Games crashing on GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition (4k resolution especially)

edo101

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
153
I got a 1080 Ti to replace my R9 290. Some games run fine, others like GTA V, Arkham Knight, and AC Origins don't. GTA V and AC Origins will run at lower settings but once I push my settings to 4K and dial up settings close to ultra, the games constantly crash.

I have done all the usual install and uninstalling. I am on 417 driver.

I have also noticed some stuttering in my games. Might be cause of the older CPU. I have also removed all OCs on my system and get the same behaviour

Games that seem to run fine in 4K: WItcher 3, Ace Combat 7, Crysis Warhead, Shadow of Middle Earth
I have had no issues with my R9 290 even at 4K besides it being weaker

Rig:
i7 930
mobo: Asrock X58 Extreme 3
Ram: orsair XSM3 6Gb
Corsair RM750
Windows 10 64 bit. Upgraded. No fresh install
 
Last edited:

deaedius

Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
971
I would download and install Display Driver Uninstaller since you are going from AMD to nvidia. This will allow full driver set clearing and a clean install of nvidia drivers. I doubt your CPU is at fault but more of a driver thing.
 

edo101

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
153
I would download and install Display Driver Uninstaller since you are going from AMD to nvidia. This will allow full driver set clearing and a clean install of nvidia drivers. I doubt your CPU is at fault but more of a driver thing.
Did all of that DDU stuff. Not the issue
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,165
Have you considered doing a fresh OS install?

You could buy a cheap smaller hard drive to swap in if you don't want to lose all your stuff installed.

Also, it could be the RAM. 6GB is extremely low these days.
 

edo101

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
153
Have you considered doing a fresh OS install?

You could buy a cheap smaller hard drive to swap in if you don't want to lose all your stuff installed.

Also, it could be the RAM. 6GB is extremely low these days.
I've place a bid for a similar 6GB kit on ebay. should win it and get it next week. I will be doing a clean install tonight it seems. The pain will come in having to reinstall my programs but I have all my personal files on my other HDDs in my computer. Now I gotta figure out how to do a clean install without screwing up my license as this is an upgrade
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,165
Do you have free RAM slots? If not that doesn't make sense. You probably need more memory, like 16GB if you're running out of RAM.
 

edo101

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
153
Do you have free RAM slots? If not that doesn't make sense. You probably need more memory, like 16GB if you're running out of RAM.
Yeah. X58 is triple channel. I have 3 free slots. Only got 6GB. Was gonna add another 6Gb for 14 bucks for a total of 12 GB
 

edo101

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
153
Top