
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
6,441
I'm using Claymore dual mining Ethereum and Siacoin. Only been at it for a week but it seems to be working.

One thing to keep in mind, it's better to mine in a pool, unless you have a farm or something I don't think solo mining is profitable. I'm on nanopool.org and it seems like one of the better choices.
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
claymore seems good. I'll give that a shot this weekend. I read that excavator (nicehash) is efficient.

is claymore easy to setup? Do the devs still take a 1% fee?
 

RevMen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
460
The claymore dual mining is pretty cool. It's fun to get 2 coins. But, when you dual mine on claymore, he takes a 2% "dev fee", which means your card mines for him 2% of the time (the guy has apparently made 10's of millions of dollars because of this). If you only do ETH, he takes a 1% fee.

I recently switched to using the rc1 branch of ethminer, which is optimized for CUDA/1060. It's good for 1070's also. I've also discovered it works very well on GTX 980's and 970's.

I started this thread wondering how to get above 30 MH/s, and now all of my cards are doing it, thanks in part to this miner. I had to give up the second coin, but it's nice not losing 2% of my hashes and being able to go a lot faster.
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
^ agreed. I prefer to keep the costs to a minimum.

I looked into the rc1 branch also. now, it just has an "ethminer.exe" file. compared to genoil's where there are multiple files. so does this use the same batch file? which pool are you running?


so, I used the following batch file.

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

ethminer.exe -U -S eu1.ethermine.org:4444 -FS us1.ethermine.org:4444 -O <MY_MINER>.<MY_WORKER> --cuda-parallel-hash 8​

Seems, like the hashes are more stable. Before they would fluctuate between 25MH/s and 31 MH/s. Now it's just around 30 MH/s. I wonder if I'm missing anything. Do I need to install the CUDA development kit?
 
Last edited:

RevMen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
460
I'm in ethpool now but will be moving elsewhere as soon as I get a block.

.bat shouldn't be any different. Just use the new .exe, I think.

I haven't noticed any difference between installing or not installing the CUDA development kit. I think all you need to do CUDA calcs is already in the regular drivers download. Could be wrong.
 

Geno750

Gawd
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
674
Might have to try that. My question is given the somewhat consistent output of nicehash, which uses Lyra, 1080ti's appear to be more efficient. My gaming PC's 1080ti does 58mh/s on Lyra (average over the course of a month) which per watt and per dollar is far superior to the 1070, which only does about 31mh/s. This is factoring in a cost of $400 for 31 my/s vs $650 for 58mh/s. Is Lyra not good or am I missing something/nicehash
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
I have to say the evga ftw gaming card is pretty good. I was able to drop tdp to 50%, memory +680, and core -40. Total power draw at the outlet was 150w, so figure the 30w for the system, that brings single 1070 getting 32MH/s at 120w. Not bad.

I couldn't replicate that with the evga sc black ed card.

Btw, ftw still has micron memory. Those with Samsung memory must be getting very high memory o/c
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,729
Not to thread crap here, but how does one go about using that RC1? I got claymore from nanopool, got it running on my 1080 in one rig and a 1050ti in my plex server, I know my numbers won't match up to a 1070 because reasons or what not (1080 are slower than 1070 from what I'm reading at least) but if I can get any boost just from changing software that would be cool lol

Just in case anyone was wondering, just using claymore with a 550 mhz OC on ram and a -70 mhz on core I'm getting 23.6 MH/s give or take , on a 1050ti at ram OC 380 and core -60 I'm getting 12.7 MH/s give or take

Running the latest drivers, Win 10, and my batch is whatever the nanopool put in minus the changes for wallet/worker/email
 

Airbrushkid

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,182
How you like claymore? I heard they charge you 1% to use it. And if you want to put an AMD card in the same rig as you 1080 the charge 2%. Is that right about 1%?


Not to thread crap here, but how does one go about using that RC1? I got claymore from nanopool, got it running on my 1080 in one rig and a 1050ti in my plex server, I know my numbers won't match up to a 1070 because reasons or what not (1080 are slower than 1070 from what I'm reading at least) but if I can get any boost just from changing software that would be cool lol

Just in case anyone was wondering, just using claymore with a 550 mhz OC on ram and a -70 mhz on core I'm getting 23.6 MH/s give or take , on a 1050ti at ram OC 380 and core -60 I'm getting 12.7 MH/s give or take

Running the latest drivers, Win 10, and my batch is whatever the nanopool put in minus the changes for wallet/worker/email
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,729
Not sure if I did it right but I just copied my info from my claymore batch file and put it in the one you provided, probably did something wrong because the out put looks different, not sure If I was just supposed to copy those things into the claymore folder

ethminer -U -S eth-eu1.nanopool.org:9999 -O <MYADDRESS>/GamerRigTest/<MYEMAIL> --cuda-parallel-hash 4

It is doing something though but I'm not entirely sure where the mining is going lol

Seems to be hovering around 23 to 24.2 on a 1080, but it does have some dips all the way down to 11-15, didn't see that on claymore

Wonder if I'm doing it wrong lol
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,729
Well the worker did eventually show up in the nanopool website, so I guess that's working
Still not sure why it was jumping from 24 all the way down to 11, Claymore was pretty steady at high 22 to mid 23

Might get around to trying this on a 1050ti tonight just to see how it handles if anyone is curious to run on one of these
 

lilbabycat

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
3,810
Just an update, the RC1 ethminer is doingwell for my 770 + 1070. The claimed 45-47MH/s is showing results on ethermine. I do miss the text formatting of claymore, along with the ability to turn off GPU's on the fly (so I can keep on mining on the 770 while using the 1070 for gaming). Currently my biggest killer of hashes is me playing Dark Souls 3.
 

xrayos

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
54
My reported hash rates on ethermine pool website fluctuates so much, all the way from 20MH/s to 50 MH/s. However, on the ethminer console (cmd) it's pretty steady at 31-32 MH/s.
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,729
I'm refering to the CMD output for my numbers in case there was confusion, my pool numbers are all over lol, but I'm guessing partly because I just started mining less than 12 hours ago lol
 
Top