Geforce Experience Optimization

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by 50Cal, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    164
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    So i understand that most take issue with GFE due to its telemetry, forced login, and shadowplay annoyances. However for those that can get beyond that, what has been your opinion of the game optimization features? Do you find them to not be very effective? Make things worse? Do some of the recommendations make no sense (this seems to be the case more often then not for me).

    I thinking that overall there is no need for the software outside of getting heads up for driver downloads.

    P.S. Lets keep the convo to just the optimization aspects of GFE please.
     
  2. skiddierow

    skiddierow Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Can we expand the thread to features of GFE?


    I had constant issues with crash on login and crash on updates with previous 980 SLI, after they updated to 3.0. Didn't care enough to see if there was a fix at the time, so I just removed it.

    Later, I decided to try again with a new version, same problems.


    I just started using the latest version, when I installed my 1080 Ti. Seems to work fine now. Haven't had enough to time to mess with optimization.


    I picked up a shield tablet to check out the game stream stuff, and it's pretty impressive (only tested a few games, haven't received my controller yet).

    The games ran locked 60fps, and lag was pretty low over wifi on a RT-AC68U. Didn't appear native 1080p, image seemed a little soft though.
     
  3. theplaidfad

    theplaidfad Lurker

    Messages:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    I recently stopped using it after trying it out for quite some time. It seems that no matter what I tried, it would only seem to "optimize" almost all of my games for 60fps rather than the 144fps target I'm looking for with my 144hz monitor. The strange thing to me about it was that according to the application, it knew and reported that my monitor was at 144hz, so why would it keep insisting that DSR factors be set for certain games to run them around 60fps? I've been able to get better results myself tweaking the in game settings for each game.
     
  4. PhaseNoise

    PhaseNoise Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    370
    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    That's been my beef with it as well. They have that Performance / Quality slider where you can tilt it towards faster operation, but that has its own issues. I know it would be a ton more work, but it would be nice if in addition to resolution you could supply a target framerate. Without that, I just don't bother using it.
     
    Chupachup likes this.
  5. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    10,773
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    I've been happy with the optimization on my G-Sync panel since i'm not shooting for any particular FPS target.

    What really keeps it going for me is Shadowplay, I cannot live without it. When my friends and I are playing, being able to hit a button and "clip" something seamlessly with no hiccup in performance is amazing and we use it all the time.
     
  6. Algrim

    Algrim Gawd

    Messages:
    682
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    My wife has an MSI laptop where she accidentally downloaded GFE and it completely messed up her settings for her commonly used games. Once I figured out what the issue was, I removed it and will in all probability never allow it to touch a computer in our house again.

    With that said, I've been tweaking my own game settings for about 30 years and I'm not one who minds setting things up the way I like them. Maybe when GFE gets its deep-learning AI figured out and automatic works correctly all the time I'll start using it again. :oldman:
     
    Chupachup likes this.
  7. Bandalo

    Bandalo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,849
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Just curious, but if your wife downloaded and installed it accidentally, isn't the screwup of game settings HER fault, and not the fault of GFE? Don't blame Nvidia for her mistake.
     
    criccio and Armenius like this.
  8. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    49,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I don't use GeForce experience because I can figure out my own optimal settings. I don't need it's telemetry or other bullshit features. I don't stream or record my games. Therefore I see no value in it at all. I often disagree with its recommendations as well. Much of the time it recommends 2560x1600 as the resolution for many games which makes no sense. My monitor's resolution is 3840x2160 and its not even the same aspect ratio as a 2560x1600 monitor is. The only benefit to the software is that it can write the settings for that game to its configuration file. Again, I can configure those games myself through their menus. I'm not terribly concerned with that one helpful feature as I don't think it's worth the crap you get just for that one convenience.
     
    B2BigAl likes this.
  9. Armenius

    Armenius [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,809
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    If you browse [H] you don't need some software to tell you about new drivers.

    That being said, the "optimizations" target 60 FPS at your selected resolution and they're not always going to be correct for your PC. I found that they still provided a decent baseline, and they sometimes include settings that are hidden in the UI. But I have not used GFE since the 3.0 update as it has turned into yet another bloated piece of software that is really only there to harvest your information to sell to NVIDIA's "first party" advertisers. I'm also salty about them fucking up Shadowplay.
     
  10. Algrim

    Algrim Gawd

    Messages:
    682
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    GFE is just supposed to work, no? If it's not working correctly, that is the fault of the program.
     
    Chupachup likes this.
  11. Armenius

    Armenius [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,809
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Considering you have to manually scan for games the first time AND there is an option to disable automatic optimization...
     
    criccio and Bandalo like this.
  12. Algrim

    Algrim Gawd

    Messages:
    682
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    So, if you scan for games it sets them up but if you don't it's not supposed to, correct?
     
  13. vegeta535

    vegeta535 Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Yes you have to apply the settings it suggests. I never had it automatically change all my settings without my permission.
     
    Savoy and criccio like this.
  14. Bandalo

    Bandalo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,849
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    My point is that the user had to scan for the games and apply the settings during the installation and setup of GFE. If the optimization wasn't to your liking, that's one issue. But your original post made it sound like the software did this all without any user input, when in fact your wife selected those options either without reading them or without understanding the eventual impact. So don't blame the software, blame the user.

    GFE does work correctly to "optimize" the game settings, but the problem lies with the fact that novices and pros might have a very different definition of "optimize".
     
    HeadRusch and criccio like this.
  15. Algrim

    Algrim Gawd

    Messages:
    682
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Incorrect. GFE changed the settings with no interaction at all. (She built her own computer, so she's not a exactly a novice here.) It's possible that later iterations of GFE (including now) are more interactive than when originally introduced but I am disinclined to be interested in trying out software expecting different results.

    If your definition of optimize is to set a game to scramble the refresh rate of the LCD to one it can't handle then we shall agree to disagree about optimizing.

    Which is exactly what it did (see above).
     
  16. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    49,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I'm going to disagree with that. It says that most of my games should be run at 2560x1600. It's got some other odd recommendations too. It depends on the game. It was way off on Arkham Knight, suggesting I turn off all the NVIDIA effect options. It's wrong. I can finally max that fucker out and get 60FPS+ all the time even while driving the Batmobile which is known to cause that game to crawl. It was pretty spot on with Mass Effect 3 and some other titles. My point is that GeForce Experience is hit and miss depending on the games you play.
     
  17. Bandalo

    Bandalo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,849
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Oh, I agree, I've had it suggest some really weird things myself. I usually look at it's recommendations and make my own choices. I run 3440x1440, and it seems to have a hard time with that one.

    I can honestly say I've never seen it do that, and I've been using it for quite some time. I'm not trying to sell you GFE, I don't care one way or another if you use it. I think we're both down to anecdotal evidence, so we're not going to agree here.
     
    BigJayDogg3 and vegeta535 like this.
  18. Vegas P11

    Vegas P11 Gawd

    Messages:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    I use it for my son's computer. He is so lazy, I would see him play games at the lowest resolution possible (640x480) with no other settings having been increased in games he gets on Steam and Origin. I would always have to change the settings for him, so using GFE for his build saves me a ton of time. I do use it on my build as well to get a baseline, then usually turn the settings up. I agree that it is way too conservative in most cases.
     
  19. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    49,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I've only ever installed GeForce Experience purposely one time because it was necessary to redeem my NVIDIA codes I got with my GTX 1080Ti purchases. I've messed around with it in the past and saw no value in it. I find it annoying more than anything.
     
  20. Pandur

    Pandur Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Yeah the optimisation in GFE drives me mad sometimes. I'd need options to disable DSR completely, so it's never an option. And a desired FPS option would also be nice. But I'm also one of the people that have done my settings manually since graphics settings became a thing. So I don't really care either way.
     
  21. SvenBent

    SvenBent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Even looking away from the telemtry things og GE. i still thinks its an piece of bloatware at is best it nothing i cant do myself. as it works ti slow down performance due to fancy recording features.
    It offers no value at all for me to install it and never had.

    Maybe im missing something but meh
     
  22. Bandalo

    Bandalo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,849
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    I have an Nvidia Shield on my TV. Primarily as a Netflix / KODI box, but I'll occasionally use it to stream games to the couch. It works surprisingly well for that type of thing. But, it does require you have GFE running for the streaming.
     
  23. Pusher of Buttons

    Pusher of Buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,224
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    I'd love to tell you, but I've never gotten the damn thing to work worth a damn. On my old 770 desktop and new 1060 laptop, I've never had a time where GFE has loaded properly, hasn't had massive install issues with drivers, or just other fuckery. I have no real need for it, but I figured I'd at least give it a shot. My last attempt wrecked my video drivers so badly that I just reinstalled Win10.
     
  24. theplaidfad

    theplaidfad Lurker

    Messages:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    User name checks out
     
  25. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    16,457
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Everyone knows the only tweaks you need to make to get games running right is shadows/hbao and AA :ninja:
     
  26. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,334
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Turn GFE off except to redeem game codes.
     
  27. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,959
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    You really have to want to try and understand why this product exists in the first place to truly understand what you're dealing with. This is a data collection app of which you're data is mined, maybe sold and or used to market you new products and or services. All the other things it does is just a facade for it's real purpose.

    Geforce Experience my ass.

    A lot of companies do this. And even when they tell you they do not sell your data, there are many loop holes that allow companies to still sell your data. There was a 60 minutes or 20/20 episode that went into this practice in-depth and how companies get around this issue 'legally' is to take your data and basically launder it within the company through their own internal data metric programs which they in-turn sell / share with 3rd parties or whomever.

    Your data, how you play, when, the hardware, purchases, etc is all very valuable data.

    Windows 10 does this to incredible levels. You may have got the OS for free along with the support but trust me, you've paid for this app indirectly in other ways.

    Besides, changing settings takes a second and is part of the fun of getting your new game to run nice and fast. Eventually, I think the hardware will become so powerful that all of us will have a 4k 60fps experience out of the box on default ... hopefully
     
    Chupachup and SvenBent like this.
  28. exiled350

    exiled350 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    I've had no problems with GFE I used the optimization feature for World of Warcraft when I upgraded to a 980ti and it made quite a bit of difference visually. The ground clutter is so high that sometimes I can't even see my character lol. Whatever, it can hold a minimum of 75fps and looks good to boot.

    I have it on several computers and it doesn't screw up, crash, spy on me beyond my care, set my resolution to 3562x716, I certainly don't believe it's accosted any of my pets or children, or cause other nearby computer to have issues. But then again I also don't go and change shit in my registry because "I'm smarter than the engineers at Microsoft, Apple, EA, whatever..." To each their own I guess but blaming someone else all the time is no way to live.

    </soapbox>
     
  29. horrorshow

    horrorshow 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,515
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    I've never installed GFE.

    Call me crazy but I enjoy reading tweak guides, fiddling with settings, and minding my fps in order to find MY optimal config.
     
  30. socK

    socK 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,379
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Shadowplay is tits to be honest, 1440p 60 fps streaming / recording at no meaningful performance impact. Unfortunately OBS doesn't seem to be quite as performant, even with NVENC.
     
  31. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    49,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I've heard that Shadowplay is good at what it does.

    I don't care about that. I don't have any real reason to record my gameplay, nor do I have any desire to stream it for others to watch it. I don't know why anyone else would want to watch that either. The only time you'll ever see me watch gameplay videos is to decide whether or not a particular game would interest me or not. I did this with both Ghost Recon: Wildlands and For Honor to see which free game I wanted with my GTX 1080Ti's. I suppose I could have done both since I have two of them but my girlfriend wanted Ghost Recon for herself. So I gave her my other code.
     
  32. -=SOF=-WID99

    -=SOF=-WID99 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    one more vote for i NEVER install it ..

    just the driver and control panel
    PhysX
    and HDmi Audio in case i wanna watch a flick on my 42 in TV

    have no use GFE or 3 d Vision as i never record my gameplay and i don't own the Nvidia 3 d vision Glasses . Kit or Supported 3 D screen

    oh and i only update my drivers when i think i need to test a new one for a new game ..my old drivers seem to work just fine 99% of the time
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017